Transfer files from PC to DS?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Skyline969, Jun 17, 2009.

Jun 17, 2009
  1. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm getting sick of taking out my SD Micro card, transferring files over, and plugging it back into my DS. It's easy to do, but it's a hassle nonetheless. Is there a homebrew application out there that would allow me to transfer files from my PC (via a server program or something I'm guessing) to my DS (which would have a client program, I assume)? I know it would have to be Wi-Fi and not bluetooth or anything of the sort, as the DS doesn't have that feature. However, would it not be a quicker transfer rate if I were to connect to my PC via its gateway address instead of its external IP? I dunno, your thoughts?

    I'd appreciate any (sensible) input on this. [​IMG]

    EDIT: I also know it'd be a lot slower than plugging in my SD card via USB, but I don't plan on transferring DS games through this method. I'm thinking more along the lines of homebrew and whatnot, smaller files that can be transferred easily and quickly.
     
  2. BoxShot

    Member BoxShot Chiyo-chan :3

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,447
    Location:
    Middle of the ocean.
    Country:
    United States
    Just to tell you the ds has the downloading speed of 5kb/sec as I have seen from akaio downloading loaders or cheats. Now I leave your answer to someone else because I don't know.
     
  3. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    There's no way at all to increase this speed, Box? Hm, that'd be a problem when it comes to larger homebrew apps, but the standard sized ones would be transferred in an acceptable time.
     
  4. StuMx

    Newcomer StuMx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Location:
    El DeFectuoso
    Country:
    Mexico
    There's a homebrew called "dsftp", with it you can transfer files from your pc to your nds using an ftp server trough a wifi conection.
     
  5. ChuckMcB

    Member ChuckMcB GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to add the DSLinux guys have got speeds up to 100kb/sec, all other wifi homebrew, as BoxShot says, is **very** slow.
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    With DSFTP, I get speeds of about 30 kb/s on average, but for some reason DSFTP tends to be very damaging to my SD card so I don't use it much.

    The other main option is DSLinux, as ChuckMcB stated. Best if you have slot-2 RAM.
     
  7. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    I have an EZ-Flash 3-in-1... will that work?
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    If you have the older version, then probably yes. If you have the newer "3in1 Plus" then I'm not sure, as I don't think code to access it was ever added to DSLinux. I could be wrong though.
     
  9. Skyline969
    OP

    Member Skyline969 MENUdo Afficionado

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,206
    Location:
    Saskatchewan
    Country:
    Canada
    Nah, it's not a plus, I made sure of that myself.
     
  10. michelkok1

    Newcomer michelkok1 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    84
    Location:
    Kampen
    Country:
    Netherlands
    couldnt ds linux run on a r4??
     
  11. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    DSLinux can run from most slot-1 devices, yes. You just won't be able to do too much unless you have slot-2 RAM.
     

Share This Page