Question Update on Hardware Video Decoder ?

Discussion in 'Switch - Emulation, Homebrew & Software Projects' started by Vaskie, Aug 28, 2018.

1. Vaskie
    OP

Vaskie Member

Newcomer
    Nov 21, 2016
    I am fairly new to the Switch scene so take it easy on me.

I have been reading on emulation on the Switch as well as Moonlight (Play PC games on other devices), and the reason that performance is not where it needs to be seems to be lack of hardware video decoder. Is it something that is being actively worked on, is it gonna be just a question of time or are people giving up on it ?

linuxaresisagaysob likes this.
  2. OkazakiTheOtaku

OkazakiTheOtaku no thanks, I don't want a custom title

Jul 20, 2016
    Japan
    There is a fork of LibNX with hardware rendering, but it doesn't look like it's ready for prime-time yet.

3. Vaskie
    OP

Vaskie Member

Newcomer
    Nov 21, 2016
    What is preventing hardware rendering from being a thing though ?

Is it just a question of time, or it's a lot more complicated than that.

I am fairly interested for Moonlight as it would make PC games playable on the Switch, as well as higher quality emulation.

4. OkazakiTheOtaku

Jul 20, 2016
    Japan
    Drivers need to be worked out. Lots of the Switch is well-known parts, which is why we have hardware rendering on Linux. But the OS is less documented.

Vorde likes this.
  5. Rahkeesh

Rahkeesh GBAtemp Fan

Apr 3, 2018
    United States
    Does libNX 3D acceleration have much to do with video decoding?

Also last post I saw by someone porting moonlight, actually complained about the homebrew network drivers having some errors that prevented handshaking with Nvidia.

6. OkazakiTheOtaku

Jul 20, 2016
    Japan
    My bad. I got the two confused. I apologize.

7. DaniPoo

DaniPoo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Jan 2, 2013
    I think you mean support for hardware accelerated graphics?
    This is what is needed for certain performance boost in many hombrew apps.