Hacking Virtual Console Game Icons - Request your icons here!

lordelan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,267
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
5,057
Country
Germany
Solid work mate!
When I read the thread title I thought about becoming a "provider" here as well as I'm building my own icons with Photoshop for every game I need it but yours are way better than mine so ...
Instead of sharing my inferior stuff I went on to even use your Zelda icons for my Loadiine SD card.
And while we're talking ...
I'd need:
  • The Legend of Zelda - Link's Awakening DX (GBC)
  • The Legend of Zelda - A Link to the Past (SNES)
  • Dragon Quest Monsters: Caravan Heart (GBA)
  • Street Fighter 2 - The New Challengers (SNES)
  • Super Probotector: Alien Rebels (SNES)
Edit: Maybe a wiki should be set up for this or the injection compatibility wiki should be extended by the possibility to upload icons as TGAs there. :)
 
Last edited by lordelan,

Migalis

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
118
Country
Netherlands
Hey i have another question, i downloaded game and wario en pikmin 3 but they don't have icons and background stuff. Basically i don't have the meta folder. Can you help me?
 

lordelan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,267
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
5,057
Country
Germany
Hey i have another question, i downloaded game and wario en pikmin 3 but they don't have icons and background stuff. Basically i don't have the meta folder. Can you help me?
Just create an empty meta folder.
Then put in the two needed tga files.
Wait a moment, I'll edit this post in a few minutes.

Edit:
Put in at least iconTex.tga (128x128)
and if you want a background bootTvTex.tga (1280x720).
 
Last edited by lordelan,

MelonSpeedruns

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
664
Country
Canada
Create a meta folder next to the content and code folder.
In that new folder, you have to put a .tga image called: "iconTex"
Hope that helps!
 

Migalis

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 9, 2015
Messages
25
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
118
Country
Netherlands
i did, and then i pressed '+' (download covers) in loadiine but nothing happens

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Create a meta folder next to the content and code folder.
In that new folder, you have to put a .tga image called: "iconTex"
Hope that helps!
Where can i find these images?
 

lordelan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,267
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
5,057
Country
Germany
i did, and then i pressed '+' (download covers) in loadiine but nothing happens

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------


Where can i find these images?
I just google title screens (you know, where you have to press start in each game), open them up with Photoshop, put them in a 128x128 shape and save them as TGA.
The same goes for the background. Just google for a big screenshot or something that you like and put it in a 1280x720 shape, then save as TGA.
Change names to the correct ones as mentioned in my post above and place them in the meta folder. That's all.

Edit: @MelonSpeedruns sorry for double posting what you already said. Just wanted to add how to do it for background images as well. :) And of course Paint.net, GIMP or any other tga capable program is more than enough.
Edit 2: @Migalis The download covers feature from Loadiine GX has nothing to do with the icons from this thread.
If you named your game folders on your SD card correctly* you can make Loadiine download cover box arts for carousel view mode.

These icons here by MelonSpeedruns are just for the grid view (which I prefer) :)

*correctly means to have the correct ID6 tag in these [ ] brackets at the end of folder name.
Find them out by looking up your games at gametdb.com

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Added 2 new icons. Now let's do the other ones!
Thank you very much! Looking fantastic! Can't wait for Dragon Quest Monsters! =)
 

Attachments

  • icons.zip
    1.8 MB · Views: 248
Last edited by lordelan,

lordelan

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2015
Messages
5,267
Trophies
1
Age
42
XP
5,057
Country
Germany
Where do you get GBC VC games? Does injecting GBC work in GBA?
Yep! You can turn GB(C) roms into GBA roms using the Windows PC tool Goomba Front (Color) and then inject them. It's very easy. You could even put multiple Gameboy Roms into one GBA Rom and chose at each startup what you wanna play (although I prefer one game per VC).
Just tell me if you need any help with this. Although we might should make a tutorial wiki for injection in general to help everyone.
 

apachehavok

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
329
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
197
Country
Angola
Awesome!!

There is a "pack" floating around. I think its 57 total. Having icons for that whole pack would be amazing!!
 

MelonSpeedruns

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
35
Trophies
0
XP
664
Country
Canada
No problem, man!

EDIT: I'm done with the icons so far!

EDIT2: If there is any new requests, i'll do them tonight, since I have school stuff today. :\
To make it easier to keep tracks of requests, I added a Google Forms link to the main post. I won't take requests of people in the posts anymore. Sorry :(
 
Last edited by MelonSpeedruns,
  • Like
Reactions: MartyDreamy
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie: Good job Sony store lag