USB Loader GX - Game Settings Database?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Jango8, Sep 12, 2010.

Sep 12, 2010
  1. Jango8
    OP

    Newcomer Jango8 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Hi there
    I was wondering if anyone knows if there's a site that contains a database of the game settings needed to work properly on USB Loader GX.

    I am having a few problems with a few games and was hoping there is a database / site that details exactly what settings are to be selected in USB Loader GX

    THanks
     
  2. boof222

    Member boof222 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    Messages:
    435
    Location:
    NSW
    Country:
    Australia
    Well not that I know of but there might be one. What games are you having trouble with I might be able to help you
     
  3. Jango8
    OP

    Newcomer Jango8 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Was having trouble with mario party 8, COD: World At War but I deleted the images and reinstalled from USB Loader GX and all fine now. Not sure what that problem could have been??
     
  4. TiMeBoMb4u2

    Member TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,169
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes, you will find the answer you are looking for here: http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/USB_Game_Compatibility_Table

    Hope it helps!

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,430
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Mario Party 8 doesn't need any particular setting.
    It should work fine with default setting (IOS249, no alt dol, no ocarina, no video patch). I'm using WBFS partition, with cIOSrev17.

    for CoD, I never played it, I don't know if it need something special. you can check the Alt dol Method (see bellow) to see if it's a known reloading game.
    The wiki doesn't say anything for this game, it should work fine.


    There's only few games needing a special setting :
    Musical games (guitar hero series, all games needed microphone) : Hermes 222/223 [37+38]v4
    Monster Hunter Tri, animal crossing (needs USB for Wiispeak) : Hermes 222/223 [37+38]v4
    Arc Rise Fantasia : cIOS[56]rev20, or wiiflow with cIOSrev17
    New super Mario Bros : need a patched dol (done by the loader since r822)
    Prince of Persia : need a patched dol (done by the loader since r935)

    Then, there's a lot of games which you need to boot using Alternative dol method, to prevent dol reloading.
    SSX blur, Red steel 1, Metroid duo/trilogy, etc.
    For these one, before starting the game, go to the individual game preferences, booting method, alternative dol : select from disc + select known dol (if the loader find one, then the game is known as a reloading game and it needs the alt dol method).

    And 2 games which need "alt dol+" method :
    Sam & Max 1 & 2 : doesn't work on GX, but works with neogamma (and maybe other loader with "alt dol+" method)
     
  6. petspeed

    Member petspeed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    482
    Country:
    Denmark
    Actually that patch was removed in the later revs, don't remember exactly from which rev is was, but it was with all the changed made for POP. So the later revs needs a wip file for NSMB to work.
     
  7. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,430
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    It's not removed, the function is renamed in the source code in r935 :
    /trunk/source/usbloader/apploader.c, line318
    NewSuperMarioBrosPatch(dst, len); -> NSMBPatch(dst, len);
    And the actual patching function has been moved from the apploader.c to a separated file : /trunk/source/patches/gamepatches.c


    If NSMB doesn't work anymore, it's a bug. The code is still here since r822
     
  8. petspeed

    Member petspeed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    482
    Country:
    Denmark
    Yeah removed is the wrong word because I don't think it was intentional but anyway it is not working for me without the wip file. I upgraded directly from r874 to r935 so I don't know exactly when it happened.
     

Share This Page