The Untouchable (PC) graphics problem

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by DarkArmadillo, Jul 6, 2011.

Jul 6, 2011
  1. DarkArmadillo
    OP

    Newcomer DarkArmadillo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So today I found this game that I really enjoyed 10 years ago. It's a game made for Windows 95/98, but thankfully it installed.
    When I start the game it shows an opening scene that displays perfectly fine, but once in the game the visuals are very weird. Everything has diffrent colors (for example the main menu's yellow is green/purple and some blue random lines are visible). I tried every compatibility option there is; 256 bit, run in 640x480, run as win95, etc. Nothing works.

    Now the weirdest thing, when I record some footage with fraps it shows everything perfect! I don't get it.
    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=geylFCEB6SE[/youtube]

    Does anyone know this problem?
     
  2. OmegaVesko

    Member OmegaVesko GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Country:
    Yugoslavia
    Once it's launched, alt-tab out of the game and quit Explorer.exe. You'll need to launch it again manually once you're finished.
     
  3. DarkArmadillo
    OP

    Newcomer DarkArmadillo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Best idea ever. I also didn't try to quit System yet, maybe that will work too.
     
  4. YayMii

    Member YayMii hi

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4,881
    Location:
    that place
    Country:
    Canada
    Windows Vista (and newer) has issues with having incorrect 256-color palettes on legacy programs. I remember having this issue in Age of Empires 2 on Windows 7, where the grass would be red and the water would be purple (the community has dubbed this issue as 'the Mars effect').

    After a bit of googling, I found this fix. I haven't used this (I just settled for the batch file fix that kills Explorer.exe and then brings it back after the game closes), but give it a try, it might work.

    EDIT: I really, REALLY doubt that ending the System process would benefit you at all.
     
  5. Minox

    Supervisor Minox Spytech Employee

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,615
    Country:
    Sweden
    It may sound like a really strange thing to do, but it actually does solve the issue with colors in older games. After exiting the game later you can always relaunch explorer.exe from the task manager (Ctrl+Shift+Esc, File->New Task (Run...)->explorer.exe).
     
  6. Celice

    Member Celice GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,916
    Country:
    United States
    There's a lot of strange fixes for Windows 7... another is to leave the 'Change Screen Resolution' window open and these garbled colors are sometimes fixed in-game.

    Hopefully you can figure it out mate. It's right annoying at times.
     
  7. DarkArmadillo
    OP

    Newcomer DarkArmadillo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, I tried the explorer.exe fix but the screen goes black when I alt-tab back into the game. I still don't see why it would work anyway.
    The fix in Yaymii's post also doesn't work, or I am doing something wrong. Maybe the game is just being a dick.
     
  8. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    @DarkArmadillo-1.)Make a notepad file(.txt)
    2.)copy the above code into your .txt file(This one is for AOE2 so,change the second line with the name of your .exe file name )
    3.)save the file
    4.)add a suffix .bat in place of .exe

    Maybe it can help.
     

Share This Page