Hacking Trucha Bug Restorer, which one?!

MrGIO

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
Italy
Hi at all,
I have a HARDmod WII 4.2 updated with SAFE UPDATER by Zektor.
I think that i have to restore the TRUCHA BUG but i don't know which guide (and WADs) i have to follow.
I know that the steps are always the same, but i have doubts.

a guide says :
QUOTE said:
We need to download some files now.
* NUS (IOS > IOS 15 > v257 &WAD)
* NUS (IOS > IOS 15 > v523 &WAD)
* NUS (IOS > IOS 36 > v3351 &WAD)
The final thing to download is the System menu IOS. As we will be using 4.2, the IOS we need is IOS70.
First Uncheck 'Pack -> Wad'. The box will become gray and empty.
* NUS (IOS > IOS70 > v6687)

a second one
QUOTE said:
you need the files:
IOS15-64-v257.wad
IOS15-64-v523.wad
IOS36-64-v3351.wad
IOS37-64-v3869.wad
on the root of your SD Card. You can get them using NUSD.

a third
QUOTE
I'm using Wi-Fi here to download needed IOS. If your Wii is not connected to the Internet you'll need following WAD files in your SD root:

IOS15-64-v257.wad
IOS15-64-v266.wad (for X.X)
IOS15-64-v523.wad (for 4.2)
IOS36-64-v3094.wad


Now, if i have an internet connetion can i use it or is it better to use the wad. files?
And also, why a guide says to use IOS37?
Which .wad i have to use?
 

MrGIO

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
Italy
TroyTheZombie said:
Not needed.

use DOP-IOS MOD to patch IOS36 & IOS70. Then install a cIOS if you don't already have one (I recommend rev14)

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=AZ3OJW2T

I'm assuming you already have the homebrew channel installed?

I did it, but i had an error with IOS70 (i think it is not so beautiful) and now dop-ios doesn't start anymore...and anyway why not?
I tried to use WADmanager 1.5 using ios249 but my wiimote turns off.

Yes i have HBC installed and BootMII on boot2/IOS
 

MrGIO

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
Italy
i think that i cannot use DOP-IOS because i have a least to follow this step :
***For 4.2 users, before you install a cIOS, you must remove the stubs installed over their IOS slots by 4.2 by using AnyTitle Deleter DB or AnyTitle Deleter MOD to delete IOS 222, 223, 249, and 250 USING IOS36 to do it after applying all of the patches to IOS36 with the TBR MOD. Then you may continue to install your cIOS as usual.***

But i don't understand why i don't have to use the Trucha Bug restorer.
 

MrGIO

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
Italy
TroyTheZombie said:
ah, ok, i was under the impressing since you had used the safe updater, you had trucha enables ios already and a cIOS.

My bad.
anyway, just follow xzxero's guide.

http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901

i don't understand everything, mainly for my english.

I have to use the trucha bug restorer? i think no at this point.
I was following the xzxero's guide but i have to follow it from this step?


QUOTEDeleting stub IOS's
Run Any Title Deleter DB
Choose IOS36 & press A.
Go to System Titles & press A.
Select IOS222 & press A to delete.
Select IOS223 & press A to delete.
Select IOS249 & press A to delete.
Select IOS250 & press A to delete.
*If any IOS listed above is not there, check the other pages. If it's still not there, do not worry about it & move along with the guide.

Installing cIOS & Patching the System Menu IOS
Run WAD Manager 1.5
When it opens choose IOS36. (it is probably already set to that)
Press A to leave NAND emulator disabled.
Press A to open from SD slot.
Install IOS70-v6687.wad
Install IOS202-v4.wad
Install IOS222-v4.wad
Install IOS223-v4.wad
Install IOS249-v14.wad
Install IOS250-v65535.wad
Press home to exit.

And after that is my wii updated for USB HD?
 

MrGIO

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
Italy
razorback78 said:
yes. you already have 249, 222, and 223. next you may choose from the usb loaders available. http://sites.google.com/site/completesg/backup-launchers

that is not correct (or maybe i'm just reaaally slow to understand)... i think that i have stub versions of 249,222,223 because when i try to start wiiflow (249/222) , it gives me black screen.
And If i try to run WAD manager under ios 249, my wiimote turns off and i cannot do anything.

so... i don't know...

Anyway.. thank you all for help...
 

MrGIO

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
Italy
Anyway i tried to use WAD manager with IOS36 (i jumped the step of AnyTitleDeleter DB).
And was trying to install the IOS249-v14.wad when i had this error

QUOTE said:
ret=-2011

I know that this is a trucha bug related error....so what?
 

raulpica

With your drill, thrust to the sky!
Former Staff
Joined
Oct 23, 2007
Messages
11,056
Trophies
0
Location
PowerLevel: 9001
XP
5,713
Country
Italy
MrGIO said:
Anyway i tried to use WAD manager with IOS36 (i jumped the step of AnyTitleDeleter DB).
And was trying to install the IOS249-v14.wad when i had this error

QUOTE said:
ret=-2011

I know that this is a trucha bug related error....so what?
Here are the steps to put Trucha Bug in your IOS.

