Upgrade to 4.0 without Internet connection?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sugarfly, Apr 8, 2009.

Apr 8, 2009
  1. sugarfly
    OP

    Newcomer sugarfly Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    I currently have dial up, and high speed is not available to me. Anyway to upgrade to custom 4.0 without a wifi connection? Anyway to do this with just a sd card?
    Thanks in advanced!
     
  2. WaRMarinE

    Member WaRMarinE GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Mexico
    Country:
    Mexico
    Yes, ill leave you a guide for that:

    Required:
    1- Get CIOS60.wad
    2- Get WiiSystemmenu-41X.wad (replace X for your region, 7 is USA and 1 is PAL i think)
    3- Get Preloader0.29 installer (do not install yet)

    Guide:
    1- Install CIOS60.wad through WAD Installer
    2- Install your region WiiSystemmenu-41X.wad
    3- Now install Preloader 0.29 (If you get any System corrupted after installing Preloader, just reset Wii, go to Preloader, go on Settings and change IOS60 to IOS249)
    4- In the Settings (of Preloader) set in the Autoboot option "Systemmenu" and in the Return option set "Preloader"
    5- Go to the option "systemmenuhacks" and activate tha hacks you want

    And thats it
     
  3. sugarfly
    OP

    Newcomer sugarfly Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh you are awesome! Thanks so much!

    Edit: I am on 3.1U, should this still work, or do I need to upgrade to 3.2 or 3.4 first?
     
  4. SpongeFreak52

    Member SpongeFreak52 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    390
    Location:
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe
    Country:
    United States
    I'm just wondering how you managed to get on GBATemp with dial-up. Normally the server responds terribly to me with a 25Mbps connection, though that's probably server load. =P
     
  5. sugarfly
    OP

    Newcomer sugarfly Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Lol, alot of patience! I get 26Kbps, not Mb, kb. Thus upgrading through wifi connection....
    although gbatemp isn't as slow as most sites...
     
  6. WaRMarinE

    Member WaRMarinE GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    Mexico
    Country:
    Mexico
    If you can install WADs then its ok lol

    lmao I know
     
  7. hondamust

    Newcomer hondamust Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Canada
    This worked great. I was on officail 4.0 because upgraded too soon. Wanted to install usb loader but could not. Followed the directions worked great still on 4.0 but can install wads. I installed usb loader after using this immediatly after and it worked great.

    Thanks alot
     
  8. KiiWii

    Member KiiWii GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,164
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Isn't 8 PAL?
     
  9. --=ZerO=--

    Member --=ZerO=-- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah 418 is PAL
     
  10. wii909

    Newcomer wii909 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Japan
    Cheers for the guide WaRMarinE. On 4.0 now, and everythings working fine [​IMG]
     
  11. nysid

    Newcomer nysid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Indonesia
    do we have to install preloader, what will happen if i skip the preloader installer?
     
  12. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States
    It's not required, but it may come in handy if you screw something up in the future
     
  13. nysid

    Newcomer nysid Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Indonesia
    ic, so preloader just for precaution [​IMG]
    by installing CIOS60.wad (2mb)& WiiSystemmenu-417.wad (22mb) the wii will update to 4.0U right.
    Thanx.
     
  14. --=ZerO=--

    Member --=ZerO=-- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Country:
    Germany
    Here, you can feed the NUSD with it...

    IOS60.WAD 000000010000003c v6174

    EUR
    S-Menu 4.0.WAD 0000000100000002 v418

    USA
    S-Menu 4.0.WAD 0000000100000002 v417

    JAP
    S-Menu 4.0.WAD 0000000100000002 v416
     
  15. inasne

    Newcomer inasne Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    so.. i have been searching everywere but i cant find the jap 4.0 wad file
    anyone who might know and want to point me in the right direction?
     
  16. Ess_uk

    Newcomer Ess_uk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Sth Korea
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This guide looks like a cakewalk when compared to my last outing. (downgrading and changing system language and firmware from 3.3k to 3.2u)

    Would this be possible on my setup?

    I believe there are some Korean IOS still kicking around on my system because I am taking the advice which involves never removing an IOS.... Be it Korean or any other.
     
  17. --=ZerO=--

    Member --=ZerO=-- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Country:
    Germany

    Here... With this http://wiibrew.org/wiki/NUS_Downloader
    and my info u can make a JAP System Menue 4 WAD yourself...

    [​IMG]


    IOS60.WAD
    000000010000003c
    v6174


    EUR
    S-Menu 4.0.WAD
    0000000100000002
    v418

    USA
    S-Menu 4.0.WAD
    0000000100000002
    v417

    JAP
    S-Menu 4.0.WAD
    0000000100000002
    v416
     
  18. sugarfly
    OP

    Newcomer sugarfly Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks WaRMarinE!
    Installed 4.0 and preloader without a hitch!
    You rock!
     

Share This Page