Using xdelta to patch rom in Ubuntu Linux

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Verstand Bumsen, Mar 26, 2010.

Mar 26, 2010
  1. Verstand Bumsen
    OP

    Newcomer Verstand Bumsen Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    So I am new to Ubuntu/Linux and really love it so far but today I decided to patch Soma Bringer with the translation patch found here but I couldn't I tried using wine but it is not working for this. So I was wondering if there was anyway I can use the translation patch in Ubuntu Linux.
     
  2. Mario92

    Member Mario92 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    878
    Location:
    Finland
    Country:
    Finland
    Same problem (with differend distro). Only solutions I have found is to send files to friend with windows machine or run windows on virtualbox [​IMG]
     
  3. Bitbyte

    Member Bitbyte GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    985
    Location:
    ._________.
    Country:
    Belgium
    Download Wine.
     
  4. DarthNemesis

    Member DarthNemesis GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,208
    Country:
    United States
    1. Get the xdelta3 package
    2. Run it with the following parameters: -dfs originalromname.nds SomaPatch.xd patchedromname.nds
     
  5. Valiarchon

    Member Valiarchon trentacles

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Location:
    melbourne
    Country:
    Australia
    better fix - use windows.
     
  6. ByteMunch

    Member ByteMunch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm on ubuntu too, but cannot use the terminal properly... is there a detailed guide anywhere? like, for simpletons?
    does that mean put

    xdelta3 patch -dfs file:///media/7A37-662B/Downloads/NDS/game/game.nds file:///media/7A37-662B/Downloads/NDS/game/patch.xdelta file:///media/7A37-662B/Downloads/NDS/game/game_edit.nds
    Because from that i get
    xdelta3: too many filenames: file:///media/7A37-662B/Downloads/NDS/game/game.nds ...
     
  7. Beige

    Member Beige GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Volcano Bakemeat
    Country:
    United States
    Fixed.
    I personally use Windows on campus and I have a Parallels virtual Machine of Windows XP for games and video converters. No other reasons. Windows turned into garbage in a week on my Netbook and I've been running Linux Mint on my Netbook for a good few months and it runs just fine. In fact, if people sold computers without Windows pre-installed, it could easily knock about $50 off the price tag.
    Linux is far more secure anyways.
     
  8. Absynthe

    Member Absynthe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    227
    Location:
    The Isle of Everywhere
    Country:
    Italy
    Assuming those are the correct locations of the files. Wait a couple of seconds and "game.nds" should be patched.
     
  9. RyanfromtheShire

    Newcomer RyanfromtheShire Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United States
    I installed xdelta3 via sudo apt-get install and I ran it through the terminal and got this output:

    Code:
    ryan@Matilda:~$ xdelta3 -dfvs ~/Desktop/pw.nds ~/Desktop/pw.xdelta ~/Desktop/pwp.nds
    xdelta3: source /home/ryan/Desktop/pw.nds source size 256 MiB [268435456] blksize 2.00 MiB window 64.0 MiB
    xdelta3: target window checksum mismatch: XD3_INVALID_INPUT
    Anyone know what's going wrong?
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvertâ„¢

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    1 - Place the patch and ROM in a folder.

    2 - Use the "cd" command in the command-line to change the current folder the command line is working in to the folder you made. For example if it's in your user folder and in there you have you desktop and a path folder, you'd...
    cd Desktop
    cd PatchFolder
    Or whatever.

    3 - Run the command, but for the files just use "./filename.whatever". The "./" means "current directory". Or maybe it's just a dot, no slash? I'm not in linux ATM and haven't used xdelta from it's command-line in a while.
     
  11. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    You could be using the wrong xdelta. IIRC there was an xdelta3 and an xdelta, both of which don't work with the other's patches (I think). Or you just have a bad ROM.
     

Share This Page