Homebrew [TOOL] .nds NO-INTRO roms to DSiWARE

fwannmacher

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
179
Country
Brazil
Hello everyone,

I have created a simple linux tool to convert .nds NO-INTRO roms to the DSiWARE format used by HiyaCFW. I did it because downloading the DSiWARE to my 3DS and copying it to my DSi was really boring :-P

The usage is very simple:
./convert_to_dsiware.bash ".nds file name"

For those who want to run this tool on Windows, just follow this instructions to setup bash in your system: https://www.lifewire.com/how-to-run-the-bash-command-line-in-windows-10-4072207

The tool can be found in my Github https://github.com/fwannmacher/nds2dsiware

For the roms... well you can search for NO-INTRO DSi DLC in the well known 3DS iso site.

Enjoy!

Windows version thanks to @redunka attached below.
 

Attachments

  • nds2dsiware4win_v2.zip
    3.3 MB · Views: 319
Last edited by fwannmacher,

Flame

Me > You
Global Moderator
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
5,940
Trophies
0
XP
10,584
but im having a problem every time i copy to the content to my sd card and then put it in the DSi. the content just disappears.

its like the dsi knows that ive copied something which i shouldnt have copied?


@fwannmacher i think it cause it doesn't create the title.tmd
 
Last edited by Flame,
  • Like
Reactions: MrMcTiller

fwannmacher

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
179
Country
Brazil
but im having a problem every time i copy to the content to my sd card and then put it in the DSi. the content just disappears.

its like the dsi knows that ive copied something which i shouldnt have copied?


@fwannmacher i think it cause it doesn't create the title.tmd

It should create the tmd. I'll check.

But, maybe, you have to change the permissions of the maketmd binary.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

One thing I forgot to mention: a screen saying that the save is corrupt will appear in the first time the game is launched.
 

redunka

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
394
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
1,583
Country
Russia
Neat! :)
Would it be possible to also generate a banner.sav for games that use it?
By the way, you don't really have to make a fat12 image for saves, a zerofilled file of proper size should be enough.
 

fwannmacher

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
179
Country
Brazil
Neat! :)
Would it be possible to also generate a banner.sav for games that use it?
By the way, you don't really have to make a fat12 image for saves, a zerofilled file of proper size should be enough.
I tried doing it with a zero filled file and it hasn't worked for me.

Could you give me the name of a game that needs the banner.sav?
 

redunka

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
394
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
1,583
Country
Russia
I tried doing it with a zero filled file and it hasn't worked for me.

Could you give me the name of a game that needs the banner.sav?
Brain Age Express Sudoku or Zenonia use banner.sav, some other games too.
You may already know, the size of banner.sav is always 0x4000 and whether it's used or not is determined by bit2 of 0x1BF.
XNPvo6I.jpg
The zerofilled file actually should've worked as long as the size is correct. :unsure:
When the game gives you that error about corrup save, it means that it didn't recognize the save as correct either way.
I remember that I was able to make correct fat12 images that games accepted without errors with WinImage, default settings, but cluster size had to be 512 bytes.
 

Flame

Me > You
Global Moderator
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 15, 2008
Messages
5,940
Trophies
0
XP
10,584
It should create the tmd. I'll check.

But, maybe, you have to change the permissions of the maketmd binary.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

One thing I forgot to mention: a screen saying that the save is corrupt will appear in the first time the game is launched.

im using ubuntu 16.04

that why i was having the problem missing some stuff
 
Last edited by Flame,

fwannmacher

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
179
Country
Brazil
i


im using ubuntu 16.04

that why i was having the problem missing some stuff
So, it's working now?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Brain Age Express Sudoku or Zenonia use banner.sav, some other games too.
You may already know, the size of banner.sav is always 0x4000 and whether it's used or not is determined by bit2 of 0x1BF.
XNPvo6I.jpg
The zerofilled file actually should've worked as long as the size is correct. :unsure:
When the game gives you that error about corrup save, it means that it didn't recognize the save as correct either way.
I remember that I was able to make correct fat12 images that games accepted without errors with WinImage, default settings, but cluster size had to be 512 bytes.
I'll take a look on banner.save and update the script ;-)
 

redunka

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
394
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
1,583
Country
Russia
What if you try this for creating save files?
Code:
mkfs.msdos -v -F 12 -s 1 -D 0 -r 224 public.sav
Do games still complain that save is corrupt with this?

