TTMENU.SYS error?

Discussion in 'DSTT' started by Shbek, Feb 10, 2008.

Feb 10, 2008

TTMENU.SYS error? by Shbek at 4:40 AM (3,928 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. Shbek
    OP

    Newcomer Shbek Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Colo Springs, CO
    Country:
    United States
    This is really annoying. I got two DSTT's, one for me, one for my boyfriend's nephew. He has a 2GB Samsung microSD, works fine. I have a 4GB Samsung microSD, and I get an error message that says "cannot find TTMENU.SYS, reset system" everytime I try to load a game. TTMENU.SYS is there, in the root of the card.

    I formatted the card twice (tried both FAT, FAT32 and FAT32/64MB allocation), Tried firmwares 1.07/1.08 preview, 1.07, and 1.06, still get the same message. The microSD works fine on an M3 Real and a CycloDS. Any ideas as to what it could be? I'm about to break out my 1GB microSD and see if its the SD or the card. Any other suggestions?
     
  2. Shbek
    OP

    Newcomer Shbek Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Colo Springs, CO
    Country:
    United States
    I have tried the following MicroSD's, firmware, and systems with the
    DSTT in question. By firmware I mean the complete firmware, INCLUDING
    the appropriate TTMENU.SYS file, TTMENU.DAT file, and all contents of
    the TTMENU folder. I also tried a different .nds file for every
    variation I tried.

    1GB Samsung MicroSD
    - Tried firmwares 1.07/1.08 preview, 1.07, and 1.06 - Did not fix problem.
    - Tried all firmware with FAT and FAT32 formatting - Did not fix problem.
    - Tried all firmware and formatting variations on a first
    generation silver DS, Electric Blue DS, and a Crimson and Black DS
    Lite - Did not work on any of those systems.

    2GB Kingston MicroSD
    - Tried firmwares 1.07/1.08 preview, 1.07, and 1.06 - Did not fix problem.
    - Tried all firmware with FAT and FAT32 formatting - Did not fix problem.
    - Tried all firmware and formatting variations on a first
    generation silver DS, Electric Blue DS, and a Crimson and Black DS
    Lite - Did not work on any of those systems.

    4GB Samsung MicroSD
    - Tried firmwares 1.07/1.08 preview, 1.07, 1.07 (spanish) and 1.06 - Did not fix problem.
    - Tried all firmware with FAT and FAT32 formatting - Did not fix problem.
    - Tried all firmware and formatting variations on a first
    generation silver DS, Electric Blue DS, and a Crimson and Black DS
    Lite - Did not work on any of those systems.


    It should also be noted that all of those combinations mentioned above
    worked perfectly with the other DSTT. The microSDs I tried also work
    fine on an M3 Real and a CycloDS.

    At this point, I'm assuming its a defective cart and I am getting a new one.
     
  3. Feels Good Man

    Member Feels Good Man GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643
    Country:
    Canada
    Ok I didnt read all those but have you tried ERASING the .sys file?
     
  4. twit21

    Member twit21 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    Country:
    United States
    Well, since the TTMENU.SYS file is 5 megabytes of nothing but "ff ff ff ...", we've pretty much assumed that it's just a swap file for the DSTT to use. That having been said, it pretty much doesn't matter which version you use because they're all the same (even have the same modification date and time stamp). Indeed, the v1.08eng version doesn't even have the file included.

    I'd say that, after the extensive troubleshooting you've done, it's pretty safe to say you've got a bum cart and need to replace it.
     
  5. TheTalentedMrRip

    Newcomer TheTalentedMrRip Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Try booting your DSTT with only the TTMENU Dir & TTMENU.dat on your MicroSD. It'll generate a TTMENU.sys file automatically, just like an R4 will generate a _DS_MENU.sys file automatically...
     
  6. Shbek
    OP

    Newcomer Shbek Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2007
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Colo Springs, CO
    Country:
    United States
    That was actually the very first thing I tried. Purely because I originally just put 1.08p on both microSD's. The other DSTT has no problem loading things, the other gives me the error. Both cards had th exact same thing on them. My DSTT seems incapable of creating a TTMENU.sys on its own, whereas the other one as no problems.
     

Share This Page