1. lucas millington

    OP lucas millington GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    hello i was using tinfoil fine yesterday but after going on the eshop i cant get anything to work and tinfoil wont work either, is there a fix for this?
    everytime i start the app it says "could not start the software.
    please try again from the home menu"
     
    Last edited by lucas millington, Jan 19, 2020
  2. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    628
    Country:
    United States
    your question is like going to a mechanic and saying my car wont turn on? You need to give more info for anyone to be able to help you
     
  3. lucas millington

    OP lucas millington GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    ok everytime i start the app it says "could not start the software.
    please try again from the home menu"
     
  4. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    628
    Country:
    United States
    what cfw are you using? what firmware are you on?
     
  5. lucas millington

    OP lucas millington GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    the latest one 10.2 atmosphere

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    i tried reinstalling tinfoil with all its files but it just makes atmosphere crash so i dont get it
     
  6. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    628
    Country:
    United States
     
  7. lucas millington

    OP lucas millington GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    pretty sure i am, how am i supposed to know?
     
  8. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    628
    Country:
    United States
  9. lucas millington

    OP lucas millington GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
  10. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    628
    Country:
    United States
    reinstall atmosphere and when you add tinfoil delete the atmosphere file it comes with
     
  11. lucas millington

    OP lucas millington GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    i tried it and it corrupted everything in my sd card, i really hate this tinfoil app
     
    Rahkeesh likes this.
  12. Skirlez

    Skirlez GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Messages:
    239
    Country:
    Israel
    This isn't Tinfoil's fault, you've done something wrong.

    First, if your SD Card is on exFAT, (probably why the corruption happened) format to FAT32.
    If it was already FAT32 or not, do this:
    1. Delete your current Atmosphere folder
    2. Put the sigpatches on your SD Card https://gbatemp.net/threads/i-heard-that-you-guys-need-some-sweet-patches-for-atmosphere.521164/
    3. In the Tinfoil zip only extract the Switch folder
    4. Launch Tinfoil via holding R on a game/fowarder, NOT through album.
     
  13. lucas millington

    OP lucas millington GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    my sd card was never fat 32 it was always exfat, how am i supposed to launch tinfoil through the home menu when the app does not appear until i go to album and click on it, also what do you mean press r on a game?
     
    Last edited by lucas millington, Jan 20, 2020
  14. Skirlez

    Skirlez GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Messages:
    239
    Country:
    Israel
    1. Format the card to FAT32. exFAT is known to cause corruptions.
    2. You're supposed to launch Tinfoil by holding R on a game or by using a fowarder, not clicking on album.
     
  15. lucas millington

    OP lucas millington GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    ok but isnt there a limit to how big the games are on fat 32? how should i get around that
     
  16. Skirlez

    Skirlez GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Messages:
    239
    Country:
    Israel
    Oh, just USB Install the game with NUT.
    It's in the downloads section of Tinfoil.io, read it's instructions carefully.
     
  17. lucas millington

    OP lucas millington GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    ok i did it and i can get into tinfoil, but the games i installed on tinfoil from before still dont work, what do i do to make them work or should i just reinstall them all?, also the home menu tinfoil app doesent work either
     
  18. arianadark

    arianadark GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2016
    Messages:
    628
    Country:
    United States
    reinstall them
     
  19. lucas millington

    OP lucas millington GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    ok so for some reason i cant get the usb option to work i installed the drivers with zadig but it says disconnected on nut still
     
  20. Skirlez

    Skirlez GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2018
    Messages:
    239
    Country:
    Israel
    Are you in Tinfoil while nut is open?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - tinfoil, either, games