Upgrading

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by AlchemicEnd, Nov 12, 2008.

Nov 12, 2008

Upgrading by AlchemicEnd at 6:27 AM (1,379 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. AlchemicEnd
    OP

    Newcomer AlchemicEnd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thinking of upgrading from R4DS 2Gb & SuperCard Lite 2Gb to DSTT with Easy Flash 3 in 1 with 8 or 4Gb.

    Is that a good idea from a NDS & GBA compatibility stand point?


    Edit: Also is the M3 Lite better than the EF3N1.
     
  2. Annaaaaa

    Newcomer Annaaaaa Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2008
    Messages:
    46
    Location:
     /l、 (゚、 。 7
    Country:
    Denmark
    you should get an acekard2
    as there are chances that you will recive a fake one an if you do you cant use future updates
    and the acekard 2 seem to have more functions open source and same nearly same price
     
  3. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    The Acekard 2 is better than the DSTT for most users.

    If you don't care about price, you might look into the CycloDS, but it's a lot more expensive and is probably only worth it if you're really keen on game state dumps.

    -Bri
     
  4. AlchemicEnd
    OP

    Newcomer AlchemicEnd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    So AceKard 2 4Gb and Supercard 2Gb or AceKard 2 8Gb and EZ Flash 3 in1.

    Will the SCL run most GBA games through A2 or will it have limited functionality like the R4.

    Will my R4 games and saves still work or will I have to start over

    Thanks for the previous help.
     
  5. tedmg09130913

    Member tedmg09130913 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
  6. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    I'd recommend the EZFlash 3-in-1 for use with the Acekard 2. It has direct support from the menu (you can click on a GBA game in the menu and it will take care of the rest for you) so no need to use a separate loader like GBA ExpLoader.

    -Bri
     
  7. AlchemicEnd
    OP

    Newcomer AlchemicEnd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Can I still use my game saves or do I have to start over.
     
  8. Bri

    Member Bri GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,413
    Country:
    United States
    The Acekard 2 and DSTT use the same save file format. I believe it's also the same format as the R4, but if not there's an online save file converter that you can use.

    You'll need to rename your saves from "filename.sav" to "filename.nds.sav" to use them with the official Acekard 2 firmware.

    -Bri
     
  9. AlchemicEnd
    OP

    Newcomer AlchemicEnd Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Can the Acekard 2 play GB/C and S/NES games.
     
  10. evilishan

    Newcomer evilishan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Holsworthy, Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    With the use of a home brew emulator it can
    I recommend lameboy and SNEmulDSv06a.
    I have uploaded them to my geocities account.
    lameboy
    SNEmulDSv06a
    Courtesy of download goes to QJ.net

    SNEmulDSv06a is made by Archeide (with additional credits inside readme)
    lameboy v.10 is made by Nukti

    This is just a mirror

    Somebody try this out on their card and see if it works!!
    DSTT:confirmed
    DSTT:confirmed (I have 2)
    AceKard 2:confirmed
     

Share This Page