Trucha Bug Restorer MOD

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by damysteryman, Oct 8, 2009.

Oct 8, 2009

Trucha Bug Restorer MOD by damysteryman at 3:31 AM (44,949 Views / 0 Likes) 69 replies

  1. damysteryman
    OP

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Hi everyone,

    I have modified WiiPower's trucha Bug Restorer so that it uses the newest IOS, in order to work on Wiis that have been updated to 4.2x. No need to compile your own cboot2 anymore!

    Here's the link:
    EDIT: New link with source!
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=7331

    You need the files:
    IOS15-64-v257.wad
    IOS15-64-v523.wad
    IOS36-64-v3351.wad
    IOS37-64-v3869.wad
    on the root of your SD Card. You can get them using NUSD.

    It works exactly the same way as the original TBR, downgrade IOS15, Install IOS36 with all patches, restore IOS15.

    Majority of credits go to WiiPower for making TBR in the first place!

    A good example on what you can use this for on an officially updated 4.2x Wii (or a virgin 4.2x once they come out):
    To install a patched IOS36 into slot 236, run AnyTitle Deleter DB mod6b under the new IOS236 to delete the stub IOSes 222, 223, 249, and 250, and then run cIOS38 rev14 installer under IOS236 to install cIOS249.

    Enjoy!
     


  2. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    Getting this, it seems amazing.

    Although I don't really need it, I keep a backup in case my Wii gets fucked up so I can restore it if I get a new one.
     
  3. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Sounds very interesting!
     
  4. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    So, I can take a virgin 4.2 system with the HBC installed and simply run this from there to install a trucha'd IOS36 (like in the previous version)?
     
  5. Dr. Clipper

    Member Dr. Clipper GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,487
    Country:
    Australia
    This is brilliant. Thank you so much. I assume it can download the IOSes just like the original does as well, right?
     
  6. damysteryman
    OP

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I'd asume so. My Wii doesn't have access to internet so I couldn't test that part.
     
  7. BBking83

    Member BBking83 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    676
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Does this only work for 4.2 or can it work for lower versions?
     
  8. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    From what I can tell it should work on any version.

    I'm gonna test this out then likely make a video on my channel for it.
     
  9. nknave

    Member nknave GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Mexico
    I think it depends on the IOS36 support on NAND on the time you want to restore IOS15, but good work on this da_letter_a.


    Maybe you can answer this.

    EDIT:I just read it again with care and It seems that it's an option to install on IOS236 but normally installs to IOS36 after all. [​IMG]

    Question: why IOS236 and not directly in IOS36 like the original TBR installs?

    Is there conflict with the Stubs over this IOS causing a black brick or something?



    Thanks.
     
  10. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    very nice, youve done it once again.
     
  11. damysteryman
    OP

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You could use install to IOS36, but I like to use IOS236. You cannot install it to IOS249's slot if there is a stub IOS249 installed, as stub IOS249's version is 65280, which is higher that IOS36's version number, which is 3351.

    So you must delete the stub IOS249 before trying to install any sort if cIOS249.

    @Zektor
    Yes, yes you can!
     
  12. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    AMAZING job! This should now be as simple as (on a virgin Wii):

    1. Run TBR Mod. Get trucha in IOS36

    2. Grab the stubs for IOS222, 223, 249 and 250 with NUSD and pack into wad

    3. Run wad manager and use those stubs to uninstall the stubbed slots.

    4. Run your cIOS installers

    [​IMG]
     
  13. nknave

    Member nknave GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Mexico
    Back to the other guy's question....


    Will this work on older Wii's that have lower version of IOS36 to downgrade their IOS15, or what IOS can you use to downgrade to IOS15, normally we choose IOS36 (nintendo, no patches) to downgrade IOS15.

    Can you use another or an older version of IOS36?

    Is IOS37 really needed on this version? I never used it on older TBR.
     
  14. damysteryman
    OP

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    You should be able to downgrade IOS15 regardless of what IOS TBR(MOD) is running under, but the versions of IOS that it installs are hard coded into TBR(MOD).

    @Zektor
    Pretty much. Although I just use ATD DB mod6b instead of Wad Manager:

    1. Run TBR Mod. Get trucha in IOS36

    2. Run ATD DB mod6b under mofified IOS36 and delete stub IOSes 222, 223, 249, 250

    3. Run your cIOS installers
     
  15. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    couldnt you just use the patched IOS36 to run anytitledeleter mod6b with IOS36 to delete the stubs?
     
  16. damysteryman
    OP

    Member damysteryman I am too busy IRL these days...

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    Antarctica
    36, 236, either way works.
     
  17. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States

    GREAT. You just saved us all a whole lot of trouble when modding virgin v4.2 systems. You are the MAN [​IMG]
     
  18. icebrg5

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    You gonna work this into your guide or keep the cboot2 method.

    This would probly be easier and require less moving the sd card back and forth from the wii to the pc to move files around.
     
  19. zektor

    Member zektor GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Messages:
    1,325
    Country:
    United States
    I'm off to "virginize" my Wii and give it a test run [​IMG] I'll let you know how I make out!
     
  20. Dr. Clipper

    Member Dr. Clipper GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,487
    Country:
    Australia
    Interestingly, I noticed that neither the IOS249 nor IOS222 installers actually care about the stubs most of the time and install right over the top. Have you tried using TBR to go directly over the top of the stubs?
     

Share This Page