Weird error when running Backuploader

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ABTU, Nov 3, 2008.

Nov 3, 2008
  1. ABTU
    OP

    Newcomer ABTU Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Whenever I try running most of my burned games, I get this error from BackupLoader:
    [​IMG]
    Sorry about the poor quality, but it says DVD(a bunch of jumbled text). I get this error for nearly every game I've burned, the only working ones being Wii Music and Geometry Wars, and even those get this error sometimes. I'm pretty sure I've followed all the guidelines - what would be causing this error, and how do I fix it?
     
  2. Sorox

    Member Sorox Master Firo Soul

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    çİş
    Country:
    United States
    what is the "jumbled text". it might help.
     
  3. ABTU
    OP

    Newcomer ABTU Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I can't decipher much, but the second part it seems like it says "failed" and the overlapped text says "DVD"
     
  4. megabug7

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    ANY DVD burner can burn Wii games.

    To rip Wii ISOs, you will need an LG dvd drive.

    You dont need an LG drive to burn wii games.

    P.S.

    Are you using DVD+Rs?

    If you are, you have to set the booktype to "DVD-Rom"
     
  6. GhostSonic

    Member GhostSonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    or use Waninkoko's dumper.

    It says "Set Error:No DVD" and "Decrypt Failed"

    You can try:
    Checking to make sure the CIOS is installed properly.
    Making sure you burn at a good speed (1-2.4x)
    Making sure your brand isn't crap
    Making sure you booktyped if it isn't a DVD-R.
     
  7. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    1-2.4x is NOT a good burn speed.

    Burn at the speed that is labeled on the disc.

    If the disc says 16x, burn at 16x.

    I have burned at 16x and have not had a single coaster.
     
  8. agn015

    Newcomer agn015 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    It could also be your drive is too old to burn a quality disc. I have this problem too for every game except the GHIII DLC edition I downloaded(which works flawlessly at a quality rating of 0% idk how). My drive is about 3 years old and when I run DVDinfopro I always get a quality rating of 0% and sometimes it won't even finish and instead immediately give me an unrecoverable read error. Tuesday I will try burning these games at work to see if it's my drive or if I'm just burning bad images. I'll let you know how it turns out.
     
  9. GhostSonic

    Member GhostSonic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
    I've heard far too many story's of discs becoming coasters from burning too fast. Hell I think it's worth a try. I burn all my disc's at 2.4x and they're labeled 16x. 16x is just the maximum the disc itself can possibly handle. (And DVD-R's tend to always be 16x)
     
  10. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    It was stated in another post by wiigator (too lazy to search for it) that this is caused by a bad cios install. reinstall the .3 cios or the read-retry, NOT the cios-fix, thats for .1 and i think were alot of people are going wrong
     
  11. YellowYoYos

    Member YellowYoYos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    230
    Country:
    United States
    Maybe your drive firmware is updatable?
     
  12. eliter1

    Newcomer eliter1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States

    I have reinstalled the CIOS and have been getting the same problem. I simpy cannot get this thing to work on my Wii [​IMG]
     
  13. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    What discs are you using and what speed are you burning at ?
    Where did you get the install files for the ios ?
    Have you installed the Cios Read Retry fix ?

    I believe this is a disc issue with the disc type you are using , but just want to make sure about everything else. There are other threads similar to this one with the answers in them only a few days ago - i tried to post it but it never went on the thread at the time so i dont have the link now.
     
  14. Moon_child

    Newcomer Moon_child Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I got that error when I didn't had the latest CIOS installed.
     
  15. brigada75

    Newcomer brigada75 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi,

    got the same error screen while running Harvest Moon: TOT (NTSC game on a PAL Wii).

    then i installed the read_retry fix.

    now the game works.


    good luck : )
     
  16. severednow

    Newcomer severednow Newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United States
    I'm getting the same error. I've tried everything, ended up making about 6 coasters of different burn speeds. I uninstalled the cios using anytitle deleter and reinstalled it, still keep getting the same error. I've even tried different dvd-r's (both maxell and memorex). Any ideas?
     
  17. agn015

    Newcomer agn015 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    i updated my firmware and it didn't help but burning at work gave my burns a quality rating in the 90% range and they all run flawlessly now.
     

Share This Page