1. EmulateLife

    OP EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,981
    Country:
    United States
    I have a PS2 Slim with Free McBoot but I'm starting to try and get PS2 games on my PS3 with multiman. I was wondering if I could get the saves off PS2 and transfer them to PS3 using Free Mcboot? Would the format need to be changed?
     
  2. lucks

    lucks GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    411
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, you can, there is a tuto for the backward compatible ps3 somewhere

    You will need to inject your saves to the virtual memory card on ps3
     
  3. EmulateLife

    OP EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,981
    Country:
    United States
    Oh I don't have a backwards compatible PS3 it's a Slim. Would it still work?
     
  4. lucks

    lucks GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    411
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes, every game should have its own vmem in the same folder of the iso or classic.

    I don t remember if the virtual memory of the ps3 (the one in your xmb) is supported, if yes, you can just inject all your saves there
     
  5. EmulateLife

    OP EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,981
    Country:
    United States
    Can you (or someone) explain how to export from Free McBoot on PS2 to PS3? Every google search I find refers to getting PS1 saves off PS2/Free MCBoot for some reason and not PS2.
     
  6. lucks

    lucks GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    411
    Country:
    Canada
    You need that cheat app for ps2 to export your saves

    I don t remember the name

    EDIT:
    ok found Lol

    Action replay max
    It has a function to export your saves.
    You then use a pc app to convert them to .ps2 or something similar.

    I did this years ago so i don t remember all the details (on slim)
     
    Last edited by lucks, Oct 5, 2018
    EmulateLife likes this.
  7. EmulateLife

    OP EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,981
    Country:
    United States
    Did you have to buy AR Max like retail?
     
  8. KiiWii

    KiiWii Reporter
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,570
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    [​IMG]
     
  9. lucks

    lucks GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    411
    Country:
    Canada
    No
     
  10. EmulateLife

    OP EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,981
    Country:
    United States
    Good god they're like $100 on Ebay.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    So I just downloaded AR Max and it's bin and cue so I have to burn it to a cd?
     
    KiiWii likes this.
  11. lucks

    lucks GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    411
    Country:
    Canada
    Ar max is like any other game, no extra steps
     
    EmulateLife likes this.
  12. EmulateLife

    OP EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,981
    Country:
    United States

    Ah thanks man, really appreciate help.

    I just need to figure out what program to convert it on PC.

    It works on OPL but when I get to my devices choose primary device I click on memory card 1 and it just goes back. I know I might not be able to get help with this.
     
    Last edited Oct 5, 2018
  13. EmulateLife

    OP EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,981
    Country:
    United States
    Well now I went and did it. Couldn't get max to load my memory card so I tried formatting one of them thinking it didn't have any important saves, I had forgot my Free McBoot was on there. So now I have an unhacked PS2 with no free mcboot. What do I do now?
     
  14. lucks

    lucks GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    411
    Country:
    Canada
    Mymc

    ps2 mc image utility

    Try without opl
     
  15. lucks

    lucks GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2015
    Messages:
    411
    Country:
    Canada
    Oh...you need swap magic or an other hacked ps2 or the mc to usb adapter.
     
  16. EmulateLife

    OP EmulateLife GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2016
    Messages:
    3,981
    Country:
    United States
    Last edited Oct 5, 2018
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Transfer, saves,