Trouble cloning DVD

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by 431unknown, Mar 16, 2013.

Mar 16, 2013

Trouble cloning DVD by 431unknown at 9:21 PM (434 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. 431unknown
    OP

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    Ok here is my problem. Also sorry if this is posted in the wrong section.

    My mother passed away this past weekend and for the memorial my 5 brothers, sister and I were given a memorial DVD of pictures of her. The funeral home charges 30$ per disc and we just took the one that was offered as part of her services package. I have been put in charge of copying this DVD and it is something I have not done in a few years and am out of practice. I first tried DVD decrypter since it has never failed me but it only created a 1MB file and the disc is way bigger than that so I knew it was not going to be right. I then ggrabbeda cracked copy of DVD Fab. When I tried to clone the disc with this software it sstatesthat the file size will be 288MB which sounds about right to me since it is only pictures and a few transition videos. When I click the button to start the process it hangs for a long time and then when it finally finishes it has created a file on my hard drive that is only a few MBs. I finally decided to open the disc in explorer and drag the files on it to my desktop for shits and giggles. When I do this it states that I need another 22GB of free space. I know that there is no way that this DVD is 22+ GB in size. I am looking ssuggestionson on what to try next. We dont want to have to go back to the funeral home and shell out 30$ per DVD for 20 or so for all the members that wanted one.
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Open the DVD in windows explorer and show us the file structure?
     
  3. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have you tried Passkey? It's free (for a feature restricted version which is fine for what you want) from the DVDFab site.
     
    431unknown likes this.
  4. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Use MakeMKV to rip the DVD, then use a burning software that can burn .mkv back to DVD format.
     
  5. 431unknown
    OP

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    Here you go.

    screen 1.jpg screen 2.jpg screen 3.jpg


    I'll grab that in a little bit heading out the door to the store now.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That's.... weird. If that pattern keeps going then the DVD really does THINK it has 22GB used, according to the filesystem.

    Anybody think they fucked up the filesystem on purpose to hamper copying? That seems really unlikely for a situation like this though.
     
  7. 431unknown
    OP

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    It removed so many fake vts and other shit it astounded me. Now that thats been done do I just try again with DVD Fab?


    I thought about that and it may come to be the only solution.
     
  8. 431unknown
    OP

    Member 431unknown Greatness Awaits

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,055
    Country:
    United States
    Passkey worked I was finally able to copy the damn thing.
     

Share This Page