Vista's ReadyBoost?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Raki, Jan 5, 2009.

Jan 5, 2009

Vista's ReadyBoost? by Raki at 9:55 PM (714 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Raki
    OP

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    Heya,

    so if I got ReadyBoost right I put in a SD card/USB thumbdrive to use it as some kind of additional "RAM". But aren't most HDDs faster than a cheap SD card/usb thumbdrive?
    Or do you use it to avoid the spin up time of a HDD (+ more power consumption in Notebooks cases)?
     
  2. p1ngpong

    Supervisor p1ngpong Legit Boss Harold

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    6,296
    Location:
    DS Scene
    Country:
    Croatia
    Taken off wikipedia.


    Rest of the entry: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/ReadyBoost
     
  3. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its not a new idea, windows/linux has been able to put its swap file/partition on a separate drive for ages.

    a few years ago when i actually used a desktop one way I got a little more speed out of it was putting in a pci SCSI card and a 8gb high speed SCSI hard drive, it made paging a lot faster. of course, with the amount of RAM pcs these days have i doubt it will make a great deal of difference.
     
  4. Raki
    OP

    Member Raki GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Country:
    Germany
    would it make any difference if you use a cheap 2 GB SD card in a Notebook with 3 GB of RAM?

    This reminds me of these hybrid HDDs/SSDs the army uses/used
     
  5. fearofblood

    Newcomer fearofblood Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    It's pretty much useless. You won't see much of a performance gain.
     
  6. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You do see a Performance gain if you have very little ram.
     

Share This Page