Trucha Bug Restorer, which one?!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MrGIO, Nov 15, 2009.

Nov 15, 2009

Trucha Bug Restorer, which one?! by MrGIO at 4:51 PM (8,917 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. MrGIO
    OP

    Newcomer MrGIO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    Hi at all,
    I have a HARDmod WII 4.2 updated with SAFE UPDATER by Zektor.
    I think that i have to restore the TRUCHA BUG but i don't know which guide (and WADs) i have to follow.
    I know that the steps are always the same, but i have doubts.

    a guide says :

    Now, if i have an internet connetion can i use it or is it better to use the wad. files?
    And also, why a guide says to use IOS37?
    Which .wad i have to use?
     


  2. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Not needed.

    use DOP-IOS MOD to patch IOS36 & IOS70. Then install a cIOS if you don't already have one (I recommend rev14)

    http://www.megaupload.com/?d=AZ3OJW2T

    I'm assuming you already have the homebrew channel installed?
     
  3. MrGIO
    OP

    Newcomer MrGIO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    I did it, but i had an error with IOS70 (i think it is not so beautiful) and now dop-ios doesn't start anymore...and anyway why not?
    I tried to use WADmanager 1.5 using ios249 but my wiimote turns off.

    Yes i have HBC installed and BootMII on boot2/IOS
     
  4. MrGIO
    OP

    Newcomer MrGIO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    i think that i cannot use DOP-IOS because i have a least to follow this step :
    ***For 4.2 users, before you install a cIOS, you must remove the stubs installed over their IOS slots by 4.2 by using AnyTitle Deleter DB or AnyTitle Deleter MOD to delete IOS 222, 223, 249, and 250 USING IOS36 to do it after applying all of the patches to IOS36 with the TBR MOD. Then you may continue to install your cIOS as usual.***

    But i don't understand why i don't have to use the Trucha Bug restorer.
     
  5. TroyTheZombie

    Member TroyTheZombie GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,631
    Location:
    Calgary, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  6. bula

    Member bula GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Country:
    United States
    You need to use TBR_v1.1 for SM4.2
     
  7. MrGIO
    OP

    Newcomer MrGIO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    And after that is my wii updated for USB HD?
     
  8. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
  9. MrGIO
    OP

    Newcomer MrGIO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    that is not correct (or maybe i'm just reaaally slow to understand)... i think that i have stub versions of 249,222,223 because when i try to start wiiflow (249/222) , it gives me black screen.
    And If i try to run WAD manager under ios 249, my wiimote turns off and i cannot do anything.

    so... i don't know...

    Anyway.. thank you all for help...
     
  10. MrGIO
    OP

    Newcomer MrGIO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    Anyway i tried to use WAD manager with IOS36 (i jumped the step of AnyTitleDeleter DB).
    And was trying to install the IOS249-v14.wad when i had this error

    I know that this is a trucha bug related error....so what?
     
  11. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,674
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Here are the steps to put Trucha Bug in your IOS.

    Use Trucha Bug Restorer by WiiPower (http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=165453).
    Get those wads using NUS Downloader and put them on the root of your SD card:
    IOS15-64-v257.wad
    IOS15-64-v523.wad
    IOS36-64-v3351.wad
    IOS37-64-v3869.wad

    When it asks what IOS to reload, select IOS15. Then from the Menu select "IOS15 downgrade", follow the instructions (mainly pressing A).
    It will reload the Wii. Start again TBR. Reload again IOS15, and this time select "IOS36 downgrade". Remember that you need "Hash check (trucha)" and "ES_Identity" both on YES.
    Press A everytime it asks you to do so, then it will restart your Wii. Now you're free to use a cIOS installer.

    Enjoy.
     
  12. MrGIO
    OP

    Newcomer MrGIO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    WOW i followed exactly these steps from xzxero's guide.

    everything perfect.
    I restarted the app TBR1.1, i selected ios15 to start the app, and i pressed A... and BAM
    A list of stuff came out, something like CODE DUMP and things like that (i know i'm not really precise)

    And now i don't know what to do, i cannot continue with the app...
    I'm not so happy, i have a ios15 downgraded that i don't know how to restore as before...
     
