Hacking There will be no hack for the Nintendo 3DS.

Status
Not open for further replies.

NipponRyan97

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Location
New York
XP
55
Country
United States
The coding is too in-depth, the region lock breaks any way of making a 3DS flashcart, there is no "scene", no one has ever tried to make a hack, Kid Icarus Uprising didn't have an exploit, a hypervisor prevents this as well, you can be automatically updated. And there's no NAND dumps available. This is why its hopeless! Do any of you think a hack will be possible this year, and how and why? I think it'll never happen.

Also, what about the "supposed" hacks for the console, and lack of past Nintendo console hacking teams. And that you have to dump RAM. No, Nintendo won this time! No hack or progress in a year.
 

lokomelo

Edson Arantes do Nascimento
Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
2,122
Trophies
2
Age
36
Location
São Paulo
Website
3ds-style.blogspot.com.br
XP
2,967
Country
Brazil
There will be a hack, but we just don't know in what format (nothing ensures that flashcards will be the best method), and we don't know when.
And yes, I am speculating, just like NipponRyan97 are.
 

EnigmaBlade

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
176
Trophies
0
Location
Australia
XP
75
Country
I think it will happen EVENTUALLY. Although, I doubt anything huge will develop for quite a while yet, sadly. Nothing is hack proof, so only time can tell.
 

NipponRyan97

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Location
New York
XP
55
Country
United States
I'm not answering simply because I'm getting bored of this sorta threads... It's getting really annoying...
Reported, I'll see what the mods think. =S
I'm just stating an opinion. Not trying to flame or start anything. Every other thread says things that don't really make sense. It's time we actually get something. Not even an exploit was found. All I wanted to do is play KH3D on my American Nintendo 3DS! :(
 

Snailface

My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing
Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
4,324
Trophies
1
Age
38
Location
Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
XP
2,221
The coding is too in-depth, the region lock breaks any way of making a 3DS flashcart, there is no "scene", no one has ever tried to make a hack, Kid Icarus Uprising didn't have an exploit, a hypervisor prevents this as well, you can be automatically updated. And there's no NAND dumps available. This is why its hopeless! Do any of you think a hack will be possible this year, and how and why? I think it'll never happen.
A lot of untruths here.

Just relax and wait like the rest of us. There's plenty of hacked systems to tide you over in the meantime.
 

NipponRyan97

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Location
New York
XP
55
Country
United States
It's not fair that I have to buy the same console twice, just in different regions to play my games! Importing never caused a hack or piracy ever! I want to play KH3D!


 

EnigmaBlade

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 19, 2010
Messages
176
Trophies
0
Location
Australia
XP
75
Country
Well KH will get a localization anyway, so it doesn't bother me too much. However, finding a way to remove that annoying region locking would be a dream come true. Absolutely unnecessary addition Nintendo.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
29,429
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
27,431
Country
Poland
The coding is too in-depth, the region lock breaks any way of making a 3DS flashcart, there is no "scene", no one has ever tried to make a hack, Kid Icarus Uprising didn't have an exploit, a hypervisor prevents this as well, you can be automatically updated. And there's no NAND dumps available. This is why its hopeless! Do any of you think a hack will be possible this year, and how and why? I think it'll never happen.

Also, what about the "supposed" hacks for the console, and lack of past Nintendo console hacking teams. And that you have to dump RAM. No, Nintendo won this time! No hack or progress in a year.
You have no idea what you're talking about. RAM is being actively dumped and scanned for exploits on a daily basis, most notably by Neimod who actually built a whole framework dedicated specifically for that purpose.

Thread reported for closing.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

NipponRyan97

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 29, 2012
Messages
20
Trophies
0
Location
New York
XP
55
Country
United States
The coding is too in-depth, the region lock breaks any way of making a 3DS flashcart, there is no "scene", no one has ever tried to make a hack, Kid Icarus Uprising didn't have an exploit, a hypervisor prevents this as well, you can be automatically updated. And there's no NAND dumps available. This is why its hopeless! Do any of you think a hack will be possible this year, and how and why? I think it'll never happen.

Also, what about the "supposed" hacks for the console, and lack of past Nintendo console hacking teams. And that you have to dump RAM. No, Nintendo won this time! No hack or progress in a year.
You have no idea what you're talking about.

Thread reported for closing.
If I have no idea what I'm talking about, why isn't the 3DS hacked yet, or at least the region lock and its coding? The new iPad was hacked in 4 hours and that has better security than the 3DS.
 

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
29,429
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
27,431
Country
Poland
The coding is too in-depth, the region lock breaks any way of making a 3DS flashcart, there is no "scene", no one has ever tried to make a hack, Kid Icarus Uprising didn't have an exploit, a hypervisor prevents this as well, you can be automatically updated. And there's no NAND dumps available. This is why its hopeless! Do any of you think a hack will be possible this year, and how and why? I think it'll never happen.

Also, what about the "supposed" hacks for the console, and lack of past Nintendo console hacking teams. And that you have to dump RAM. No, Nintendo won this time! No hack or progress in a year.
You have no idea what you're talking about.

Thread reported for closing.
If I have no idea what I'm talking about, why isn't the 3DS hacked yet, or at least the region lock and its coding? The new iPad was hacked in 4 hours and that has better security than the 3DS.
The new iPad works on the exact same system as the old iPad and has compatible hardware. There's a huge difference.