Use Trucha Bug Restorer by WiiPower (http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=165453).
Get those wads using NUS Downloader and put them on the root of your SD card:
IOS15-64-v257.wad
IOS15-64-v523.wad
IOS36-64-v3351.wad
IOS37-64-v3869.wad

When it asks what IOS to reload, select IOS15. Then from the Menu select "IOS15 downgrade", follow the instructions (mainly pressing A).
It will reload the Wii. Start again TBR. Reload again IOS15, and this time select "IOS36 downgrade". Remember that you need "Hash check (trucha)" and "ES_Identity" both on YES.
Press A everytime it asks you to do so, then it will restart your Wii. Now you're free to use a cIOS installer.

Enjoy.
 

MrGIO

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
Italy
WOW i followed exactly these steps from xzxero's guide.

QUOTE said:
Run Trucha Bug Restorer
Press B to choose No IOS Reload.
Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
Go to Downgrade IOS15.
Press A to downgrade.
Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.
*If you get stuck on the first Trucha bug Restorer step, try to skip the 3 TBR steps completely as there is a chance it will work!

everything perfect.
I restarted the app TBR1.1, i selected ios15 to start the app, and i pressed A... and BAM
A list of stuff came out, something like CODE DUMP and things like that (i know i'm not really precise)

And now i don't know what to do, i cannot continue with the app...
I'm not so happy, i have a ios15 downgraded that i don't know how to restore as before...
 

bula

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
812
Trophies
0
XP
42
Country
United States
Follow this CC from a guide posted here and you should be OK:


Setting up the SD Card
1st download the precompiled link modify.zip by emailing [email protected]
Extract the "modify.zip" & put the files onto a SD card & insert the SD card into the Wii.

Installing The Homebrew Channel & Bootmii
Run bannerbomb by going to the SD Card menu & choosing yes to load boot.dol/elf
This runs the Hackmii Installer from which you should install the Homebrew Channel, DVDX [optional], & Bootmii as IOS & boot2 if possible.

Making a NAND backup
Restart your Wii, if Bootmii was installed as boot2, then it will show up as soon as the Wii is turned on.
If Bootmii was only installed as an IOS, then it must be loaded by pressing home in the HBC & clicking Launch Bootmii.

Press the power button on the wii 3 times to get to the last option, then press the reset button.
[You can also navigate with a gc controller.]
Press reset to choose the first option, & then follow the directions on the screen to make your NAND backup.
[Bad blocks are no problem.]
Backup the Bootmii folder, NAND.bin, & keys.bin elsewhere & erase from the sd card. [or rename it.]
Head back to The Homebrew Channel.

Restoring the Trucha Bug
Run Trucha Bug Restorer
Press B to choose No IOS Reload.
Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
Go to Downgrade IOS15.
Press A to downgrade.
Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.
*If you get stuck on the first Trucha bug Restorer step, try to skip the 3 TBR steps completely as there is a chance it will work!

Run Trucha Bug Restorer
Choose IOS15 & press A. (Important)
Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
Choose IOS36 menu. In there use these settings:

Install IOS to slot (36)
Hash check (trucha) YES
ES_Identity YES
NAND Permissions YES

Then press A on install patched IOS36.
Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.

Run Trucha Bug Restorer
Choose IOS36 & press A.
Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
Then Choose restore IOS15.
Press A to restore.
Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.

Deleting stub IOS's
Run Any Title Deleter DB
Choose IOS36 & press A.
Go to System Titles & press A.
Select IOS222 & press A to delete.
Select IOS223 & press A to delete.
Select IOS249 & press A to delete.
Select IOS250 & press A to delete.
*If any IOS listed above is not there, check the other pages. If it's still not there, do not worry about it & move along with the guide.

Installing cIOS & Patching the System Menu IOS
Run WAD Manager 1.5
When it opens choose IOS36. (it is probably already set to that)
Press A to leave NAND emulator disabled.
Press A to open from SD slot.
Install IOS70-v6687.wad
Install IOS202-v4.wad
Install IOS222-v4.wad
Install IOS223-v4.wad
Install IOS249-v14.wad
Install IOS250-v65535.wad
Press home to exit.

Enable System Menu Hacks
[optional; recommended if Bootmii is only installed as an IOS.]
Run Preloader .30 to install preloader onto your system.
Enable desired hacks & go into the settings & make sure the system menu is set to load with IOS70.
*if getting the ”aborting mission” error, use the “preloaderv0.29-jodi.dol” located at modify\apps\preloaderv0.30r4-phpgeek first, then use this preloader to update from .29 to .30
** Priiloader rev15 is newest version
 

MrGIO

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
Italy
I don't know how to explain. I know that it is for my english. I'm following the same guide. EXACTLY
I have bootmii on IOS/boot2 and i made a nand backup.
But i had this kind of error, and i think that now i'm blocked...

