Virtual Console Games dont work

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by OlegEqualzName, Jan 28, 2012.

Jan 28, 2012
  1. OlegEqualzName
    OP

    Newcomer OlegEqualzName Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Spain
    For some reason, everytime I try to start up a VC game downloaded from the shop, it leaves me with a black screen. The issue does not happen on VCs illegally dwonloaded (mostly NTSC editions of what I had for better framerate)

    Halp me.
     
  2. The Milkman

    Member The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3,471
    Location:
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Country:
    United States
    ...call nintendo support?
     
  3. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,355
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    just use the wad versions than :P
     
  4. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,373
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    And brick his Wii? He's better off installing emulators in my opinion.
     
  5. OlegEqualzName
    OP

    Newcomer OlegEqualzName Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Spain
    I'm not too sure about that cause I screwed it up myself with modding and all. They wouldn't be too happy.
    I can't. My lapt. broke and the other one left does not have SD support, however, it does have USB support, however, the only USB does not work too well and keeps giving errors.
    Emulators for Computer or Emulators for the Wii? Neither will work, for the Wii ones lag and stutter and have problems, while the laptop isn't mine and they are so paranoid with whatever shit I have, including simply going to a website they are not familiar with.
     
  6. Thesolcity

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    If you messed up modding your wii use Modmii to fix whatever you broke. (You'd run Modmii and download syscheck which youd run through Homebrew Channel and get an output. Run that output through Modmii and it will automatically download whatever you ballsed up in WAD format.) Seriously, its awesome. :yay:

    Thread Here

    Hm, I think since the IOS was patched to run other region VC something went wrong when it patched. Still, Modmii will fix that.
     
  7. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,373
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Not the Genesis emulator. It runs perfectly on the Wii.
     
  8. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,355
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    how the fuck is he gonna brick his wii installing wads i've done it 100's of times!
     
  9. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    A banner brick is all I can think of.
     
  10. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,125
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    So basically, you have no way to do anything? Well...that leaves you without options, obviously. Seems like your hardware is falling apart over there (stuttering wii, broken laptop, 2nd laptop with broken USB support...nice score).

    The only thing I can think of is installing modmii on your not-broken laptop, put everything it produces on USB drive. In addition, download and install wiixplorer (on USB, obviously). Then, on your wii, use wiixplorer to drag the content of the "to SD" folder to your actual SD card.

    Notes on this:
    -your USB drive needs to be FAT32
    -you need the HBC or postloader or similar...something that can run USB:\apps\wiixplorer\boot.dol
    -make sure to install priiloader. Banner bricks do not tend to happen often, but it only takes one to brick your wii. And I think out-of-region wads are more likely to brick
    -which VC games are you comparing to which emulators? AFAIK, only the N64 VC is better as actual VC. All other emulators play just as well, or even better, on their emulators.



    EDIT: almost forgot: consider buying a SD-2-USB convertor. I don't have SD support for my main PC either, so I bought one for...about 5 bucks. One of the best 5 bucks I ever spent.
     
  11. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,373
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Sheesh. No need for that kind of language. One banner mismatch and your wii is screwed. Most WADs can't be trusted. Besides, not all games work properly.
     
  12. OlegEqualzName
    OP

    Newcomer OlegEqualzName Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Spain
    I have solved it down already. Thanks for the help though. :P

    And no, my laptops aren't broken and nor is my wii. The only thing it does not do is play legaly purchased VCs. And the laptop does have USB support but it doesnt have SD support, which is where all my data is.
     

Share This Page