Totally black screen at startup

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Hezkore, Jun 5, 2010.

Jun 5, 2010
  1. Hezkore
    OP

    Member Hezkore GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Sweden
    Right so my Wii is not working at all, I start it like I do every day and it's just black... the TV doesn't even flicker and no WiiMotes can connect either.
    Last time I used my Wii I just played my normal games I play every day (Not sure which one but I haven't gotten any new games in a long time)
    I get complete darkness on the TV... I've tried holding down the reset button to get into PriiLoader but that doesn't seem to work and I'm not quite sure what to do or what "guide" to follow as they're all different to my problem...
    like the "Screen goes to black after Health Screen" guide, I don't even get a Health Screen! [​IMG]
    I've randomly tested starting with and without a DVD/MMC card with no change at all, always stays completely dark.
    So... any idea on what the problem might be or what to do? :/
     
  2. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    What system Menu are you on ? Use Savemiifrii if your lower then 4.2.
     
  3. Hezkore
    OP

    Member Hezkore GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'm on 4.1, don't I need any files or anything to get this working? :wtf:
    /me beings to open his GC controller
     
  4. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Can you turn on the wii using the wiimote power button?
     
  5. Hezkore
    OP

    Member Hezkore GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Sweden
    Yep, but the Wiimotes don't stay connected to the Wii...
    Also, I've noticed that my GC controller has special screws on it (official GC controller) that I can't get open x_X
     
  6. Hezkore
    OP

    Member Hezkore GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Sweden
    Were you able to install bootmii into boot2?: Yes
    Did you ever make a nand backup?: Yes
    When did you buy your wii?: When it was just released
    What was the last thing you did to it?: Just playing games and then shut it down and went to bed x3
    Could anyone else have fucked with it without you knowing?: No... Well I guess a ninja could have gotten into my apartment while I was sleeping and f-ed up my Wii [​IMG]
     
  7. Hezkore
    OP

    Member Hezkore GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'm afraid I don't have access to another Wii.
    I have NEVER used BootMii except for when following a SoftMod guide ages ago so I have no idea how it works, I can tell you this though... I have no BootMii files whatsoever on my SD card, no boot.ini either. :/
     
  8. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    If you have bootmii installed as boot2 get the bootmii files from here.Now if bootmii doesnt show up when you boot your wii then you could try savemiifrii but if that doesnt work then i believe your bricked.

    SAVEMIIFRII
    Try pressing the 4 control pad buttons down at the same time - third party controller

    Open up your controller and press all four buttons down - Official GC controller.

    If a 4.1 icon shows up, put SUPER MARIO GALAXY 2 retail disc into your wii and let it update.
     
  9. Hezkore
    OP

    Member Hezkore GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Country:
    Sweden
    Doesn't seem to work AT ALL. :/
    I'll try to get a hold of a third party GC controller or something, cause the one I have is impossible to open. :S

    "put SUPER MARIO GALAXY 2 retail disc into your wii" I don't have SMG2, isn't there any other game that would work?
     
  10. Riley

    Member Riley GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,123
    Location:
    BC Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I think the only ones are Endless ocean 2 and SMG2 .
     
  11. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
    Also note that if you didn't mess with that wii lately (installing / uninstalling ios, dangerous stuff) there's a big possibility that it's caused by the bluetooth module (broken, misplaced or so on)
     
  12. w123300tdt

    Newcomer w123300tdt Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I would agree with this, does the wii-gate blinker by startup?
     
  13. muck chucker

    Member muck chucker GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    161
    Country:
    United States
    If you ain't touched the wii and the wiimotes not sycning I'm going for a broken bluetooth module.
     
  14. techboy

    Member techboy GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Those modules either work or don't work. I've never seen a partially-failed one. If he can turn the wii on using the remote, the module likely isn't dead.
     

Share This Page