1. Santos

    OP Santos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Russia
    Hey, guys. I came to the rcm loader from aliexpress. I ordered others, but the seller slipped me this one. The default bootloader to run ReiNx. Connection to the computer is absent as a class, but there is a connector for the micro SD memory card - apparently it is possible to download payload. But how to do it-it is not clear, no information about this function I found. Can someone faced with this “miracle”of Chinese industry. I will be grateful for any help

    9A8072FB-D543-4B76-AC3C-3F5EFF236B1C.jpeg


    5E725D2A-1550-4549-ACEF-6F0D10A3B106.jpeg


    39CA951D-D5BD-488D-9FC3-C852D98A9896.jpeg
     
  2. bundat

    bundat ¿
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    438
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hmm, the light blue dongle has been infamously posted before as a dongle that seemingly has no way to have its payload updated, but this one seems to be a bit different as:

    1. You say the default payload is ReiNX (the ones previously posted are stuck with Hekate 3.2)
    2. Your seems to have a micro SD card slot, the teardown the others posted don't have one.

    Here are the previous posts with what seem to be the same light-blue dongle, also unable to update the payload:

    #1
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/need-help-with-payload-injector-dongle-from-ebay.519098/
    #2
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/need-help-to-replace-the-payload.519149/
    #3
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/updating-a-knock-off-switch-dongle.519404/
    #4
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/help-wi...pc-no-instructions-given.519760/#post-8313903

    You are #5 :P

    But yours seems to have this new "micro SD card" slot addition...
    Maybe @mattytrog can provide some input.

    I know he's been trying to figure out with the other users a way to update the payload (although iirc it involves soldering stuff onto the exposed solder points). Maybe with this "new" unit, he could figure out more things about this dongle, that could help you and all the other previous users.
     
  3. mattytrog

    mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,708
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any chance of popping lid off? Take a couple of decent pics of both sides ideally of the board?

    Also, you don`t know what bootloader it uses do you?
    UF2 or BIN(Bossa)?
     
    DayVeeBoi likes this.
  4. Santos

    OP Santos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Russia
    Ok. Let's wait for the ready solution. I do not want to open it yet. There is a Chinese version). No information about the loader. There is no information at all)

    51OlrMSQ1dL.jpg
     
  5. mattytrog

    mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,708
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok. Try double pressing reset see if a drive opens
     
  6. anhlon

    anhlon Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    oh wow talk about luck, i had the same dongle as the OP and have spent a few days looking for how to update the dongle w/ a new payload. Back and forth conversation with the seller and they ended up giving me a refund. And I didn't realize that it has a sd card slot until I read this post!

    Turns out updating the dongle is very simple!

    1. download the payload of your choice and rename the payload to "payload.bin"
    2. copy "payload.bin" to the root of the sd card
    3. put the sd card in the dongle
    4. enter rcm mode
    5. plug in dongle, you'll notice that the red light flashes much longer
    6. once you have booted you can take out the sd card, the dongle is now updated w/ your new payload and no longer require to be present in the dongle.

    Since it comes default with ReiNX, I put Hekate 4.2 in and verified that it does boot hekate. Removed the sd card from the dongle and it still boot with Hekate this confirms that the dongle is updated.

    Now if you put the sd card into your pc, you'll notice that "payload.bin" is removed from the sd card.

    Hope this helps!
     
    Albytrozz likes this.
  7. Bellebite2000

    Bellebite2000 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Afghanistan

    Here is what you get for not spending an extra buck or two and get Team Executer product. You have what you pay for. Enjoy!!!
     
  8. Santos

    OP Santos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Russia
    Yes, everything is perfectly updated in this way. Anhlon - thanks for the decision. This dongle and runs on a special-first you have to hold down the button, and then insert it. Some people in the reviews on aliexpress wrote that it is not working, as inserted it first, and then clamped the combination of buttons to enter rcm mode. For SX Pro and R4S dongles is absolutely not important the order of connection to the console.
    P.S - the third photo shows how to insert a memory card - it was also not obvious at first.

    CC11D531-BD2A-4AA9-9CDB-D3CEF982DB7A.jpeg FC018919-5BFE-4975-8869-B2F812355341.jpeg 2309CD99-E47A-4A03-BFA2-83AE62BAD949.jpeg
     
  9. Frankbel

    Frankbel GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    Italy
    Well, at least the blue dongle is not that useless.
     
  10. mattytrog

    mattytrog You don`t want to listen to anything I say.
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    3,708
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So basically it is a Feather M0 adalogger in a different form factor...

    Uses a 21G18 im guessing...
     
  11. lifetolifeless

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    was searching high and low for this info.

    Thanks again!
     
  12. areilly111

    areilly111 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada

    did you have to format the sd card to something special? I can't get my injector to update for the life of me.
     
  13. Santos

    OP Santos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Russia
    Format the card under FAT or Fat 32
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - connecting, computer, chinese