Weird error trying to run a backup

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Cokeman999, Nov 8, 2008.

Nov 8, 2008
  1. Cokeman999
    OP

    Newcomer Cokeman999 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    I burned a backup of super paper mario (NTSC)using ImgBurn at 2.4x speed and another at 8x speed and neither worked..
    Here is the error it returned to me. I was using the wiigator backup launcher 0.3 and (hopefully) installed the CIOs
    [​IMG]
    Please help guys
    thanks!
     


  2. rko1000

    Newcomer rko1000 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    either a bad burn or bad iso
     
  3. DarkLG

    Member DarkLG Wow One Shiny Ribbon!!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,401
    Location:
    Indiana
    Country:
    United States
    I've never seen that error.
     
  4. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    did you use dvd-r
     
  5. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    i did it says dvd identify failed and no dvd insert mixed mostly bye bad media or the cios'es are not correct
     
  6. cosmo2389

    Member cosmo2389 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Messages:
    421
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    I got an error similar to that one when my cIOS was installed wrong (because I was trying to go for the dual loader set-up), basically I uninstalled all of my cIOS and started over with the install from the beginning. It worked correctly after that.
     
  7. Cokeman999
    OP

    Newcomer Cokeman999 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    I used dvd+r
    as for the iso, it is (said) to be the pefect size for a legit rom..
     
  8. digitydogs

    Member digitydogs 404 Error: Member Not Found

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,352
    Location:
    Md,US
    Country:
    United States
    Try re-installing your CIOS for the loader. This error can be caused by a faulty IOS or coaster burns.
     
  9. Cokeman999
    OP

    Newcomer Cokeman999 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    alright..thanks for the quick replies! I'm going to try and restart the CIOS process...
     
  10. Damian1221

    Newcomer Damian1221 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    got that when I didn't have right CIOS Installed.
     
  11. Damian1221

    Newcomer Damian1221 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    United States
    got that when I didn't have right CIOS Installed.
     
  12. Serpent01

    Newcomer Serpent01 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    This happened to me before. It was probably burned wrong or something with the ISO.
     
  13. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    did you set the booktype to dvd-rom
    the best is to use dvd-r or change the booktype to dvd-rom
     
  14. Drackin

    Newcomer Drackin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Canada
    I get that message the first time I try and run a backup, it doesn't seem to be a bad burn, or a bad ISO, because those same discs work for me after a few more tries.
    Some things you can try are:
    Ejecting, and reinserting the disc.
    Exit the loader using the exit menu option, and try again.
    Reset the wii.
    And fiddling with the hook types, and the VIDTV setting.
     
  15. Cokeman999
    OP

    Newcomer Cokeman999 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    hey guys..thanks for helping but I think I don't quite understand how to install the "correct" cIOS.. Can someone give me a link ..
    Oh another thing.. I have dvdx installed as well..could that matter?
     
  16. Cokeman999
    OP

    Newcomer Cokeman999 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    I know i'm using noobish terms but I am really new to this.
     
  17. Drackin

    Newcomer Drackin Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Canada
    No, having DVDX installed shouldn't be causing any problems.
     
  18. Cokeman999
    OP

    Newcomer Cokeman999 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    United States
    what does that mean?
     
  19. moonmonkey

    Newcomer moonmonkey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That error drove me up the wall for ages. In my experience it was down to media. Updating DVD driive firmware and using compatible DVD disks solved it....and the read-retry fix too
     
  20. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    There are 2 different error messages because:
    When the backuplauncher(Wiigators) tries to start a game, it tries his original/1:1 code first. If this fails it tries the code for decrypted copies. To keep it simple: the original/1:1 code returns(after trying the decrypted code): "Error: No DVD" and the code for decrypted copies returns: "Error: DVD identify failed.".

    I know this doesn't help with the problem, it's just a (simple) explanation.
     

Share This Page