This would be friggin' amazing!

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by R4Liam, Dec 5, 2011.

Dec 5, 2011
  1. R4Liam
    OP

    Member R4Liam Artsy Dude

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2009
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can someone make a DS homebrew verison of this Flash game. Think about it, it's perfectly made for a DS!

    http://www.digyourowngrave.com/hello-worlds/
     
  2. bradzx

    Member bradzx x-Darkie-x

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,936
    Location:
    Ponyville
    Country:
    United States
    Wow...not bad for this game.
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. LeRodeur

    Member LeRodeur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    France
    Easily coded but it would need to copy all the worlds or make new, if you really want it on ds i can code but you will have to make all the levels. Though i'd prefer to work on my current project
     
  4. Schmendrick

    Newcomer Schmendrick Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's a nice little game, but I don't think it'd work that well on DS. I was rather excited about the possibility when there were two worlds on the screen at once, since that would be perfect for the device. However, in later stages there's 3 and even 4 different worlds simultaneously, which just wouldn't work on the DS' tiny screen. I'm afraid you'd need a resolution at least twice that of the DS to be able to play this game properly.
     
  5. wasim

    Member wasim ♫ Music addict ♫

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    907
    Location:
    Calicut
    Country:
    India
    Nice game......... hipe someone will do it. Maybe we can expect this for the homebrew bounty. :P

    What are you working on ATM ?

    As if SMB shows the whole level on the screen.
     
  6. Schmendrick

    Newcomer Schmendrick Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No, it doesn't; but SMB is more action-oriented than Hello Worlds. SMB is about reflexes, where HW is about planning your way around the level. Dividing the screen into 4 wouldn't leave you with much screen space for each world, so you'd need some way to work around this.
    Downscaling the graphics would bring you a long way. But I do think that seeing the entire level in one screen is a major part of this game, and as the graphics are already fairly small (and pixel based), downscaling wouldn't leave you with anything recognizable.
    Another option is to only use either screen for up to 2 worlds each. Though it would mess with your aspect ratio, I think this might work.

    Anyway, I didn't mean to say it's impossible or to discourage anyone from trying, my only point was that it's not as easy as it might look at first, and that you will have to compromise in some way or other.
     
  7. LeRodeur

    Member LeRodeur GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    162
    Country:
    France
    Well always on the same project, on the diablo2 remake, though i don't have much time those days i should release (well better say i hope) a new version for Christmas
     

Share This Page