wanting to buy a ez

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by darnoc, Jan 18, 2009.

Jan 18, 2009

wanting to buy a ez by darnoc at 10:43 PM (1,548 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. darnoc
    OP

    Member darnoc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Canada
  2. Diosoth

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    These load games straight from your slot 1 card. You put all your GBA ROMs onto that and use this to load them.

    However, there have been a fair number of threads here about the devices having unreliable SRAM batteries. If you're only looking for GBA support, I'd recommend this over the 3-in-1 -

    http://www.realhotstuff.com/ezflash-size-p-294.html

    It's a dedicated GBA cart that uses its own SD card. It will work without the need for a slot 1 loader, as well as working on a GBA and a Game Boy Player. It also has very good game compatibility, but lacks a real time clock(though most of these devices lack it anyway)
     
  3. darnoc
    OP

    Member darnoc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Canada
    the thing is i live in canada so i dont wanna pay like 20 bucks for shipping
     
  4. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
  5. DatVietDude

    Newcomer DatVietDude Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United States
  6. sturmen

    Newcomer sturmen Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Location:
    NC
    Country:
    United States
  7. Diosoth

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    In a way... it looks like you still have to flash a game to it via the DS, and you'll be stuck to one game at a time.

    This is the EZ-Flash IV phat version, standalone GBA cartridge

    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.11179


    Depends on if he wants the RAM expansion and rumble or not.
     
  8. ShAdOwFuRi

    Member ShAdOwFuRi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    321
    Country:
    Australia
    So does the EZFlash 3 in 1 have real time??
     
  9. logical thinker

    Member logical thinker GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    567
    Country:
    Japan
    Real Time what? Real Time Clock (RTC)? As far as I know, no, it doesn't.
     
  10. Diosoth

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    I think- am not sure- that only a small handful of the standalone GBA flash carts ever had RTC installed. Since it seems that only the Pokemon games ever used it(could be wrong, but it'd be a VERY short list) manufacturers didn't bother to install it and drive the cost up. Many of them don't even have sufficient onboard RAM to run the beefier games. It's one reason I went with the EZ-Flash IV phat model, it actually has sufficient RAM. The EZ-Flash IV Lite model doesn't.

    The Pokemon ROMs have patches out that remove the RTC requirement by disabling the game functions that use it.
     
  11. unknownworlder

    Member unknownworlder GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    The Acekard 2 will naturally work with the 3-in-1 if you use the AKAIO firmware.
     
  12. darnoc
    OP

    Member darnoc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    Canada
    ok so i just ordered a 3 in 1 i got a question tho will i have to do something to set it up? or do i just put the games on and it will run. also i heard you gotta keep it charged in your ds for 6 hours is this true?
     
  13. Diosoth

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    The SRAM battery is rechargeable, but doesn't have a charge from the factory. Plug in your DS AC adaptor, put it in the DS cartridge slot and turn it on. Close the lid and just sit it somewhere for 6-8 hours.
     
  14. 1111

    Newcomer 1111 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Russia
    No, it's not. SRAM battery is a CR1220 3.0 volt lithium battery and can't be charged. But I managed to solder a new one (first soldering job in my life) and it turned out pretty good.
     
  15. Diosoth

    Member Diosoth GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Country:
    United States
    If that were the case then there would be no need to charge the device for 7 hours.
     
  16. jeeper421

    Newcomer jeeper421 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page