  13. bula

    Member bula GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Country:
    United States
    Follow this CC from a guide posted here and you should be OK:


    Setting up the SD Card
    1st download the precompiled link modify.zip by emailing simplisticmod@gmail.com
    Extract the "modify.zip" & put the files onto a SD card & insert the SD card into the Wii.

    Installing The Homebrew Channel & Bootmii
    Run bannerbomb by going to the SD Card menu & choosing yes to load boot.dol/elf
    This runs the Hackmii Installer from which you should install the Homebrew Channel, DVDX [optional], & Bootmii as IOS & boot2 if possible.

    Making a NAND backup
    Restart your Wii, if Bootmii was installed as boot2, then it will show up as soon as the Wii is turned on.
    If Bootmii was only installed as an IOS, then it must be loaded by pressing home in the HBC & clicking Launch Bootmii.

    Press the power button on the wii 3 times to get to the last option, then press the reset button.
    [You can also navigate with a gc controller.]
    Press reset to choose the first option, & then follow the directions on the screen to make your NAND backup.
    [Bad blocks are no problem.]
    Backup the Bootmii folder, NAND.bin, & keys.bin elsewhere & erase from the sd card. [or rename it.]
    Head back to The Homebrew Channel.

    Restoring the Trucha Bug
    Run Trucha Bug Restorer
    Press B to choose No IOS Reload.
    Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
    Go to Downgrade IOS15.
    Press A to downgrade.
    Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.
    *If you get stuck on the first Trucha bug Restorer step, try to skip the 3 TBR steps completely as there is a chance it will work!

    Run Trucha Bug Restorer
    Choose IOS15 & press A. (Important)
    Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
    Choose IOS36 menu. In there use these settings:

    Install IOS to slot (36)
    Hash check (trucha) YES
    ES_Identity YES
    NAND Permissions YES

    Then press A on install patched IOS36.
    Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.

    Run Trucha Bug Restorer
    Choose IOS36 & press A.
    Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
    Then Choose restore IOS15.
    Press A to restore.
    Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.

    Deleting stub IOS's
    Run Any Title Deleter DB
    Choose IOS36 & press A.
    Go to System Titles & press A.
    Select IOS222 & press A to delete.
    Select IOS223 & press A to delete.
    Select IOS249 & press A to delete.
    Select IOS250 & press A to delete.
    *If any IOS listed above is not there, check the other pages. If it's still not there, do not worry about it & move along with the guide.

    Installing cIOS & Patching the System Menu IOS
    Run WAD Manager 1.5
    When it opens choose IOS36. (it is probably already set to that)
    Press A to leave NAND emulator disabled.
    Press A to open from SD slot.
    Install IOS70-v6687.wad
    Install IOS202-v4.wad
    Install IOS222-v4.wad
    Install IOS223-v4.wad
    Install IOS249-v14.wad
    Install IOS250-v65535.wad
    Press home to exit.

    Enable System Menu Hacks
    [optional; recommended if Bootmii is only installed as an IOS.]
    Run Preloader .30 to install preloader onto your system.
    Enable desired hacks & go into the settings & make sure the system menu is set to load with IOS70.
    *if getting the ”aborting mission” error, use the “preloaderv0.29-jodi.dol” located at modify\apps\preloaderv0.30r4-phpgeek first, then use this preloader to update from .29 to .30
    ** Priiloader rev15 is newest version
     
  14. MrGIO
    OP

    Newcomer MrGIO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    I don't know how to explain. I know that it is for my english. I'm following the same guide. EXACTLY
    I have bootmii on IOS/boot2 and i made a nand backup.
    But i had this kind of error, and i think that now i'm blocked...

    Setting up the SD Card
    1st download the precompiled link modify.zip by emailing simplisticmod@gmail.com
    Extract the "modify.zip" & put the files onto a SD card & insert the SD card into the Wii.

    Installing The Homebrew Channel & Bootmii
    Run bannerbomb by going to the SD Card menu & choosing yes to load boot.dol/elf
    This runs the Hackmii Installer from which you should install the Homebrew Channel, DVDX [optional], & Bootmii as IOS & boot2 if possible.

    Making a NAND backup
    Restart your Wii, if Bootmii was installed as boot2, then it will show up as soon as the Wii is turned on.
    If Bootmii was only installed as an IOS, then it must be loaded by pressing home in the HBC & clicking Launch Bootmii.

