Hacking vWii problems...

deshayzilla

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2011
Messages
288
Trophies
0
XP
176
Country
United States
So I have been running backup Wii games through vWii just fine until lately those games have started to randomly freeze. They seem to work just fine with my Wii however. I've been using USB Loader GX just fine for a while but then it stopped recognizing my Hard Drive in USB port 0, so I switched it to USB port 1 and that seemed to work fine. The games that I've noticed the freezing on are Animal Crossing and Wii Fit Plus. The freezing isn't normal freezing either, The music remains playing, characters still move but the game won't progress.
Maybe I need to get one of those USB Y Cables?
Or maybe my hard drive is crap now? (Seagate FreeAgent Go 320GB for reference)
If anyone can point me in the right direction that would be great.
I hope I'm clear about my problem.
 

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
30,561
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
17,754
Country
United States
So I have been running backup Wii games through vWii just fine until lately those games have started to randomly freeze. They seem to work just fine with my Wii however. I've been using USB Loader GX just fine for a while but then it stopped recognizing my Hard Drive in USB port 0, so I switched it to USB port 1 and that seemed to work fine. The games that I've noticed the freezing on are Animal Crossing and Wii Fit Plus. The freezing isn't normal freezing either, The music remains playing, characters still move but the game won't progress.
Maybe I need to get one of those USB Y Cables?
Or maybe my hard drive is crap now? (Seagate FreeAgent Go 320GB for reference)
If anyone can point me in the right direction that would be great.
I hope I'm clear about my problem.


For self-powered USB HDDs, yes, you need a USB Y cable. The Wii U doesn't provide enough power via USB, so you need to draw power from two.
 

deshayzilla

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2011
Messages
288
Trophies
0
XP
176
Country
United States
For self-powered USB HDDs, yes, you need a USB Y cable. The Wii U doesn't provide enough power via USB, so you need to draw power from two.
Then how did it work before? Seems strange that it was fine just a couple of months before. Does not having enough power to the Hard Drive cause it to have problems in the long run?
 

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
30,561
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
17,754
Country
United States
Then how did it work before? Seems strange that it was fine just a couple of months before. Does not having enough power to the Hard Drive cause it to have problems in the long run?


It very well can cause issues over time. Better to play it safe I guess. If the HDD platters stop spinning during read/write, it could damage the data.
 

deshayzilla

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2011
Messages
288
Trophies
0
XP
176
Country
United States
It very well can cause issues over time. Better to play it safe I guess. If the HDD platters stop spinning during read/write, it could damage the data.

And I thought I was just lucky not having to use a USB Y cable. I've probably been damaging my Hard Drive for a while now. This explains why the freezing seems to be more frequent over time.

I just ran a test with the Seagate software and it says my hard drive has some problem now. So it looks like I'll be getting a new Hard Drive and Y cable.
 

the_randomizer

The Temp's official fox whisperer
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Apr 29, 2011
Messages
30,561
Trophies
0
Age
36
Location
Dr. Wahwee's castle
XP
17,754
Country
United States
And I thought I was just lucky not having to use a USB Y cable. I've probably been damaging my Hard Drive for a while now. This explains why the freezing seems to be more frequent over time.

I just ran a test with the Seagate software and it says my hard drive has some problem now. So it looks like I'll be getting a new Hard Drive and Y cable.


That sucks, perhaps I shouldn't have said anything in the first place. :(
 

deshayzilla

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2011
Messages
288
Trophies
0
XP
176
Country
United States
That sucks, perhaps I shouldn't have said anything in the first place. :(

You answered my problems :) If anything, Thanks for informing me about the Y cable as a requirement, I thought it was just optional like if you needed it. I can probably still use it on my old Wii until it dies.
 

winmaster

Weird Kid Who Still Plays Pokemon
Newcomer
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
44
Trophies
0
Location
Here
Website
nintenpc.tripod.com
XP
69
Country
United States
Did the Seagate software (Seatools?) offer to try and repair your drive. Sometimes you can fix a hard drive with problems like that by using the manufacturer's software to repair it. Using Seatools to fill the drive with 0's and then reformatting might also revive it.
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
    Flame @ Flame: