1. XxShalevElimelechxX

    OP XxShalevElimelechxX GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Israel
    Hi there, I accidentally knocked the 150 ohm resistor for the volume buttons and they don't work now. Since I don't have any donor boards or 150 ohm 0201 resistors should I be okay with using jumper wire? Thanks!
     
  2. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,013
    Country:
    United States
    Get a new resistor soldered in
     
    Hayato213 likes this.
  3. Agilato

    Agilato GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2019
    Messages:
    319
    Country:
    United States
    Most likely you are talking about pull down resistor, so if you will use "jumper wire" might cost some random issues or not even work.
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2019
    FXDX likes this.
  4. XxShalevElimelechxX

    OP XxShalevElimelechxX GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Israel
    Gotcha, I'll order some resistors then. Thank you very much!
     
  5. FAST6191

    FAST6191 Techromancer
    Reporter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    29,575
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can probably find a compatible one on another piece of electronics, even if you end up having to run a wire and "tombstone" a bigger one.

    That said while these things can occasionally be bypassed or lowered to increase volume I don't think I have seen such a thing for the Switch yet so like for like. 150 is also quite high for a volume limiter so as others mentioned it is likely some kind of current limiting pull up/pull down affair and going to 0 with those can lead to all sorts of bad news.
     
  6. XxShalevElimelechxX

    OP XxShalevElimelechxX GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Israel
    Sorry for bumping this thread, but before I'll order the new resistors I just want to ask if I can use a resistor with different resistance and if so can it hurt the switch? Thanks!
     
  7. Shadow#1

    Shadow#1 Wii & 3DS Softmod Expert
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    7,013
    Country:
    United States
    Yes it will hurt the hardware buy an exact replacement
     
  8. XxShalevElimelechxX

    OP XxShalevElimelechxX GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Israel
    Alright, thank you very much!
     
  9. bevis

    bevis Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    I removed my resister and replaced it with kynar 30 awg. It works fine.
     
    XxShalevElimelechxX likes this.
  10. XxShalevElimelechxX

    OP XxShalevElimelechxX GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Israel
    Good to know, I'll try it soon and report back. Thanks!
     
  11. XxShalevElimelechxX

    OP XxShalevElimelechxX GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Israel
    Well the resistors are late so I soldered a jumper wire for now and only vol+ works. Ideas?
     
  12. bevis

    bevis Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have a picture? I bet you accidently bridged too much.
     
  13. XxShalevElimelechxX

    OP XxShalevElimelechxX GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Israel
    Whoops, looks like you're right! Though it seems there's a trace that connects the 2nd upper pad to the third because I can't get some of the solder off. It it really a trace or I can cut it? Thanks!
     
  14. Daggot

    Daggot GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    Messages:
    604
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have a desoldering wick around? You know the copper braided kind, it sounds like it'd do the trick.
     
  15. XxShalevElimelechxX

    OP XxShalevElimelechxX GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Israel
    Tried it too and didn't work, the pad got ripped due to me messing around with it too much. Does anyone know where the pad goes so I can solder a jumper?
    EDIT: I mean the third upper pad.
     
  16. bevis

    bevis Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United States
    By third upper pad do you mean the one that's larger and offset to the left a little from where the resister used to be?

    I know it's a pain in the ass, but a picture would really help.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2020
  17. XxShalevElimelechxX

    OP XxShalevElimelechxX GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Israel
    Yeah sure no problem, thanks for the help!
    EDIT: Uploaded 2 pics by mistake, there's an updated one with an arrow pointing on the pad
     

    Attached Files:

  18. XxShalevElimelechxX

    OP XxShalevElimelechxX GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    Israel
    Can somebody help?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Resistor, Buttons, Volume