1. I_AM_L_FORCE

    OP I_AM_L_FORCE Unban me from Discord
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,029
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey there, I've bought a switch that seems to have have it's serial and certs completely wiped for unknown reasons, as well as not coming with any sort of nand or Prodinfo backups.

    However, I do have backups from another switch that for all intents and purposes is junk now (many, many issues)

    Would it be possible to use the Prodinfo from my junk switch to restore to my good switch?
     
  2. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,503
    Country:
    United States
    No, the prodinfo is device specific. You might be able to find something here that can help you, depending on the details of your issue:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/switch-unbricking-guide-prodinfo-fix-pikafix.578026/
     
  3. I_AM_L_FORCE

    OP I_AM_L_FORCE Unban me from Discord
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,029
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The switch itself can boot sysnand just fine with/without CFW. The only issue appears to be the wiping of the serial and certs. HoS is not actually bricked itself. Could I skip all the Boot0/1 in this tutorial?
     
  4. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,503
    Country:
    United States
    If the Switch can boot and isn't bricked, then you will not benefit from the above guide. Are you saying that the new switch has the prodinfo blanked, and you want to be able to go online with it? Without a prodinfo backup, this Switch will never go online to connect to Nintendo's services.
     
  5. I_AM_L_FORCE

    OP I_AM_L_FORCE Unban me from Discord
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,029
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Precisely. Thank you, so just to be clear I cannot use the Prodinfo from the other switch at this time?
     
  6. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    15,503
    Country:
    United States
    It is currently impossible to get your Switch online without a prodinfo backup from that Switch. A prodinfo backup from another Switch will not help you.
     
  7. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,530
    Country:
    United States
    It will most likely never be possible so your only solution is to buy another console.
     
  8. Tamalulu

    Tamalulu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    France
  9. I_AM_L_FORCE

    OP I_AM_L_FORCE Unban me from Discord
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,029
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  10. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,530
    Country:
    United States
    This is moreso for recovering a bricked console without an eMMC backup. This is NOT to restore online functionality.
     
  11. Tamalulu

    Tamalulu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    France
    You would write the prodinfo from your junk console to your functional one and use a custom exosphere to spoof the device id to match the prodinfo so that the console boots.


    It should work though. It's a bit more complicated if the prodinfo is personalized (roughly, ipatched or Mariko devices).
     
  12. I_AM_L_FORCE

    OP I_AM_L_FORCE Unban me from Discord
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,029
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wooooo online time
    Does the Prodinfo have to be re-encrypted with the recipient consoles keys? And does the whole nand need to be donor's or just the Prodinfo
     
  13. Tamalulu

    Tamalulu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    France
    Well you still have to use the console's own BIS keys, but the prodinfo in itself shouldn't need reencrypting if it comes from a Erista unpatched. Haven't tested but, I would guess only the prodinfo needs to come from the donor console. Your best bet is to follow the instructions at https://github.com/PabloZaiden/deviceid-exosphere-builder
     
  14. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,530
    Country:
    United States
    Its been over a week so something tells me it didn't work.
     
  15. I_AM_L_FORCE

    OP I_AM_L_FORCE Unban me from Discord
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,029
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To be honest, I built the exosphere and injected the unencrypted Prodinfo from the other switch only, but it refused to boot.
     
  16. Maupiti

    Maupiti GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    363
    Country:
    France
    what about the serial number ? To be able to go online ?
     
  17. Tamalulu

    Tamalulu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    France
    Are the two Switch the same kind (Lite, Erista, Mariko...)? Have you followed all the steps at https://github.com/PabloZaiden/deviceid-exosphere-builder ?

    What do you mean? The serial number actually has little to do with going online AFAIK.
     
  18. I_AM_L_FORCE

    OP I_AM_L_FORCE Unban me from Discord
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Messages:
    1,029
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes, to both.
     
  19. Maupiti

    Maupiti GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    363
    Country:
    France
    Thanks for confirming what I posted ( And also @Draxzelex of course) and just went “kicked off” by @Tamalulu. There’s no way to connect to Nintendo servers for online without the unique Id/serial number linked to the hardware .
    @Tamalulu How do you think banning works...?, If it was so “simple”, unbanning units will be possible, which is not the case. I pointed the unit, not the account.
    That’s also why, you can’t use a license Sxos from one switch to another, saying that, saying “nothing”.
     
    Last edited by Maupiti, Feb 24, 2021
  20. Tamalulu

    Tamalulu Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    France
    Well, if it is not even booting, you probably did it something wrong as the whole purpose of https://github.com/PabloZaiden/deviceid-exosphere-builder is to make your console boot. Is it stuck on the Nintendo Switch logo? Are you using the atmosphère version matching the one of your custom exosphère?

    The prodinfo is what makes a console unique. When Nintendo decides to ban someone, they probably revoke some, or all, of the certificates that are contained in that prodinfo. The console verifies that the device id of the prodinfo matches the one from fuses at boot. Once you spoof that device id and it's booted, you could theoretically use the prodinfo as-is and connect to online services.

    I never said unbanning was easy as this requires another, not banned, prodinfo. Nobody's gonna buy a new console to unban a previous one.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Prodinfo, another, switch