Using xdelta to patch rom in Ubuntu Linux

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by Verstand Bumsen, Mar 26, 2010.

Mar 26, 2010
  1. Verstand Bumsen
    OP

Newcomer Verstand Bumsen Newbie

United States
    So I am new to Ubuntu/Linux and really love it so far but today I decided to patch Soma Bringer with the translation patch found here but I couldn't I tried using wine but it is not working for this. So I was wondering if there was anyway I can use the translation patch in Ubuntu Linux.

2. Mario92

Member Mario92 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Finland
    Same problem (with differend distro). Only solutions I have found is to send files to friend with windows machine or run windows on virtualbox [​IMG]

3. Bitbyte

Member Bitbyte GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Belgium
    Download Wine.

4. DarthNemesis

Member DarthNemesis GBAtemp Maniac

United States
    1. Get the xdelta3 package
    2. Run it with the following parameters: -dfs originalromname.nds SomaPatch.xd patchedromname.nds

5. Valiarchon

Member Valiarchon trentacles

Australia
    better fix - use windows.

6. ByteMunch

Member ByteMunch GBAtemp Fan

United Kingdom
    I'm on ubuntu too, but cannot use the terminal properly... is there a detailed guide anywhere? like, for simpletons?
    does that mean put

xdelta3 patch -dfs file:///media/7A37-662B/Downloads/NDS/game/game.nds file:///media/7A37-662B/Downloads/NDS/game/patch.xdelta file:///media/7A37-662B/Downloads/NDS/game/game_edit.nds
    Because from that i get
    xdelta3: too many filenames: file:///media/7A37-662B/Downloads/NDS/game/game.nds ...

7. Beige

Member Beige GBAtemp Regular

United States
    Fixed.