Hardware Weird 3DS Brick?

Should I just buy another 3DS?

  • Yes

  • No


Results are only viewable after voting.

cdhoff

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 30, 2017
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
231
Country
United States
I recently was trying to make a tutorial on installing A9LH for my uncle. I restored a sysNand backup that I made when I A9LH'd my console. Now, when I press the power button, It automatically fades the power LED on my 3DS. No pop or anything like that. Just automatically shuts off.

What I've tried:
Charged it: Nothing
Booted with SD in and Game in: Nothing
Booted with SD out and Game in: Nothing
Booted with both out: Nothing
Booted With SD in and Game out: Nothing
L+R+A+D-Pad Up on boot: Nothing(Which makes me think that it is software based(Corrupt Nand Backup??)

I am not afraid to open my console. I just don't have $140 to spend on an used New 3DS. Otherwise, I would.

I normally never have had any unfixable bricks on anything I have ever modified(Android, IOS, PC, Mac, Xbox 360, PS3, etc.)

 
Last edited by cdhoff,
  • Like
Reactions: yuyuyup

linuxares

I'm not a generous god!
Global Moderator
Joined
Aug 5, 2007
Messages
8,945
Trophies
0
XP
10,209
Country
Sweden
Turn the 3DS sideways, looking at the screen. Does it turn on at all? If so, I still think the ribbon cable have come loose. Since it's the same exact symtoms.
 

cdhoff

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 30, 2017
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
231
Country
United States
It has A9LH, try with another SD card with only arm9loaderhax.bin inside it
Should I hold any butonns on boot?
Turn the 3DS sideways, looking at the screen. Does it turn on at all? If so, I still think the ribbon cable have come loose. Since it's the same exact symtoms.
Nope. It doesnt come on at all. No noises. It isnt the same exact symptoms. That takes maybe 5-10 seconds to turn off, whereas mine is practically immediate
ON YOUR UNCLE'S 3DS???!!!!!
No, my nand backup on my 3ds. Im not an idiot.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Columbo2811

cdhoff

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 30, 2017
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
231
Country
United States
Check settings, and does it say Emu or Sys
I can tell its emunand because it freezes when i take the sd card out

Also, I think I found a new discovery. There isnt a sysnand. Without the sd card or without arm9loaderhax.bin, it doesnt boot and does what is in the video.

God, i hate that reply delay.

Dude, what guide are you following? Stick to 3DS.guide
I was trying to remove A9LH so i could reinstall it for the tutorial. I think I may have corrupted my whole sysNand.
 

GerbilSoft

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2012
Messages
2,378
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
3,863
Country
United States
I can tell its emunand because it freezes when i take the sd card out

Also, I think I found a new discovery. There isnt a sysnand. Without the sd card or without arm9loaderhax.bin, it doesnt boot and does what is in the video.
Go and actually check if it's EmuNAND or SysNAND. Don't just guess.

Why did you think you needed to uninstall A9LH? That's usually a terrible option.

And no, the system turning off doesn't mean there's no SysNAND. It means that it can't find arm9loaderhax.bin on the SD card, and you didn't install it in CTRNAND.
 

Tenshi_Okami

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
1,484
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
1,442
Country
Puerto Rico
I can tell its emunand because it freezes when i take the sd card out

Also, I think I found a new discovery. There isnt a sysnand. Without the sd card or without arm9loaderhax.bin, it doesnt boot and does what is in the video.

God, i hate that reply delay.


I was trying to remove A9LH so i could reinstall it for the tutorial. I think I may have corrupted my whole sysNand.
I'll edit this if the thing the other guy said didn't work
 
Last edited by Tenshi_Okami,

ItsKipz

l33t hax0r
Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
1,930
Trophies
0
Location
The C: drive
XP
1,578
Country
United States
I can tell its emunand because it freezes when i take the sd card out

Also, I think I found a new discovery. There isnt a sysnand. Without the sd card or without arm9loaderhax.bin, it doesnt boot and does what is in the video.

God, i hate that reply delay.


I was trying to remove A9LH so i could reinstall it for the tutorial. I think I may have corrupted my whole sysNand.
What tutorial requires you to remove a9lh? lmao
 

GerbilSoft

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 8, 2012
Messages
2,378
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
3,863
Country
United States
Make a backup of your EmuNAND
Use Hourglass9 to Restore the EmuNAND backup to SysNAND(rename the Hourglass9.bin file to arm9loaderhax.bin and put it on the root of the SD card
Don't do this yet. Luma configuration probably just needs to be changed to boot to SysNAND.

Hold SELECT on startup with the SD card in and you'll get the Luma configuration.
 

cdhoff

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 30, 2017
Messages
48
Trophies
0
Age
52
XP
231
Country
United States
Go and actually check if it's EmuNAND or SysNAND. Don't just guess.

Why did you think you needed to uninstall A9LH? That's usually a terrible option.

I understand that now. I checked, and it is Emu 11.2.0-35U
Make a backup of your EmuNAND
Use Hourglass9 to Restore the EmuNAND backup to SysNAND(rename the Hourglass9.bin file to arm9loaderhax.bin and put it on the root of the SD card
Ok i will
What tutorial requires you to remove a9lh? lmao
1: I wanted it to be genuine
2: MINE, DAMMIT!!! :)
Don't do this yet. Luma configuration probably just needs to be changed to boot to SysNAND.

Hold SELECT on startup with the SD card in and you'll get the Luma configuration.

Ok, Ill wait. What should I do?

-snip-
 
Last edited by raulpica,

Tenshi_Okami

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 3, 2015
Messages
1,484
Trophies
0
Age
22
XP
1,442
Country
Puerto Rico
I understand that now. I checked, and it is Emu 11.2.0-35U

Ok i will

1: I wanted it to be genuine
2: MINE, DAMMIT!!! :)


Ok, Ill wait. What should I do?

I guess that clickbaitish title is helping me :) I have so many people on the page :)
Follow this first
Don't do this yet. Luma configuration probably just needs to be changed to boot to SysNAND.

Hold SELECT on startup with the SD card in and you'll get the Luma configuration.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    i might just mod it? my pc had only 1 fan with 80 temp now i added 4 fans and has 30 temp to 40 while on load
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    might put it in a pc case?
  • ILeo @ ILeo:
    sounds good?
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    What is the recommended banner resolution for groups?
  • Flame @ Flame:
    i dont think they is one just get the biggest banner you find for your 70's computer group
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    70's and 80's! (maybe 90's too, I forgot when CBM went bankrupt)
    And alright.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    putting a 360 in a pc case is a big project... I'd just leave it at upping the fan
  • RedoLane @ RedoLane:
    so much for making a decent group.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    What do you mean?
  • RedoLane @ RedoLane:
    I wasted my time coming up with a cool group idea, only to end up being the only member.
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    What was it?
  • RedoLane @ RedoLane:
    The Post-Apocalypse Survivors Association
  • IanSkinner1982 @ IanSkinner1982:
    gtg, been nice talking for this whole minute.
  • RedoLane @ RedoLane:
    welp
  • D34DL1N3R tempBOT:
    D34DL1N3R has left the room.
  • CPG @ CPG:
    oh hi tempbot
  • tsao @ tsao:
    hi @CPG
  • RAHelllord tempBOT:
    RAHelllord has left the room.
  • lemonmaster @ lemonmaster:
    wow wow
  • VashTS @ VashTS:
    oh hai chat
  • RedoLane @ RedoLane:
    oh hai mark
  • Hleb tempBOT:
    Hleb has left the room.
    Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight: :blink: