[TUTORIAL] Play with your Gamecube Controller in your 3DS (without hardmod)

Discussion in '3DS - Tutorials' started by Intronaut, Jul 27, 2016.

  1. Intronaut
    OP

    Member Intronaut An star maker

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2014
    Messages:
    726
    Country:
    Chile
    Note: You can use any controller, but this tutorial will only describe the steps to do it with a gamecube controller + official gamecube controller adapter. Anyway, only the first step is related with the controller. The other steps are the same for every controller.

    Special thanks to Stary2001 and @KazoWAR for this awesome tool.

    Requirements:
    Recomended:
    Steps:
    1. Install the driver of the Official gamecube controller adapter in your pc (there's a lot of tutorials on the internet, so please google) and run it.
    2. Configure Xpadder (It's pretty easy with a noob-proof GUI). Remember the keys you choose for each button.

    Now you have to choose an option

    NTR CFW (recommended - better compatibility )
    3. In your 3DS install InputRedirectionNTR.cia.
    4. Run NTR CFW, press X+Y and select "Enable Debugger"
    5. Run the installed CIA.

    Homebrew Launcher (not recommended - worse compatibility)
    3. In your 3DS install InputProc.cia and put the 3ds folder in the root of your sd card In
    4. Run The Homebrew Launcher and launch input_loader.
    5. Press start and then x to return to the home menu


    6. Now in your PC, go to the PC Client and open InputRedirection NTR.exe (InputRedirection .exe if you chose the HBL option)
    7. Press F1 to set your 3DS IP address (use wireless network watcher or ftpbrony to know it) and then ESC
    8. Press F2 to set the key for each button of your 3ds (you can use Xpadder to remember what keys you used for the gamecube controller). To do it, first you have to press the pre-selected key, and then press the new key for each button. Once you're ready press ESC.
    9. Test the controls (also, you can press F4 to show debug information).
    10. Enjoy


    Proof:
     
    Last edited by Intronaut, Jul 29, 2016


  2. Azel

    Member Azel GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2014
    Messages:
    482
    Country:
    France
    Nice, thanks for the guide. Wish this was ported as a patch for BootNTR to use with RemotePlay capabilities :)
     
  3. Thee_BaBs

    Member Thee_BaBs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2015
    Messages:
    128
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome! Does anyone know what the input lag is like?
     
  4. Fabax01

    Member Fabax01 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2016
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    Italy
    This is great! Sm4sh 3ds to a new level.
     
  5. RustInPeace

    Member RustInPeace Samurai Cop

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,695
    Country:
    United States
    Xpadder requires payment to download it. Unless there's a free option I haven't found.
     
  6. ecaep42

    Newcomer ecaep42 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    x360ce
     
    TheCyberQuake and TCPixel like this.
  7. Arecaidian Fox

    Member Arecaidian Fox Foxeh furry X3

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    872
    Location:
    Snohomish, WA
    Country:
    United States
    If you're using this for Sm4sh, you may as well play the Wii U copy, since you're tethered to a PC anyway. That or Dolphin and a copy of Project M 3.6, or better yet, Smash Bros. Legacy or Legacy XP, when it releases.
     
    Sliter likes this.
  8. quytoe

    Newcomer quytoe Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Does it work with DS games and on 3ds? And does it work with other controllers?
     
  9. RustInPeace

    Member RustInPeace Samurai Cop

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,695
    Country:
    United States
    I have the driver installed, but I don't understand how to input buttons for x360ce, getting no response with anything.
     
  10. JustAKirby

    Member JustAKirby GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2015
    Messages:
    380
    Location:
    Wouldn't you like to know?
    Country:
    United States
    I woulda never thought this would be possible
    Thanks a lot for this guide
     
  11. major_mew

    Newcomer major_mew Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Location:
    The Underground
    Country:
    United States
    *Throws fists up in the air* YES!
     
    JustAKirby likes this.
  12. Robz8

    Member Robz8 Coolest of TWL

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    4,683
    Country:
    United States
    No, it won't work with DS games, unless if the games/roms are on an emulator. Yes, it works with other controllers, like the XBOX 360 Controller.
     
  13. KazoWAR

    Member KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States
    Don't forget to credit Stary2001 since this is mostly his work, I just forked what he had, made some tweaks, and released a build.

    I can make a NTR version. all the backround process does is writes the input data it receives remotely to a static address. and the patched HID reads that data for the input. NTR debugger can write the same data to the same address and it will work the same.
     
    Last edited by KazoWAR, Jul 28, 2016
    Azel and Thunder Kai like this.
  14. hacksn5s4

    Banned hacksn5s4 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,332
    Country:
    Australia
    does this also work with the xbox 360 controller

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    kazo are you also going to do botting with this

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    can you use joytokey instead of xpadder
     
  15. KazoWAR

    Member KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,783
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States
    you can bot in a limited way already using a program like autohoykey, with no input from the system you can do egg hatching, or chain captures just need to time stuff out correctly. but I am also thinking about trying making a special program for botting that can read memory from the system to know when certain things happen.

    also you should be able to use any kind of gamepad to keyboard program.
     
    Azel likes this.
  16. hacksn5s4

    Banned hacksn5s4 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,332
    Country:
    Australia
    you could also hook up a webcam to the pc and it detects color of pixles to know if its shiny or not
     
    Azel likes this.
  17. Seriel

    Member Seriel Powered by Gentoo Linux

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,560
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  18. regnad

    Member regnad Button Masher

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,623
    Country:
    Japan
  19. hacksn5s4

    Banned hacksn5s4 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    4,332
    Country:
    Australia
    problem with this is its very laggy

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    its not working in pokemon for some reason
     
  20. Sliter

    Member Sliter GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2,692
    Location:
    ㊙️
    Country:
    Brazil
    MAN THIS IS AWESOME THANKS O3o
    I wounder if work together with the screen streamming /ok it gonna lag haha/
    man i'm so much amazed I want to try
    but don't have how to use GC controller on pc :B I only have an stupid ps2 like pirate usb controller hahah) the not ofccial usb adapter (those made to use GC on PC, before the orficial wiiU come) would work too since conects the controller?
     
    Azel likes this.

Share This Page