USB loader HD compatability?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by psiko74, Apr 1, 2009.

Apr 1, 2009

USB loader HD compatability? by psiko74 at 3:11 AM (2,740 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. psiko74
    OP

    Newcomer psiko74 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    Im just wondering if anyone is making a list. Im thinking of buying one but I dont want to get one that useless.
     
  2. games2007

    Member games2007 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    263
    Country:
    United States
    I would like this too.
    I'm thinking of purching this but I don't even know if it'll be compatible. It looks cool but I don't know if it'll work.
    Maybe I'll look for a Western Digital :3

    *EDIT*
    Err... this looks a lot better. It's a better brand.
    I'll probably get that.
    It has a 8.0 cnet review. They said it stomps the competition, but gets an 8.0 because of lack of a Firewire port, which I won't be needing.
     
  3. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
  4. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
  5. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    I dont know who is having trouble on that Wiki with the Seagate 320 GB, but this person claims the drive "works a treat" as stated here:

    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?s=&showto...t&p=1862958

     
  6. snakesnoke

    Newcomer snakesnoke Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Country:
    United States
    Wii USB Devices Compatibility List:
    "Only works if the whole drive is formatted in FAT32 by a 3rd party app(Fat32Format), and then WBFS is installed from the pc as well. In order for the loader to see your partition, hook up the USB but leave the drive unplugged. Boot up the wii and plug in the drive in the HBC. The previously reported issue was incorrect, as long as you follow this process you can also connect the drive to a Vista pc to add/delete isos."

    So I would have to plug in the drive every time I start the HBC/USB-Loader?
     
  7. Jetpac

    Newcomer Jetpac Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a WD Mybook 640Gb (i believe its the essential edition) which i use for PC backup.

    1)First of all are these compatible?
    2) would it work if i partitioned it using something like partition magic, then plugged it in, would the wii regognise there are 2 patritions and give the option to only format the new partyition into WBFS whilst leaving the other partition in NTFS/Fat (cant remember what it is) for use with the PC?
     
  8. bnm81002

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
  9. retrobits2

    Newcomer retrobits2 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I use a USB powered WD Passport Essential 500gb. I created two primary partitions in WinXP disk manager. Formatted both Fat32 (had to use 3rd party tool -- in my case SwissKnife V3). Then using wbfs command line utility, I initialized the second partition to WBFS and also added isos to it. USB Loader sees the drive right away -- I don't need to do any plug/unplug etc. -- just turn on the Wii and start USB loader. Also I put movies on the first Fat32 partition and I can use MPlayer_CE to watch them.
     
  10. jebrown19

    Newcomer jebrown19 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Canada
    I know this has probably been asked a hundred times and I don't want to sound redundant but can you guys confirm this for me?

    Is there pretty much universal support for the WD Passport / MyBook drives. I'm heading out to buy one tomorrow (640gb Mybook) and I want to be as certain as possible that I'm not going to blow $125 on a paper weight accessory for my Wii.

    The Wiki seems to suggest that these Drives work at all sizes but I just wanted to be sure.

    Again, sorry for the redundant questions.

    Cheers.
     
  11. LxTrix

    Member LxTrix GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible to use the seagate freeagent as a normal hard drive and for the usb loader or no?
     
  12. ShaneC

    Newcomer ShaneC Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't added my drives to the wiki yet, partially cuz i'm lazy, and partially cuz I want to make sure i get all the USB info thats requested as well.

    Anyway, these are all 3.5" drives w/ External power supplies:

    80gig WD My Book - Couple years old, bought at Wal-Mart - Works great w/ USB Loader, I've yet to find any issues. Full drive is formatted for WBFS.

    640 Seagate Free Agent Desk External - 1st Partition is WBFS; 2nd is NTFS. Needs to be powered on AFTER the Wii, or power cycled while waiting on the USB loader to detect it. Does work with Geexbox and USB Loader 1.1; 1.4; and 1.5

    The Seagate (for me) is annoying, but 640gig vs 80gig its kinda worth the headache.

    I do have a 250gig WD My Book I need to test as well.
     
  13. hdhacker

    Member hdhacker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    This question keeps coming up. Every time it does, someone recommends the WD Passport Essentials. I have the 500GB version of this drive. I had to open the case, hook it up to a SATA port ,and manually adjust the spindown time using hdparam. Therefore, DO NOT BUY THIS DRIVE!!!

    If you want a small self-powered USB hard drive, stick with the Seagate FreeAgent Go. You can turn off the spindown time without voiding your warranty.
     
  14. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    I recommend using the Toshiba brand drives. My 320GB worked right from the start and has never given me issues with spindown and all that, just softmod bliss for me. And based on the Wiki, the other sizes work just as well.
     
  15. bnm81002

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States



    that's why I'm getting the Seagate 500GB version, plus it comes with a 5 year warranty and you can also buy a dock for it as well
     
  16. Phratt

    Member Phratt GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    United States
    Do Ipods work?

    The Wiki shows a few that do, but I have an Ipod photo 20 gb, 4th gen. Its not listed in the Wiki.

    I wanted to know if anyone else has tried.,
     
  17. bnm81002

    Member bnm81002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    810
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
  18. nando

    Member nando GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,072
    Country:
    United States

    the dock is pretty useless and the carrying case just makes for more stuff to carry and is bulky, plus the prices at bestbuy are too high. i got the 320 gb freeagent from walmart for 83 buck. it had the case and dock and usb+firewire800. best buy has it for 120 and that's with usb only.

    but frankly stay away from the firewire anyway since i haven't been able to get mine to work with usb loaded and the management software doesn't give me an option to change the spin down like other people claim.
     

Share This Page