Upgraded luma and now i'm bricked

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by desperation-is-me, Nov 17, 2016.

  1. desperation-is-me
    OP

    desperation-is-me Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    4
    Nov 17, 2016
    United States
    I am freaking out because I told a friend I'd install LumaCFW on her N3DSXL. I got it all working, then as a final step, went to my luma settings and upgraded to the latest version of Luma. It prompted me to restart by pressing start, I did that and now the 3ds won't turn on.

    Even when I take the SD card out, the 3ds won't turn on...I'm stuck on black screens. I've tried holding R+L during bootup too and it still won't work. I don't believe I backed up anything either, which could be a problem.

    Please help me!!! I'd be so appreciative, really, thank you in advance senpai
     
  2. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Undeclared Shitposter 2.1

    Member
    5,798
    2,161
    Jan 11, 2016
    Japan
    日本
    Do you have the arm9loaderhax.bin on the root?..
     
    TheVinAnator likes this.
  3. TheVinAnator

    TheVinAnator GBATemp's Greatest Vin

    Member
    3,568
    2,583
    Jan 10, 2016
    Canada
    NO COFFEI!
    Hold select, do the settings come up again? If so you probably didn't check the proper ones!
     
  4. desperation-is-me
    OP

    desperation-is-me Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    4
    Nov 17, 2016
    United States
    Yes I do. I have arm9loaderhax.bin and arm9loaderhax.bin.bak on the root.
     
  5. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,847
    5,275
    Jan 28, 2016
    United States
    Hold select while booting. If something pops up your not bricked
     
  6. desperation-is-me
    OP

    desperation-is-me Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    4
    Nov 17, 2016
    United States
    I tried holding select while booting with the sd card in and nothing happened =[
     
  7. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,847
    5,275
    Jan 28, 2016
    United States
    Is your sd card real? If not optless brick strikes again
     
  8. trinhno

    trinhno GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    128
    38
    Aug 5, 2015
    Senegal
    What program did you use to update? Delete the new arm9loaderhax.bin and change the arm9loaderhax.bin.bak to arm9loaderhax.bin and try again.

    Probably not. He said the program told him to press start to restart. SafeA9LHInstaller will tell you press any key to turn off.
     
    Last edited by trinhno, Nov 17, 2016
    MajinCubyan likes this.
  9. desperation-is-me
    OP

    desperation-is-me Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    4
    Nov 17, 2016
    United States
    It's a 32gb micro sdcard from sandisk. Not the original card that came with the 3ds
     
  10. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,847
    5,275
    Jan 28, 2016
    United States
    Corrupt data?
     
  11. Redferne

    Redferne GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    743
    248
    Oct 28, 2015
    This has nothing to do with the OPT less install or the very rare bricks linked to it...

    To OP I suggest you delete the config.txt that is in the luma folder and copy manually the arm9loaderhax.bin file to the SD card.
     
  12. KazoWAR

    KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,800
    683
    Aug 12, 2008
    United States
    Winter Haven
    desperation-is-me likes this.
  13. SomeGamer

    SomeGamer GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,755
    2,712
    Dec 19, 2014
    Hungary
    Make sure to use the latest stable, not the nightly.
     
    desperation-is-me likes this.
  14. desperation-is-me
    OP

    desperation-is-me Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    4
    Nov 17, 2016
    United States
    ITS BACK!!!

    Guys. thank you so much. I had a minor panic attack and you guys cracked it in 30min. Really I am so grateful. Thank you again!!!!
     
    dimmidice likes this.
  15. Redferne

    Redferne GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    743
    248
    Oct 28, 2015
    So what was it? Because we gave you many things to try and it might be useful for people who will come after you :)
     
    desperation-is-me likes this.
  16. desperation-is-me
    OP

    desperation-is-me Newbie

    Newcomer
    6
    4
    Nov 17, 2016
    United States
    My problem was a corrupted Luma update. It was the most simple easy fix. Deleted config file from luma folder, deleted the .bak file and overwrote the arm9loaderhax.bin with a fresh one from the Luma download package.

    Thanks to all 1,000,000 times for walking me through this fix and I am so relieved!
     
    Zkajavier, KazoWAR and marc00077 like this.