USB Loader not working; load by disc does

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by PaperTeej20, Sep 5, 2010.

Sep 5, 2010
  1. PaperTeej20
    OP

    Newcomer PaperTeej20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    The title says it. I have a softmodded Wii (LU31) and I updated to System Menu 4.2 when it came out (stupid, I know) and I've managed to fix it somewhat. I can load burned game discs like Brawl and Wii Sports Resort, but USB Loader GX doesn't load games; only the USB Loader menu.

    When I try to load via USB Loader GX (most recent version) it seems to load, then a black screen and a frozen Wii.

    I've run a scan with both SysCheck and Dop-Mii, and it seems to be an issue with IOS61 and IOS70, as that is where the DOP-Mii scan stops. I've yet to fully grasp the concept of Wii softmoding, so I don't really understand what needs to be done to fix this.

    There are some things I understand, however. I assume I need to patch the IOS61, which is used by System Menu 4.2, and IOS70 can remain untouched since it is not used by 4.2, but I don't know how to do that.

    Any help would be appreciated. I've just downloaded Metroid: Other M, and I'm dying to play it. Burning didn't work because I got Dual Layer DVD+R; not DVD-R. Again, stupid, I know. Any suggestions?
     


  2. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,236
    Country:
    United States
    for a usb loader to work you don't need any other ios's patched just make sure you have a good cios, rev20 with 56 base and slot 249 will play the game perfectly, try wiiflow or CFG loader though some people have mentioned problems with GX
     
  3. PaperTeej20
    OP

    Newcomer PaperTeej20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    I'm a bit confused. I've installed cIOS 249 Rev 17. But I've not heard of CIOS 56 rev 20. Could you elaborate? Thanks for the quick reply, BTW.
     
  4. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,236
    Country:
    United States
    that's not exactly what i was saying rev20 is just an updated rev17 it generally works better and it lets you pick which ios to base it off of just install it in slot 249 using base 56 and use a wiiflow or CFG loader and it should work

    http://filetrip.net/f12411-cIOS-Installer-Xr20b.html
     
  5. mike333

    Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    706
    Country:
    Poland
    cIOS 249 Rev 20 is latest version of "Waninkoko's IOS249".
    During install it could use many system IOSes as an base for patching.
    IOS56 v5661 is considered best base today for playing most games.
     
  6. PaperTeej20
    OP

    Newcomer PaperTeej20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I think I get it. Download cIOS 249, install it to slot 249 using 56 as a base. I currently have 56 v5405. Should I update that too, and if so, how?
     
  7. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    That's not important, the base has nothing to do with the original IOS.
     
  8. PaperTeej20
    OP

    Newcomer PaperTeej20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Ok. Gimme a sec, I'll give it a shot.
     
  9. PaperTeej20
    OP

    Newcomer PaperTeej20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    It's just sitting at "Loading IOS56..."

    Now what?
     
  10. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,236
    Country:
    United States
    you used the installer that i linked you to?
    try network install you already have 249 so install with 249 to 249 using ios56 as base
    unless you don't have your wii online in that case you will have to download a wad of ios56 from nusd
     
  11. PaperTeej20
    OP

    Newcomer PaperTeej20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using the one you posted, but it's not giving me a network install option. My wii is online, tho. All it does is let me select the IOS to use, I selected 56, then it goes to "loading IOS56" and freezes.
     
  12. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    At first, select IOS249. Then select install to slot 249. Then select base IOS56 v5661, and use network installation.
     
  13. PaperTeej20
    OP

    Newcomer PaperTeej20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    OMG. I tried using WiiFlow, and it says the USB cannot be read (error -1). USB Loader GX could read it, but I may have formatted the drive improperly. Geez. Okay, how do I do that?

    Edit:
    I know to use WBFS Manager, but I think starting from a clean disk would be a better plan.
     
  14. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,236
    Country:
    United States
    try configurable before reformatting your drive.

    also you got rev20 installed?
     
  15. PaperTeej20
    OP

    Newcomer PaperTeej20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    I couldn't get that installer working. Just hung at the same message as before. I'll give configurable a shot right now.
     
  16. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
  17. PaperTeej20
    OP

    Newcomer PaperTeej20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    SysCheck was unable to finish. It froze, so I checked DOP-Mii to see where it froze. It stopped at IOS61. I wrote that in the original post.
     
  18. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,546
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Sorry, I missed that. Simply reinstall IOS61 and IOS70 with Dop-Mii! Install IOS61 v5405 without patches and IOS70 v6687 with patches!
     
  19. PaperTeej20
    OP

    Newcomer PaperTeej20 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    Still can't complete a syscheck. Dop-Mii froze at 61 again. Should I patch it too?
     
  20. Sabin_Figaro

    Member Sabin_Figaro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Country:
    Colombia
    are you connecting it to the correct port?
     

Share This Page