Unbrick an unknown Wii.....

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by oliverbomb, Aug 12, 2011.

Aug 12, 2011

Unbrick an unknown Wii..... by oliverbomb at 1:10 PM (3,737 Views / 0 Likes) 35 replies

  1. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    HI I got an Wii, and it has nothing... it does nothing.

    [​IMG]

    It boots, but it doesn't show anything on the TV, black screen.

    I am searching for Bootmii files, to copy them on a card, and see if it has bootmii..

    any suggestions further?

    EDIT: Nope... bootmii wont start [​IMG]
    What is the Anno 2011, August way to Unbrick a wii, that goes on and does not show anything, except a red background (prolly my tv) for 0.5 second/
     


  2. slaphappygamer

    Member slaphappygamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    maybe it has priiloader? hold reset upon boot
     
  3. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    tried that, done that ... nope =/
    i get nothing.

    Maybe recovery disk? / recovery gamecube? trick savemiffrii?
     
  4. slaphappygamer

    Member slaphappygamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    can you enter recovery mode?
     
  5. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    you could try manually flashing the NAND [​IMG]
     
  6. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I dont know how really... I have gamecube controllers but I dont wanna kill one... Do i need 3th party or original? + Can U get me instructions/

    How to flash the NAND manually? xD lolz
     
  7. slaphappygamer

    Member slaphappygamer GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    535
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    go here
    i think you are option 3
     
  8. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hi update, I am in the recovery menu, I can see it is 3.1 USA,

    Can someone tell me if this is an USA Wii, or a bricked PAL one, with an USA brick? Or what? Thank you ALOT!
     
  9. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Look at the bottom of your Wii and tell me what the last set of letters are for the Model Number.
     
  10. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Model NO: RVL-001(USA)


    Ohhh... USA.. =/ shit i dont have USA games original.
     
  11. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Buy a used USA game, prefereably one that is around 3 years old and update through the recovery menu.
     
  12. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Which game?
     
  13. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't matter, it just has to include a System Menu over 3.2 (and preferably below 4.2).

    For an (incomplete) list of games and the included System Menu updates, choose the first result.

    Before going through with this, wait a day or so to see if someone else has a better solution.
     
  14. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ok thank you, [​IMG] Im gonna get MarioKart Wii USA I think.... That is savest i think ? or another well known game, like new Super mario bros.

    I have PAL version, but that won't do the trick will it hehe...
    Thnx for the list [​IMG]
     
  15. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    It might be a bad bluetooth module or could be a full brick.
    What are the first 6 characters of the serial number (ie. LU5604)?
     
  16. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    But wait, [​IMG]

    I don't even know how to unbrick it yet..

    Is it like this:

    Put it in recovery mode (called savemiifrii)
    and then put in mario kart, and it boots?

    Thanks
     
  17. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    He can get into recovery mode.
     
  18. oliverbomb
    OP

    Member oliverbomb GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Netherlands
    How to use recovery mode?
     
  19. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, but that is not always good enough to do anything, and the OP decided to ignore my question about what his serial number is, so he gets no more help from me.
     
  20. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,834
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Diagnostic Disc Check wasn't part of older SM's, so I think that oliverbomb can run an update through the recovery menu.
     

Share This Page