The 10 best Skyrim (PC version) mods so far

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Vulpes Abnocto, Nov 14, 2011.

  1. Vulpes Abnocto
    OP

    Former Staff Vulpes Abnocto Drinks, Knows Things

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    6,601
    Country:
    United States
    Via PCGamer

    Though Skyrim has only been out for a handful of days, people are already hard at work coding mods for the game.
    And PCGamer has compiled a list of the top ten that Skyrim players might find interesting.

    Have more than 2GB of RAM? There's a patch that will let you use it all.
    Want the faces, forests, and blood to look better? Done, done and done!
    Scared of all those damn spiders? Yep. You guessed it.

    Go and have a look!
    :arrow:Source
     
    1 person likes this.


  2. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    I wonder why we would need to use more than 2GB ram...?
     
  3. Issac

    Member Issac Mini-mod

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,455
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    Finally some mods! I was getting bored of this already...... ;) Joking.

    Nice to see that people jump straight into skyrim modding! All I wish for kinda urgent is some bump mapping for the rock paths... It's all flat!
     
  4. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    ahhhh so we dont actually need more than 2GB of ram? cause thats what i have, and i can still play the game in ultra high with all options maxed out :P
     
    2 people like this.
  5. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    Yeah I see no reason to use more than 2GB of ram.
     
  6. ThatDudeWithTheFood

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    People who don't have good GFX cards but have like 8 gbs of ram.My cousin can run the game on med-low settings only because of his GFX card.,
     
  7. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    I took a look at the mods and honestly? nothing really appeals to me so far.
    game's only been out for a couple of days, obviously we're going to need to wait a bit more till we see the first interesting ones.
    the "replace spiders by bears" one is hilarious though :rofl:
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. kevan

    Member kevan Imagination rules the world

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,378
    Location:
    Place
    Country:
    Australia
    I have 8GB ram. But I guess my card is good since I run it on Ultra High already.
     
  9. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    After using the >2gb ram mod my game doesn't load, its just stuck on the loading screen :(
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,190
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    if you have a shitty gfx card that cant run skyrim, and you add another 4GB of ram
    you will still have a shitty gfx card that cant run skyrim
     
    2 people like this.
  11. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    QFT, it's almost all aimed at better looking visuals, something I totally have no need for atm.
     
  12. Shinintendo

    Member Shinintendo GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    Israel
    Yea bought the game from my supplier yesterday, have it now in my site ;)

    On Topic, Thanks for the mods but I will finish the game first than will use mods.
     
    2 people like this.
  13. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,376
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    That was fast oO
     
  14. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The 2gb mod is useful if you wanna create insane draw distances.
    Otherwise, yeah gfx card is more important.
     
  15. Ryupower

    Member Ryupower Brood

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,763
    Country:
    United States
  16. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Will try this then, I love to be able to look extremely far, scouting the environment, looking for movement.
     
  17. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,376
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    Whatever you do, don't update to 1.2! All versions have been experiencing crashing and a major backwards-flying dragon glitch. Way to go, Bethesda.
     
    1 person likes this.
  18. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    ah fuck. Well I wasn't planning on installing it anyway since the game has been rather smooth for me so far. :) (on the PC)
     
  19. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,376
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    You can tell Steam not to automatically update the game. On top of that, magic resistance is broken (i.e. can't block spells). Sorry, but I ain't updating until Bethesda gets off their butts and fixes these quirks.
     
  20. sputnix

    Member sputnix GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    Bangladesh
    I was going to update but then I got an arrow to the knee
    lol
    good thing I got the torrent so I can just skip the update till Bethesda fixes it
     

Share This Page