Trying to build a home server

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Pyrmon, Mar 10, 2011.

Mar 10, 2011

Trying to build a home server by Pyrmon at 11:02 PM (3,228 Views / 0 Likes) 52 replies

  1. Pyrmon
    OP

    Member Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    For the past two days I have been trying to build a file-sharing server for my home that can be accessed from any computer with an internet connection. I found an old Pentium 4 computer that used to have a virus-filed, broken WinXP. I installed Xubuntu 10.04 and I have been figuring out how to make it run headless and make my files on it available on my network. So far I haven't really been successful. I fiddled with SAMBA and SWAT but I'm completely lost due to me being kind of a newbie. I was wondering if anyone could help out by pointing to the right direction. Also, I don't mind installing another version of Linux or even Windows. Any help is appreciated.
     


  2. qwertymodo

    Member qwertymodo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    781
    Country:
    United States
    If your other computers are Windows, you're going to want to go back and try SAMBA again.
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Any computer with a web connection?

    Why not use a web server?
     
  4. Pyrmon
    OP

    Member Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't really know how, but that seems to be what I'm looking for.
     
  5. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    FTP might be better as you can upload files more easily.
    An apache installation is a web server, will let you connect to it.
     
  6. Pyrmon
    OP

    Member Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
  7. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, looks like a basic LAMP setup, has SFTP to upload files and all.
     
  8. Pyrmon
    OP

    Member Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    I am currently following that guide. If all goes well, I should have my files online soon.
     
  9. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    What problems are you having with Samba?

    Should be as simple as editing a few settings in the example config, then setting the daemon to run at boot. There's not really any reason to run a full LAMP stack if all you want to do is share files.
     
  10. Pyrmon
    OP

    Member Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    I'd also like to host a small website in the near future, so I think it's better that I go with the web server. And I have no idea how to make a daemon or how to edit those settings correctly.
    But I'm having a problem. On this guide, on the "Install a Firewall" part, I am unable to copy the configuration files to the Shorewall directory.
     
  11. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    That's one of the nice things about arch: adding a startup daemon involves simply adding the name of the daemon to /etc/rc.conf (although I'm sure a Google search would turn up methods for Ubuntu).

    I really would recommend it. It's a lot fucking simpler to configure than Ubuntu, especially for a novice.
     
  12. Niles

    Newcomer Niles Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Australia
    FreeNAS
    Openfiler
    unRAID

    If its a pure file server without much more purpose, theres many packages that will make this extremely easy for you, look up some of the above distros.
     
  13. Pyrmon
    OP

    Member Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    I may try it eventually. But in the mean time, does anyone know what to do about the Firewall, or can I just skip that part altogether?
     
  14. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Well optimally you would have a hardware firewall (either dedicated PC or router).

    It would probably be fine to skip it for now, but if you don't have the aforementioned box sitting between the pipe and the clients, you'll want to revisit it later.
     
  15. Pyrmon
    OP

    Member Pyrmon Burnin' Monkey Love

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,086
    Location:
    Montreal
    Country:
    Canada
    I have a router which has firewall IIRC.
     
  16. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
  17. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    How is that relevant at all?
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    He stated he has one, and by default they block all incoming connections, so the right ports will need to be forwarded for anybody outside his home network to access the server.
     
  19. Urza

    Member Urza hi

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    6,493
    Country:
    United States
    Assuming you're referring to outside access for his website, port 80 is open by default on almost all consumer routers.
     
  20. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    I've had multiple routers (linksys WRT54G and some ISP-supplied ones) and I've always had to forward the port to the correct computer.

    What routers have you used?
     

Share This Page