Setting up the SD Card
1st download the precompiled link modify.zip by emailing [email protected]
Extract the "modify.zip" & put the files onto a SD card & insert the SD card into the Wii.

Installing The Homebrew Channel & Bootmii
Run bannerbomb by going to the SD Card menu & choosing yes to load boot.dol/elf
This runs the Hackmii Installer from which you should install the Homebrew Channel, DVDX [optional], & Bootmii as IOS & boot2 if possible.

Making a NAND backup
Restart your Wii, if Bootmii was installed as boot2, then it will show up as soon as the Wii is turned on.
If Bootmii was only installed as an IOS, then it must be loaded by pressing home in the HBC & clicking Launch Bootmii.

Press the power button on the wii 3 times to get to the last option, then press the reset button.
[You can also navigate with a gc controller.]
Press reset to choose the first option, & then follow the directions on the screen to make your NAND backup.
[Bad blocks are no problem.]
Backup the Bootmii folder, NAND.bin, & keys.bin elsewhere & erase from the sd card. [or rename it.]
Head back to The Homebrew Channel.

Restoring the Trucha Bug
Run Trucha Bug Restorer
Press B to choose No IOS Reload.
Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
Go to Downgrade IOS15.
Press A to downgrade.
Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.
*If you get stuck on the first Trucha bug Restorer step, try to skip the 3 TBR steps completely as there is a chance it will work!


Run Trucha Bug Restorer
Choose IOS15 & press A. (Important)

BUT I'M BLOCKED HERE IN THIS POINT. i have a list of numbers, with written at the beginning code dump.
Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
Choose IOS36 menu. In there use these settings:

Install IOS to slot (36)
Hash check (trucha) YES
ES_Identity YES
NAND Permissions YES

Then press A on install patched IOS36.
Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.

Run Trucha Bug Restorer
Choose IOS36 & press A.
Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
Then Choose restore IOS15.
Press A to restore.
Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.

Deleting stub IOS's
Run Any Title Deleter DB
Choose IOS36 & press A.
Go to System Titles & press A.
Select IOS222 & press A to delete.
Select IOS223 & press A to delete.
Select IOS249 & press A to delete.
Select IOS250 & press A to delete.
*If any IOS listed above is not there, check the other pages. If it's still not there, do not worry about it & move along with the guide.

Installing cIOS & Patching the System Menu IOS
Run WAD Manager 1.5
When it opens choose IOS36. (it is probably already set to that)
Press A to leave NAND emulator disabled.
Press A to open from SD slot.
Install IOS70-v6687.wad
Install IOS202-v4.wad
Install IOS222-v4.wad
Install IOS223-v4.wad
Install IOS249-v14.wad
Install IOS250-v65535.wad
Press home to exit.

Enable System Menu Hacks
[optional; recommended if Bootmii is only installed as an IOS.]
Run Preloader .30 to install preloader onto your system.
Enable desired hacks & go into the settings & make sure the system menu is set to load with IOS70.
*if getting the ”aborting mission” error, use the “preloaderv0.29-jodi.dol” located at modify\apps\preloaderv0.30r4-phpgeek first, then use this preloader to update from .29 to .30
** Priiloader rev15 is newest version
 

dai-a

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 16, 2009
Messages
351
Trophies
0
Age
28
Location
Springville Utah
Website
www.facebook.com
XP
115
Country
United States
Desconecta los memory cards del gamecube si los tienes conectado.
tongue.gif


Si necesitas ayuda nomas mandame mensaje.


Yes I speak spanish too 8)
 

bula

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
812
Trophies
0
XP
42
Country
United States
dai-a said:
Desconecta los memory cards del gamecube si los tienes conectado.
tongue.gif


Si necesitas ayuda nomas mandame mensaje.


Yes I speak spanish too 8)

I thing he speaks Italian not Spanish.
 

MrGIO

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 29, 2008
Messages
30
Trophies
0
XP
43
Country
Italy
yes it is TBR 1.1
The only problem is that now i have my IOS15 downgraded and i cannot play NSMB with GekoOS.
I didn't have GC cards plugged in, only a GC controller.

I would like only to know how to go back and restore IOS15 like before...

Yes and i speak Italian ^^ but i know spanish anyway...even if i prefer english
smile.gif
 

bula

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Messages
812
Trophies
0
XP
42
Country
United States
xflak40 said:
there are a million guides on how to use TBR

u only need to downgrade IOS15 TEMPORARILY in order to patch IOS36. After u do this, u are supposed to restore IOS16

I do not think you read his posts. He gets a code dump when he tries to patch IOS36 with TBR1.1. You may want to try a different version (not sure if will change anything) of TBR called TBR-MOD floating around, google it.

Try to downgrade again IOS15 maybe did not work first time and you need that to patch IOS36 and only after you can restore IOS15. But make sure you follow what I posted on first page (it is from one guide posted here).
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtube.com/shorts/0UnQ18ssi74?feature=share