Using Save states

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Alfieri, Apr 18, 2009.

Apr 18, 2009

Using Save states by Alfieri at 7:39 PM (4,484 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Alfieri
    OP

    Newcomer Alfieri Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Mexico
    Hi, I'm just new to R4 emulation, I'm just wondering, is it possible for the R4 to use save states just as in PC emulators?. A friend told me it is possible but he didn't know how...

    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Depravo

    Global Moderator Depravo Jaded curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,076
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    R4 does not have a RTS (Real Time Save) function.
     
  3. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Nope it isn't. Actually, as far as i know, it isn't emulating. You'll need a Cyclo DS, M3, Supercard DS One, or another card that has the real time save function.

    Edit: Depravo beat me to it
     
  4. Alfieri
    OP

    Newcomer Alfieri Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Mexico
    I see, thanks a lot for the info, can you tell me which of them is the best? I'm only interested as you can see in a RTS
     
  5. TornZero

    Member TornZero GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    United States
    For everything, Cyclo would be your best bet. SCDS1 comes close in second.
     
  6. Porkdish

    Member Porkdish GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    335
    Country:
    Australia
    Don't get your hopes up over RTS. Its iffy at best still. On the cyclo there's just one save state per game, so its not quite as convenient as emulator save states.

    Similar to emulator states, they try to capture everything the DS is doing at that point in time, and write it to a file. Getting the DS to return to those actions mid game is where it gets iffy. You're encouraged to try to put your game in its most inactive state first, like entering a menu for example, before trying to real time save.

    Likewise when loading, if the DS is super busy and you try to force the real time save to load, you're asking for trouble. Sometimes you can load a save state and the game music or other aspects will fall out of sync and the game will usually crash soon after. The next time you try it may load just fine.

    Its a convenient feature on games that unduly limit your ability to save on demand, but its not yet as stable or convenient as an emulator's save states.

    It also fails completely on some games. If you're thinking of saveing during difficult missions on chinatown wars for example, forget it (at least for now).
     

Share This Page