WAD Installer v2.1

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Blue Lynel, Jul 9, 2009.

Jul 9, 2009

WAD Installer v2.1 by Blue Lynel at 3:23 AM (1,907 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Blue Lynel
    OP

    Newcomer Blue Lynel Newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I swear I have probably tried a million different things as well as researched just as much in the past 48-72 hours to try to get some WADs installed on my Wii, but nothing is working and they all come up with same error message, (ret = -2011). Here's what I've tried so far:

    WAD Manager v1.3 and v1.4 - same error
    WAD Installer v2.1 - same error
    booting with WAD Installer .elf from SD slot - same error
    booting Manager v1.3 and v1.4 through HBC - same error
    booting Installer through HBC - same error

    I bought my Wii this past Sunday, the 5th, and have not been able to hook up to the net yet. Therefore, I have no updates. My Wii is Ver. 3.4U. I installed HBC, DVDx, and BootMii as an IOS through the HackMii installer. HBC works great for me, as do other apps run through HBC such as Gecko OS v1.9.1. All I am having troubles with, and massive amounts thereof, is installing a single damn WAD on my Wii. I've tried a few different WADs to make sure it wasn't just one WAD, but they all returned with the same error, one after the other. While using the apps to install the WADs, the folder directory shows, and I have checked to make sure it was properly labeled as "wad" and not "wads", and it does show the WADs that are in the directory, but they still do not install and will give me all the same error. I even formatted my SD card to make sure my SD card was proper.

    After just now thinking of my "SD card", and then checking it to see if it was SDHC, I realized the fact that maybe using a microSD 2G in a SD adapter card might be causing me these problems, though I really wouldn't know if that would make the difference, but I wouldn't be surprised if it did anyways. Also, it does not say if my microSD is HC and I don't remember if it is. Being HC probably does not matter though.

    So please, help me! If it is using a stupid microSD in an SD card adapter, that answer in simple form will do just fine. Thanks. [​IMG]
     
  2. SherlockHolmeboy

    Member SherlockHolmeboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere.
    Country:
    Australia
    Check the serial number on your Wii, if the first 4 letters and numbers are LU64 and over, you'll need to use cBoot2 (A modified version of BootMii runtime files) to install WADs and LU64fix.wad .
     
  3. Blue Lynel
    OP

    Newcomer Blue Lynel Newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I did some more intensive searching with the advanced search after reading the stickies and I uncovered that recovering the missing Trucha bug may help me. If that does not help I will try that as well.
     
  4. Lexip;

    Member Lexip; GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    If its a new wii it might be a "unhackable" one, such as the LU64's and downgrading can cause bricks apparently. I'd take Sherlock's advice and use cBoot2.
     
  5. Blue Lynel
    OP

    Newcomer Blue Lynel Newbie

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Before seeing the post before this one, I used the Trucha bug "fix" and downgraded my IOS15, installed a patched IOS36 and then reinstated the original IOS15. My efforts are thus far successful as I have used the WAD Manager v1.4 and installed three different WADs successfully. All hail the hacking community! [​IMG] [​IMG]

    I am a very happy person now as I have showed my Wii who is boss. Next step is to attempt success with the WiiGator Backup Loader. [​IMG]
     

Share This Page