Transfering to new 120gb Xbox HDD

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by Harsky, Aug 12, 2008.

Aug 12, 2008
  1. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    At the moment my 20GB is okay but I heard with the new update for the 360, I'll be able to install the games to the Xbox HDD. My question is, if I buy a new 120gb HDD, can I redownload the Xbox Live game or am I better off buying a transfer cable?
     
  2. Prime

    Member Prime GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,664
    Location:
    Under your bed
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm sure you can redownload it, it isn't like you are changing Consoles so it would still notice you have downloaded said game and let you download it again.

    EDIT: Infact, reading this has got me wondering why microsoft made the transfer thingy-ma-bob if you can just redownload the stuff. I'll leave this for another 'Temper to answer.

    I'm not 100% sure.

    EDIT #2:

    Noticed this from the site i linked to:

    EDIT #3:

    You can get the cable for free
     
  3. Harsky
    OP

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What will happen to the gamesaves?
     
  4. Nottulys

    Member Nottulys GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    HDCA
    Country:
    United States
    I recently got one of those 60gb Xbox 360s, and I cant even play the Games my bro just downloaded on there...it pisses me off, cuz my 20gb never had no problems. Like, he brought his mem card and Gamertag over, and redownloaded some and copied some over its just that Every other account cant access the Games. Any Help?
     
  5. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    If you buy a 120GB HDD, it comes with a cable. It switches everything over, so its like nothing ever happened to your box.
     
  6. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    Pretty sure it would let you download again.
     
  7. science

    Member science science rules

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    3,695
    Country:
    Canada
    OK, just so you know, you can redownload your software but it gets deleted as soon as you turn off the console. If you transfer it, you won't have this problem
     
  8. IOwnAndPwnU

    Member IOwnAndPwnU GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Country:
    Canada
    Transfer is the way to G-O-!
     

Share This Page