WBFS Hard drive messed up!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Luckkill4u, Dec 10, 2009.

Dec 10, 2009

WBFS Hard drive messed up! by Luckkill4u at 1:13 AM (3,161 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. Luckkill4u
    OP

    Member Luckkill4u SOLDIER

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    Far far away!
    Country:
    Canada
    Well about a while ago I converted my WD My passport eliet 500GB to WBFS on USB loader GX a couple months ago, but now i cant get it back to a normal format. It does not have a drive number, it wont show up on My Computer and it wont show up on drive manager. I tried everything i could think of and i looked around the internet but no luck. BTW i tried Partition wizard 4.0 and there is 2 games on it. So now im stumped...
     
  2. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Try going to control panel ->administrative tools -> computer management -> disk management.

    From there you should be able to see your drive and assign it a drive letter, or format it.

    Edit: Or just go to start -> run and type in 'compmgmt.msc' to get to the computer management screen.
     
  3. Luckkill4u
    OP

    Member Luckkill4u SOLDIER

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    Far far away!
    Country:
    Canada
    I already tried that the drive wont show

    Is there a possibility of USB Loader GX formatting or telling what drive number it is?
     
  4. Hells Guardian

    Member Hells Guardian GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,113
    Country:
    United States
    if it doesn't show up in the disc managment tool then it's not an issue with format..... It's an issue with the drive not conecting correctly. It should show in the system as an unformatted drive partition. check the cable connecting it to the computer. If nothing else works does it work in the loaders and WBFS managers ect?
     
  5. Luckkill4u
    OP

    Member Luckkill4u SOLDIER

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    Far far away!
    Country:
    Canada
    It does connect to USB loader and a program called Active@ KillDisk but it wont format.
     
  6. Riicky

    Member Riicky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Messages:
    607
    Location:
    Reading,Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    hook ur drive up to the pc and see what letter your wbfs manager assigns it, then try to format it through a command prompt
     
  7. vigilantez

    Newcomer vigilantez Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    i had a problem today i reinstalled win7 and once i connected the hdd it reconized 2 drives 1 ask to format and other ntfs i installed a few programs and well the wbfs didnt show up anymore but it still worked on the wii

    now if this is your problem it's pritty easy to fix if windows does not show you your drive



    right click on my computer -> Properties -> Device Manager

    now goto Disk Drives on the list expand tree

    right click on you usb hdd and Uninstall

    once unistall is done

    refresh (Scan for Hardware Changes)

    and it will work


    good luck [​IMG]
     
  8. Luckkill4u
    OP

    Member Luckkill4u SOLDIER

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    Far far away!
    Country:
    Canada
    No luck, but thanx anyways. I think this drive is dead... it will be recognised by computer but thats about it... I wiped the whole disk permenatly and it took a very long time, about 15 hours and i still have this stupid problem. I tried WD FAT32 formatter but it has a error in reading drive capacity, so i can't format useing that. It might be a formatting problem.
     
  9. vigilantez

    Newcomer vigilantez Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Canada
    did you try deleting partions and creating a sinlge 1 then format it NTFS ? and why in the wolrd would you wait 15 hours ? try and find some diagnostic tools for hdd's and check it out also
     
  10. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  11. Luckkill4u
    OP

    Member Luckkill4u SOLDIER

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    Far far away!
    Country:
    Canada
  12. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    You could grab a boot disk with some tools on it and try and format the drive out of windows. Sounds like it could be dead though.
     
  13. Luckkill4u
    OP

    Member Luckkill4u SOLDIER

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    Far far away!
    Country:
    Canada
    Hmn.. Partition Wizard now recognises it as a "Bad Disk", I'm almost sure the drive is dead now. I hope its warranty is still good maybe i could get a new one hehehe.
     
  14. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If its an I/O error, it is almost definitely a bad hard drive or casing.
     
  15. Luckkill4u
    OP

    Member Luckkill4u SOLDIER

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    Far far away!
    Country:
    Canada
    Any chance of a fix?
     
  16. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    well, you can narrow down what the fault is I suppose.

    Try a different hard drive in the casing, or try hooking up the hard drive directly to your computer (IDE cable for IDE drive, sata cable for sata) to see if it is detected that way.

    should tell which of the 2 are bad. Then, replace whichever one is giving the issue.

    you would have to look up how to open your specific casing however.
     
  17. lolpatrol

    Newcomer lolpatrol Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Germany
    If you want make sure, your hdd is broken use one of WD's Harddrive tools "Data Lifeguard Diagnostic" for the WD Scorpio Blue series.
    I'm not sure it'll function properly through usb, so you might need to open your hdd case and connect the hdd directly through sata to your pc and run the tool.
    Also I recommend to use the dos version. If the tool shows that your disc is broken. ---> use your Warranty or get a new Drive.



    Try another USB-Port or try to use a Y-wire to start the drive through 2 usbport
     
  18. Luckkill4u
    OP

    Member Luckkill4u SOLDIER

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    Far far away!
    Country:
    Canada
    I have one of the older My Passport Elites, not this one. I don't want to open my hard drive case because it could void my warranty and i tried the data Lifeguard Diagnostic and it could not find the hard drive.
     
  19. Cyclonius

    Newcomer Cyclonius Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    I had the same prob.....Tried it all and nothing but disk errors.....western digital replaced mine for free and did not ask for a receipt or anything they just wanted the serial number and a few other details.
     
  20. Luckkill4u
    OP

    Member Luckkill4u SOLDIER

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    752
    Location:
    Far far away!
    Country:
    Canada
    What did you use to get the replacement? I tried the website but they wanted me to send it in specialy boxed and pay $110. BTW my warranty says i one free replacement.

    Edit:Nevermind, i dont have to pay $110, it was just the value of the drive.
     

Share This Page