Hacking This ERROR message is getting really annoying

dlxowhd

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
382
Trophies
0
XP
96
Country
United States


hmm how come youtube is not working.. here is the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hBZELtmpsLc&fmt=18

most games work fine on gamma, but there are couple of games that give me this stupid ass error message.
i know they are not bad iso or bad burn because they work fine on modchip'ed wii.
so what could be causing this problem? anyone seen anything like it?

this is all i have installed on my wii:
gamma with the cios it came with (cios36 v7) and ios 51 for shop channel..
that's pretty much it... do i need any other cios/ios?
 

wolffangalchemist

This is bat country!
Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,518
Trophies
1
Age
32
Location
middleofnowhere, AL
XP
1,327
Country
United States
dlxowhd said:
i know they are not bad iso or bad burn because they work fine on modchip'ed wii.
just because a mod chip likes certain media doesn't mean a soft mod will or the other way around.
I'm sure when i get my mod chip in the mail I'll have some games i need to re burn and such.
 

dlxowhd

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
382
Trophies
0
XP
96
Country
United States
well, i burned them on the same media, with the same method as all other backup i've burned, so they should have no problems... i also burned them several times at different speeds.
 

dlxowhd

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
382
Trophies
0
XP
96
Country
United States
this is the exact message:

"An error has occurred.
Press the Eject Button, remove the
Game Disc, and turn the power off.
Please read the Wii Operations Manual
for more information."
 

sonknuck23

Mighty Switch Force >
Member
Joined
Apr 25, 2008
Messages
849
Trophies
0
Age
31
Location
Montreal, Quebec
XP
425
Country
Canada
Strange, I only seem to get that error when I use bad media. (Most of my Memorex discs do that.) So far I've been good with Verbatim, and like, RCA and Sony even. Memorex and TDK seem to suck with me for some reason. . .
 

Nuke85

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2007
Messages
155
Trophies
0
XP
112
Country
United States
Only reason why I could think you would get that message is bad burn / bad media..I had this problem with animal crossing, reburned and fixed..
 

Slimmmmmm

GBAtemp MoNkEeE
Member
Joined
Nov 1, 2007
Messages
1,770
Trophies
0
Location
the land of lol
XP
528
Country
dlxowhd said:
this is the exact message:

"An error has occurred.
Press the Eject Button, remove the
Game Disc, and turn the power off.
Please read the Wii Operations Manual
for more information."

This is an ancient message from the days of GameCube, it means that the GameCube/Wii is having problems reading the disc.

I could write out over 100 reasons why this could be both software or hardware. My point is this is a very unspecfic generic error message and you info on this is a little vague.
You need to find what exact games give the error and what ones don't then do a million things EGCheck the quality of the burn, maybe reburn, try different media, clean the lens, replace the lens, get a new drive, get a different cIOS, update, downgrade, demodulate?
tongue.gif
, put horizontal, vertical use a stand, a fan, get a new drive bored....
Point is you will get one of the 100 answers from each person that posts guessing what this could be, imo you would be quicker just systematically going through everything yourself, or you could do the same but wait for people to just keep suggesting one thing at a time.


Hope you get sorted, try to narrow it down as much as you can and if someonje suggests something you know ain't true, tell them you tried that.

Could be something really simple, so check the quickest things first, scratches you can quickly look. Position horizontal, vertical a few seconds to check etc etc. Before doing this "waste" a dvd their cheap by reburning a game that you know doesn't work and use settings you normally wouldn't so slower or faster.
 

anden1022

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
29
Trophies
0
XP
9
Country
I keep getting that error too. Only a few games work, I think i have a bad burn and media. I burned super paper mario several times at different speeds but when i borrowed my sisters dvd burner i at least got the image on how to hold the controller then it showed the error message.
 

ausdamn

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 29, 2008
Messages
29
Trophies
0
XP
50
Country
learnt the hard way myself.. any games giving you grief.. burn at 2x speed in imgburn.. has always fixed problems on all my isos...
 

bigianp

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Sep 28, 2008
Messages
27
Trophies
0
XP
68
Country
its mainly down to the media you are using. Ive had that message but since I've been using Memorex 16x burning at Max speed (yes max 2x doesnt make a difference) I've not had a bad burn yet. touch wood.
 

mhadf

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 14, 2008
Messages
61
Trophies
0
XP
23
Country
United States
I used to get that on some ASDA branded stuff.... switched to Memorex -r at 4x and no probs since.

Have you tried from Backup launcher Gamma in HBC? do Launch game instead of rebooter and it should work.
 

smash_brew

I may or may not have fallen
Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2008
Messages
708
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
118
Country
United States
Are you sure you installed the cIOS36 Rev7. This was a common error using cIOS36 rev6 and the beta launcher. Try reinstalling cIOS36 rev 7. If that doesn't work then it sounds like a burn/ media issue
 

bugaveli

Banned!
Banned
Joined
Dec 7, 2008
Messages
664
Trophies
0
Location
In a remote place
XP
35
Country
United States
YES YOU ARE THE ONLY ONE!!!!! Nobody else has ever had that problem before! You can tell when you type that insto the search button and it comes up..................... oops, youre not the only one imagine that.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    AncientBoi @ AncientBoi: And I have a New battery coming for it tomorrow