No it writes to a local file that stores everything that was in RAM for the Virtual PC you turned off. When you turn it back on, it reads the file to know what needs to be loaded into memory. The local file will be as large as the RAM you allocated to the Virtual PC. I'm not sure what the file is called, in Vmware it's "nvram" but you can probably find the file wherever you saved the configuration for the PC.