PS1/2 USB Hard Drive on PS2

stab244

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
662
Trophies
1
XP
333
Country
United States
So I'm about to finally softmod my PS2 since it was getting underused, and I was wondering if I mod it with Free McBoot, could I play ISOs from a hard drive connected to the PS2 through the USB port? Thanks to those who help!!
 

stab244

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
662
Trophies
1
XP
333
Country
United States
Nope. One of the oldest Phats ever. Then can I burn more than 1 game onto a DVD-R or will it just not run? And can I use DVD+Rs? So many questions, but I'm just so excited that I can finally mod my PS2 after my friend lends me his AR.

EDIT: Just remembered to ask, but what other things does installing Free McBoot do? And when I put in the DVDR into the PS2, would I have to do anything special to boot the backup or would I have to do something else first in the system menu?
 

slaphappygamer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
4,114
Trophies
2
Age
46
Location
California
XP
7,590
Country
United States
if you want to run backups you must first patch the iso for "ESR" (im not really sure what that entales, but it should be explained in the readme for free mcboot). its good that you have an old fat ps2, those are better for setting up. i reccommend that you get a hd and the original network adapter to hook up the drive that way. your compatibility will be better and you wont have to fuss with patching the iso's. there is a list somewhere about what drives fit in the ps2.
 

stab244

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
662
Trophies
1
XP
333
Country
United States
Okay now the disk isn't working. When I load it a pink screen shown up... This is really weird...
 

slaphappygamer

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 30, 2008
Messages
4,114
Trophies
2
Age
46
Location
California
XP
7,590
Country
United States
well, im not too familiar with the esr process. check out this thread at http://forums.sksapps.com/free-mcboot/7212...ublic-beta.html
hopefully that will be more help to you than to me.
grog.gif
 

DAZA

Shaun's Mum
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
346
Trophies
2
XP
2,503
lol thought i might have to take that route, i was looking into the memor32, whizz u know if it boots backups straight off the bat?
 

suppachipmunk

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2007
Messages
400
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
246
Country
United States
I have a slim PS2 softmodded with FreeMCBoot. Not that hard of a process.

Go here: http://bootleg.sksapps.com/tutorials/fmcb/

and follow the tutorial. You can use either an Action Replay, Swap Magic, or anything that will allow you to load an .elf file.

The site comes with a prepackaged FMCBoot package for dummies (which is what i used).

Very easy, then just patch your iso with EITHER the momento patcher or the ESR patcher. either of them will work. The patch makes the ISO become a DVD movie, which the PS2 reads natively. SO then, ESR allows your PS2 to read the DVD file (your ISO) and the game will boot.

Use imgburn with 2.4x or 4.0x burn for best results. I use DVD+R booktyped to DVD-ROM. All done with imgburn.

Hope this helps!
 

DAZA

Shaun's Mum
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
346
Trophies
2
XP
2,503
suppachipmunk said:
I have a slim PS2 softmodded with FreeMCBoot. Not that hard of a process.

Go here: http://bootleg.sksapps.com/tutorials/fmcb/

and follow the tutorial. You can use either an Action Replay, Swap Magic, or anything that will allow you to load an .elf file.

The site comes with a prepackaged FMCBoot package for dummies (which is what i used).

Very easy, then just patch your iso with EITHER the momento patcher or the ESR patcher. either of them will work. The patch makes the ISO become a DVD movie, which the PS2 reads natively. SO then, ESR allows your PS2 to read the DVD file (your ISO) and the game will boot.

Use imgburn with 2.4x or 4.0x burn for best results. I use DVD+R booktyped to DVD-ROM. All done with imgburn.

Hope this helps!
outstandin

suppachipmunk, thanks very much, ill give that a go when i get some free time,

just 1 thing, can you post link to software for momento patcher, i cant seem to find that anywhere, then i can check to see which one of the two is easiest to do

thanks
 
D

Deleted User

Guest
DAZA said:
just 1 thing, can you post link to software for momento patcher, i cant seem to find that anywhere, then i can check to see which one of the two is easiest to do

thanks
Google "ESR Patcher". It does the same thing as the Memento one.
 

DAZA

Shaun's Mum
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
346
Trophies
2
XP
2,503
yeah i knew where to get the ESR patcher, couldnt find the Momento one, just wanted to find out which one was better and easier to work with, ok well here goes nothing, thanks for the advice
 

stab244

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
662
Trophies
1
XP
333
Country
United States
Wow... I was gone for one day and this thread explodes... Anyways I got the disc working now. Apparently Sony DVD+R works better than the Staples/CompUSA DVD-R I was using. I'm going to try out a Maxwell DVD+R to see if its just the difference between DVD+R and DVD-R.
 

DAZA

Shaun's Mum
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
346
Trophies
2
XP
2,503
hey, i tried several times to do this on ps2 slim, i use action replay max, first time it found the files on my usb key, tried to load and the screen went black, nothing else, so i though ok ill retry, next time it doesnt read the usb key data, tried several times since, no luck, any ideas as to why? i even tried using cd method
 

xist

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
5,859
Trophies
0
XP
984
Country
What's the serial on the Slim? Sony has removed the Update options in the new SCPH9000x's with the BIOS 230 version. Those DVD update options allowed FreeMcBoot to work, so without it you're stymied. Sony is probably aware of FMCB if they've suddenly decided to remove those update options from their new Slims.
 

DAZA

Shaun's Mum
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
346
Trophies
2
XP
2,503
i will need to look at it when i get back, all i can tell you for the minute is that it was from a brand new batch when they first released the ps2 slim
 

DAZA

Shaun's Mum
Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2002
Messages
346
Trophies
2
XP
2,503
scph-70003, cant find out about bios version its not in the version information, just browser, cd player, playstation driver and dvd player,

i follow the basic instructions of copying FREE_MCBOOT.ELF and the install folder with its components in there, load action replay max then media player, select the file, black screen... nothing else. tried 3 other mem sticks nothing, even cd method, no luck, any ideas?
 

xist

ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ
Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2008
Messages
5,859
Trophies
0
XP
984
Country
I'm assuming that you've tried the Swap Magic/ULE and FCEUltra alternatives too?
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    also gonna install twilight menu in my r4 flashcard
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    One thing that just occurred to me.... The sound on the 2600 sucked less back then the harsh sound we hear now is from infinitely better speakers we have now, back when the 2600 was new speakers produced a almost muffled sound, like CRTs made old graphics look slightly better.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I wonder if I could recommend that to some emulation devs that perhaps the sound could use some smoothing out to simulate those old TVs
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    I think a few of the early systems could benefit from that, at least up to the 8 bit generation, by the 16 bit generation I think TVs had gotten a lot better in almost every way
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    i dont have an sd card adapter but I have an usb sd card adapter
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Old people games
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    its not the one that comes with the r4
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    doesnt work (my flashcard is from r4isdhc.com)
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    might install ysmenu first
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Try Wood firmware
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    For your R4
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's old but it's the best firmware out for DS stuff
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    it says it only works for the original R4, R4i Gold (r4ids.cn), R4iDSN (r4idsn.com) and Acekard R.P.G.
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    nvm it does support mine
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    but why choose it over ysmenu @Psionic Roshambo?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    bc im stupid?
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    yea ik im stupid
  • Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty:
    good night
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Just give it a try, but honestly if you have a 3DS you can play DS games without a card just off the internal SD card
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Slightly slower loading but a bit more convenient
  • BakerMan @ BakerMan:
    guys, my fuckin headphones have an out of place speaker
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Did you try wearing them?
    B @ btjunior: @Xdqwerty 16