P.S. There's actually another save type out there, private.sav, but I don't know if it'd be worth adding.
It's used almost exclusively by system titles, the only non-system title that uses it is web browser, I think?
Anyways, the size for it is stored in ROM right next to public.sav's size, at 0x23C.
 
Last edited by redunka,
  • Like
Reactions: fwannmacher

fwannmacher

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 23, 2016
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Age
33
XP
179
Country
Brazil
What if you try this for creating save files?
Code:
mkfs.msdos -v -F 12 -s 1 -D 0 -r 224 public.sav
Do games still complain that save is corrupt with this?

P.S. There's actually another save type out there, private.sav, but I don't know if it'd be worth adding.
It's used almost exclusively by system titles, the only non-system title that uses it is web browser, I think?
Anyways, the size for it is stored in ROM right next to public.sav's size, at 0x23C.
I get the save file size from the rom. The problem is the minimum file size that the mkfs accepts. And if I can remember it is 35KB. That way I have to truncate the file for small saves.

Another thing is that the game usually creates a file inside the fat12 filesystem. So it will always alert the corruption because that file doesn't exist.
 

redunka

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
394
Trophies
1
Age
27
XP
1,583
Country
Russia
I get the save file size from the rom. The problem is the minimum file size that the mkfs accepts. And if I can remember it is 35KB. That way I have to truncate the file for small saves.

Another thing is that the game usually creates a file inside the fat12 filesystem. So it will always alert the corruption because that file doesn't exist.
Yeah, I understand about size, I mean using this command before truncating.
When mkfs formats large file to fat12, it may set some values incorrect for that format.
This example in my previous post sets sectors per cluster to 512, root directory entries to 224 and drive number to 0.
I tested save file formatted with these parameters, and the game didn't give me usual corruption error.
But I'd still like to confirm if it works for others too. :P
 

Site & Scene News

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Flame @ Flame:
    shoutbox 4lyfe
  • AsPika2219 @ AsPika2219:
    Waiting for Super Mario movie 2022 with Chris Pratt as MARIO, Anya Taylor-Joy as PEACH, Charlie Day as LUIGI, Keegan-Michael Key as TOAD, Seth Rogan as DONKEY KONG and Jack Black as villain BOWSER.
  • lemonmaster @ lemonmaster:
    super m ario
  • Scott_pilgrim @ Scott_pilgrim:
    why is key toad
  • Scott_pilgrim @ Scott_pilgrim:
    key when mario enters the wrong castle: GET OUT
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    The cast is wild
  • Flame @ Flame:
    because
    toad is key
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i was a bit mad when i noticed the shoutbox was gone, but this is fine too. i'm old don't like change lol.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    just wish they didn't lump all the retro console threads into one sub category

    .
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    My bell notification said Flame mentioned me in chit chat
  • Flame @ Flame:
    bell notification is wise
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    bell notification is a bitch
  • Scott_pilgrim @ Scott_pilgrim:
    two types of people
  • CeeDee @ CeeDee:
    tag yourself I'm bell notification is wise
  • Scott_pilgrim @ Scott_pilgrim:
    ngl i wish chat had an option to disable pfps
  • CeeDee @ CeeDee:
    I'm sorry is mine that bad
  • Memoir @ Memoir:
    Oh, now this is weeeeird. The shitbox was one thing, but now there's THIS!? EOFtemp when
  • XAIXER @ XAIXER:
    I like yours
  • DJPlace @ DJPlace:
    there is an EOF chat
  • Memoir @ Memoir:
    Nono.. Not an EOFchat.. When are we rebranding?
  • Memoir @ Memoir:
    I can have purple font!?!?! LET'S GO
    +1
  • CeeDee @ CeeDee:
    wow how damn cool
    +1
  • WiiHomebrew+Snes @ WiiHomebrew+Snes:
    Fantastic! and Fontastic!
    WiiHomebrew+Snes @ WiiHomebrew+Snes: Fantastic! and Fontastic!