    Press the power button on the wii 3 times to get to the last option, then press the reset button.
    [You can also navigate with a gc controller.]
    Press reset to choose the first option, & then follow the directions on the screen to make your NAND backup.
    [Bad blocks are no problem.]
    Backup the Bootmii folder, NAND.bin, & keys.bin elsewhere & erase from the sd card. [or rename it.]
    Head back to The Homebrew Channel.

    Restoring the Trucha Bug
    Run Trucha Bug Restorer
    Press B to choose No IOS Reload.
    Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
    Go to Downgrade IOS15.
    Press A to downgrade.
    Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.
    *If you get stuck on the first Trucha bug Restorer step, try to skip the 3 TBR steps completely as there is a chance it will work!


    Run Trucha Bug Restorer
    Choose IOS15 & press A. (Important)

    BUT I'M BLOCKED HERE IN THIS POINT. i have a list of numbers, with written at the beginning code dump.
    Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
    Choose IOS36 menu. In there use these settings:

    Install IOS to slot (36)
    Hash check (trucha) YES
    ES_Identity YES
    NAND Permissions YES

    Then press A on install patched IOS36.
    Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.

    Run Trucha Bug Restorer
    Choose IOS36 & press A.
    Wait till it says Press 1 then press it.
    Then Choose restore IOS15.
    Press A to restore.
    Everytime it says "load IOS from SD" press A.

    Deleting stub IOS's
    Run Any Title Deleter DB
    Choose IOS36 & press A.
    Go to System Titles & press A.
    Select IOS222 & press A to delete.
    Select IOS223 & press A to delete.
    Select IOS249 & press A to delete.
    Select IOS250 & press A to delete.
    *If any IOS listed above is not there, check the other pages. If it's still not there, do not worry about it & move along with the guide.

    Installing cIOS & Patching the System Menu IOS
    Run WAD Manager 1.5
    When it opens choose IOS36. (it is probably already set to that)
    Press A to leave NAND emulator disabled.
    Press A to open from SD slot.
    Install IOS70-v6687.wad
    Install IOS202-v4.wad
    Install IOS222-v4.wad
    Install IOS223-v4.wad
    Install IOS249-v14.wad
    Install IOS250-v65535.wad
    Press home to exit.

    Enable System Menu Hacks
    [optional; recommended if Bootmii is only installed as an IOS.]
    Run Preloader .30 to install preloader onto your system.
    Enable desired hacks & go into the settings & make sure the system menu is set to load with IOS70.
    *if getting the ”aborting mission” error, use the “preloaderv0.29-jodi.dol” located at modify\apps\preloaderv0.30r4-phpgeek first, then use this preloader to update from .29 to .30
    ** Priiloader rev15 is newest version
     
  15. bula

    Member bula GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure you are using TBR v1.1 for SM4.2
     
  16. dai-a

    Member dai-a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Location:
    Springville Utah
    Country:
    United States
    Desconecta los memory cards del gamecube si los tienes conectado. [​IMG]

    Si necesitas ayuda nomas mandame mensaje.


    Yes I speak spanish too 8)
     
  17. bula

    Member bula GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Country:
    United States
    I thing he speaks Italian not Spanish.
     
  18. MrGIO
    OP

    Newcomer MrGIO Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Italy
    yes it is TBR 1.1
    The only problem is that now i have my IOS15 downgraded and i cannot play NSMB with GekoOS.
    I didn't have GC cards plugged in, only a GC controller.

    I would like only to know how to go back and restore IOS15 like before...

    Yes and i speak Italian ^^ but i know spanish anyway...even if i prefer english [​IMG]
     
  19. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    there are a million guides on how to use TBR

    u only need to downgrade IOS15 TEMPORARILY in order to patch IOS36. After u do this, u are supposed to restore IOS16
     
  20. bula

    Member bula GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    814
    Country:
    United States
    I do not think you read his posts. He gets a code dump when he tries to patch IOS36 with TBR1.1. You may want to try a different version (not sure if will change anything) of TBR called TBR-MOD floating around, google it.

    Try to downgrade again IOS15 maybe did not work first time and you need that to patch IOS36 and only after you can restore IOS15. But make sure you follow what I posted on first page (it is from one guide posted here).
     

Share This Page