unpacking moonshell2 skins

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by thtl1999, Mar 25, 2010.

Mar 25, 2010

unpacking moonshell2 skins by thtl1999 at 2:11 PM (4,044 Views / 0 Likes) 47 replies

  1. thtl1999
    OP

    Newcomer thtl1999 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Korea, South
    i know there are so many topics about moonshell2 skins...
    but i couldn't find unpack .skn files.
    why im doing this is for edit and convert to m3 sakura skins.
    i found a program which can unpack skn file, but the link was broken.
    i think many people like to edit some good skins.
    if you have the program or if you can make the program, please help..
     


  2. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i take it you are referring to this post about the Moonshell2 unpacker

    The thing is not many people have managed to actually get this to work.
    A couple of people claims to have got it to work (This post) but no-one else has, & can't figure out WHY - even by following the method as told here
     
  3. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Lol it looks like Linoul's website provider cut him out now.
    Here is a mirror, try it out and tell us the results?
    http://www.mediafire.com/?mzgo52mdzmi
     
  4. env

    Member env GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    Philippines
    @TS:

    You've found a program that can unpack it? [​IMG]

    Well try JP's Skin Previewer, There are some reports that it can decompile .skn files but it's not working for most of us. Well just read the whole thread for you to know how it works. ~

    Good luck of trying to figure it out, oh and please give credit or let the skin creator know that you're editing their skin!
     
  5. thtl1999
    OP

    Newcomer thtl1999 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Korea, South
    http://www.mediafire.com/?mzgo52mdzmi

    it really works! thanks!

    and i used this code to unpack

    in cmd, type cd (Location)

    enter

    and type this

    makeskin.exe -d (skinname).skn

    now, i can convert some skins for my m3 sakura!

    or you can make a bat file to do this.

    make a new text file

    and type

    makeskin.exe -d (skinname).skn

    and change it to bat file and it will work
     
  6. azure0wind

    Member azure0wind 7 years flew so fast.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Country:
    Indonesia
    well i can't unpack m3sakura skins (i wonder why?) but i can unpack ms2 skin with no prob.
     
  7. env

    Member env GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    219
    Country:
    Philippines
    Ive got headache [​IMG]

    edit: now we have to put an anti-piracy on our skins now XD, jk.
     
  8. janouis

    Member janouis GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Country:
    Philippines
    lols... [​IMG]
     
  9. thtl1999
    OP

    Newcomer thtl1999 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Korea, South
    i think we have another problem....
    i only have a program which just pack bmps for m3 sakura
    and i proved it worked a second ago!!!!!!

    what i'm thinking about is that we don't need to unpack sakura skins.
    there are skins in ms2 format same as the sakura (sorry for the poor english..)
    just unpack same skin with format in ms2.
    and you edit, pack, accept!

    (i'm using a china program named M3Sakura_SkinMake_v0.311)
     
  10. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What OS are you using ?? - 'cos I STILL can't get it to work (Any chance you give the full 'location' path as well - perhaps it don't like my D: drive)
     
  11. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Me either... I've even tried running it under AppLocale in Japanese and Korean.
    I'll try Simplified and Traditional Chinese next and see if that works, but I'm somewhat doubtful.
     
  12. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're correct - in fact there's a LOT more to Sakura SKN than meets the eye
    I did a comparison quite a while back (because I was thinking of creating a couple of *.bat file that renames the graphics appropriately) & found out the following:-
    • MS 2.05 uses 144 graphics per skin
    • Sakura uses 164 Graphics per skin
    • MS 2.05 has 17 graphics that are NOT used in Sakura
    • Sakura has 42 graphics that are NOT used in MS
    Of all the remaning graphics that each skn uses:
    8 of them need modifying so that you can 'swap' between MS/Sakura - either the filename is wrong but sizes are OK OR the names are correct but the Sizes are wrong
     
  13. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    It actually doesn't sound that bad converting between the two...but you would need to have some way to edit the images automatically (a command line image editor? Or maybe someone is pro enough to make a custom one?) though that would take care of quite a few of the problems. The rest of the problems can be abated by adding the regular default images that one or the other skn type is missing. Beyond that, I could probably even be able to make something that could do it, since it would just be a matter of choosing between the two types and picking out what files are needed. The main problem I find is that there isn't a wonderous makeskin.exe that works for me and unpacks things for a majority of the computers (such a befuddling program this current makeskin.exe) as well as an M3Sakura .skn unpacker.
     
  14. 798-Icebird

    Newcomer 798-Icebird Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Gouda
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The .bat file works good too.
    Does someone know a way how to let the .bat ask for the name of the .skn?
    That would be really cool [​IMG]
     
  15. twiztidsinz

    Member twiztidsinz Taiju Yamada Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,981
    Country:
    United States
    Updated my batch file. It will now work properly for all (correct) types of names.
    For example, if your skin name is "Aero Ultimate.skn" the following will work:
    - Aero Ultimate
    - Aero Ultimate.skn
    - "Aero Ultimate.skn"
    - Aer

    The following will NOT work and should not be used:
    - "Aero Ultimate"
     
  16. 798-Icebird

    Newcomer 798-Icebird Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Gouda
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ThX dude [​IMG]
     
  17. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    DAMMIT - why can't I get that modified makeskin to work ..........
    What is it that some people can & others can't ???
    What the hell is different between all the computers ???
     
  18. 798-Icebird

    Newcomer 798-Icebird Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Gouda
    Country:
    Netherlands
  19. jurassicplayer

    Member jurassicplayer Completionist Themer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    Pantsuland
    Country:
    United States
    Well I did have a false hope that maybe it could have somehow been me and my .bat making skills...but nope, it still doesn't work on my computer (as my previous tests on my computer have horribly told me).
     
  20. 798-Icebird

    Newcomer 798-Icebird Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    Gouda
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What does happen then? What OS do you have? [​IMG]
    (the skinname must be without spaces)
     

Share This Page