The PS3 was "getting hacked" for many years. I sincerely hope you'll enjoy your undoubtly incoming WARN/BAN which you fully deserve by the way.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

NathanDuma

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
114
Trophies
0
XP
57
The games are region locked for a reason. Some countries have taxes and you can get it really cheap from a country with no tax.
 

jrk190

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 5, 2009
Messages
724
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
North Carolina
XP
397
Country
United States
This is just like the DSi. It WAS Hacked, it just took some time. Though Nintendo patched it, I did realize you can transfer saves on the 3DS...
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Skelletonike

♂ ♥ Gallant Pervert ♥ ♀
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Dec 26, 2008
Messages
3,350
Trophies
3
Age
31
Location
Steam City
XP
2,240
Country
Portugal
The coding is too in-depth, the region lock breaks any way of making a 3DS flashcart, there is no "scene", no one has ever tried to make a hack, Kid Icarus Uprising didn't have an exploit, a hypervisor prevents this as well, you can be automatically updated. And there's no NAND dumps available. This is why its hopeless! Do any of you think a hack will be possible this year, and how and why? I think it'll never happen.

Also, what about the "supposed" hacks for the console, and lack of past Nintendo console hacking teams. And that you have to dump RAM. No, Nintendo won this time! No hack or progress in a year.
You have no idea what you're talking about.

Thread reported for closing.
If I have no idea what I'm talking about, why isn't the 3DS hacked yet, or at least the region lock and its coding? The new iPad was hacked in 4 hours and that has better security than the 3DS.
I don't know much about the 3DS hacking, but one thing I do know, there's a lot of interest in the 3ds being hacked, I mean... It's the friggin DS's successor, everyone knows what a DS is, but hacks and stuff take time... Lately we've been getting used to cheap flascarts and easy hacks in handhelds and stuff... Back in the day it was harder and took longer for stuff to be hacked or a modchip being made.
Things take time... Actually buy the games instead of just wanting to play them for free, and you'll see that games will last you longer than before. xP
 
  • Like
Reactions: 1 person

Foxi4

Endless Trash
Global Moderator
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
29,429
Trophies
3
Location
Gaming Grotto
XP
27,431
Country
Poland
The games are region locked for a reason. Some countries have taxes and you can get it really cheap from a country with no tax.
There is no technical explaination as to why the 3DS is region locked other than the fact that Nintendo wants to balance profits for their overseas departments. It's not equipped in a DVD drive which uses region locking to quickly determine whether the home console is PAL or NTSC - there is no reason whatsoever to implement it. Nintendo just felt like adding it in the DSi era and it remained that way.
 

JoostinOnline

Certified Crash Test Dummy
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2011
Messages
11,005
Trophies
1
Location
The Twilight Zone
Website
www.hacksden.com
XP
4,323
Country
United States
The games are region locked for a reason. Some countries have taxes and you can get it really cheap from a country with no tax.
Thanks for repeating what I already said.

You are entitled to your opinion (I certainly don't think you deserve a ban), but your post IS speculation. None of us know what will happen in the future (except for the fortune teller I met in China Town, she was legit ;) ). People are just tired of so many threads like this (well usually they are "when will it be hacked?") and get grumpy. Don't take it personally.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It's way easier to do it on Linux than Windows imo.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Not related to the topic but still.
  • Shape @ Shape:
    Ah, I used to use & prefer VMware over virtualbox, but I gave up piracy a long time ago and probably won't purchase a vmware license.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Windows 2000 or XP should do the trick.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Shape,
    I have the new VMware Workstation 17 Pro, pirated ofc.
  • Shape @ Shape:
    I like linux

    :D
    +1
  • Jonnathann_2022 @ Jonnathann_2022:
    The bad thing about the VM that depending on your machine it doesn't work right. For example pcs with USB 3.0 there is no point in using a VM for this purpose, as the USB 3.0 drive does not recognize an old driver.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Shape,
    I use Linux Mint Cinnamon as my distro
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Jonnathann_2022,
    Perhaps it maybe because you haven't set it up right?
  • Shape @ Shape:
    That sounds like a configuration issue, any OS i have installed in VMWare & Virtualbox loads my USB 3.0 as at least 2.0
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    I use Ubuntu Server for everything other than gaming lol
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Haven't been having issues with USB. Whenever you plug a device in, VMware asks you if you want to mount it to the VM or the host.
  • Shape @ Shape:
    I am that guy
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It's quite annoying to me especially if I'm running quite a bit of tasks in the background.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Fact: Ubuntu, Linux Mint and Arch Linux are all Debian based distros.
    +1
  • Shape @ Shape:
    I recall the linker software worked in Win7, so maybe try the drivers in that link @Jonnathann_2022
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Use the 32-bit version ofc for better compatibility.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Veho, Thanks. I thought that this would run Windows, and also Android.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Even Linux :D
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Yeah the Odin is a surprisingly capable machine.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Even more capable than the Steam Deck?
  • Shape @ Shape:
    I need one now
  • Jonnathann_2022 @ Jonnathann_2022:
    Vocês não entenderam. Existe uma coisa chamada compatibilidade de driver USB. A forma como o EFA grava os jogos não é como a memória flash. É uma memória que simula uma memória de um cartucho com alguns endereços onde a cada endereço é alocado um jogo. Na verdade, é um processo muito semelhante à gravação de uma eprom. É por isso que a versão da unidade USB 2.0 deve ser compatível porque é o sistema operacional que faz a gravação. Usei uma VM windows xp no meu notebook Samsung Essentials e não consegui gravar o driver que reconhece o cartucho, aparece uma mensagem de erro.
    Jonnathann_2022 @ Jonnathann_2022: Vocês não entenderam. Existe uma coisa chamada compatibilidade de driver USB. A forma como o EFA...