Gaming Trouble playing FF7

Translucentbill

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
400
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
New York
Website
www.myspace.com
XP
190
Country
United States
Well, i installed ff7 the other day because i missed it and i had removed it from my computer not too long ago.

During the installation it asked me if i wanted to install the truemotion 2.0 codecs, which i did... The installer popped up installed and dissapeared very quickly, then the FF7 Installer was kind of... stuck (longest i waited was 10 minutes for it before i closed it).

So i exited the installer and uninstalled ff7, retried and the same thing happened, i ignored it ended the process and tried to boot up ff7, it boots up to a black screen, no music, nothing and i cant ALT + TAB out of it.

Does anyone know the problem?
 

Translucentbill

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2008
Messages
400
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
New York
Website
www.myspace.com
XP
190
Country
United States
Hmm, well i've been running the installer for about 20 minutes now and it says finishing installation and its been sitting there ever since.


I cant even move the box, i have to use task manager to close it. Although it says its still responding..

EDIT: Its been running for about, erm 4 hours now....
 

MicShadow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
465
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
232
Country
Its obviously trying to run an external process, and is waiting on it. Try finding out what it is launching

I have FFVII on PC, but i never had any problems. Are you trying to run a legit copy (do they even exist anymore) or a torrent release?
 

Shakraka

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2007
Messages
722
Trophies
0
XP
347
Country
United States
I think you'd be better off playing FF7 on an emulator such as ePSXe. It's really easy to configure if you find the right guide for it on YouTube or something and you can also download a program that lets you use Gameshark cheats along with it.
 

juggernaut911

GBAtemp Slut!
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2006
Messages
4,164
Trophies
0
Age
11
Website
google.com
XP
947
Country
United States
whoa! didn't know FF7 was on PC!
biggrin.gif


strange it doesnt give an error. try the official forums?
 

MicShadow

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2008
Messages
465
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
232
Country
Actually... I think I had a similar error once with this. Way I fixed it was End Process on the process that popped up at this stage.

Kinda hard to explain, but ill try

Keep the task manager process list open.

Run the installer.
Near the end of the installer, watch the process list
When you get the 'finalising installation' message a new process should of shown up.
Kill that process, and then see if that worked.

Otherwise, try manually installing the TrueMotion codecs
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtu.be/3YTDLHdfFSQ