Total noob looking for help

Discussion in '3DS - ROM Hacking, Translations and Utilities' started by Viktor Eriksson, Jul 3, 2016.

1. Viktor Eriksson
    OP

Viktor Eriksson Member

Newcomer
    Jul 2, 2016
    Hi!

Im a total noob at this and want to know where to start.

My goal is to be able to randomize pokemon X/Y and ORAS, but I dont know where to start.
    Have been looking around internet and have found out that i need to do a romhack which look to be easiest done with homebrew and i think it was HANS.

My 3DSXL is on firmware 7.2.0-10E and I can make an Emunand from that. Can start homebrew with cubic ninja. But if I use cubic ninja I will have to change cart and Im not sure if that work with homebrew up. Also if you recommend me to upgrade Sysnand from 7.2 to 9.2 and if you recommend to upgrade Emunand to latest firmware.

Basicly my question is, where do I start and I wouldnt like to customice sysnand if not needed. Thinking about trying to put a homebrew .cia on sysnand tho.

2. OldGlass

OldGlass GBAtemp Regular

Feb 9, 2016
    United States
    just use browserhax as an entry-point to homebrew

3. Viktor Eriksson
    OP

Viktor Eriksson Member

Newcomer
    Jul 2, 2016
    Tried that. But do I have to put homebrew on sysnand then or is it enough to have it on sd card?

4. OldGlass

OldGlass GBAtemp Regular

Feb 9, 2016
    United States
    just place the Homebrew kit on the SD card, and use the browserhax QR code.

5. ihaveamac

ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru

Apr 20, 2015
    United States
    Tigard, OR
    their console is on 7.2.0-10. they can't use browserhax right now.

@Viktor Eriksson you should update emunand to the latest version, and preferably sysnand to 9.2.0-20. then you won't need to use cubic ninja. with emunand you can keep using CIAs and whatnot, even on the latest firmware. as it stands it's probably going to be hard to use any kind of romhacks.

https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/9.2.0-Update-(rxTools-3.0)

6. OldGlass