System menu wont boot after sofmodding

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by sfulla31, Jan 10, 2012.

Jan 10, 2012
  1. sfulla31
    OP

    Newcomer sfulla31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    BIRMINGHAM
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi, I hacked my friends wii for them just before xmas and he has now told me that he has messed about with something in the homebrew channel and his system menu wont boot. Here's what I done....
    I hacked his 4.3E wii using letterbomb and installed HB Channel/ wii modbatch/ wiimod & priiloader. I installed Bootmii as boot 2. I then installed neogamma for him to play his discs on and that was that. I never did a nand backup which i know was not the brightest thing to do. Anyway he said he was messing with wiimod or modbatch and ended up with something saying his system menu was downgrading, he told me he cancelled it straight away but it appears the damage was done as whenever he turns the wii on it goes straight to priiloader and wont boot the system menu, it says error bootin system menu......any ideas please?
     


  2. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,529
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Your friend is stupid. He just turned of the wii while installing the system menu completely, just changing the ticket and without installing the needed system menu IOS. You can boot bootmii boot2 still, just check the ini in the bootmii folder on the sd card and set a timeout.
     
  3. sfulla31
    OP

    Newcomer sfulla31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    BIRMINGHAM
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi thanks, how do I do this mate?
     
  4. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,529
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Set something like 'BOOTDELAY=5' in the ini, then save the file, pack it back to the wii and see if bootmii comes up.
     
  5. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    If priiloader still works & you have no nand backup then just reinstall all the system menu & all the ios . Just get all the WADs from Modmii & install them by booting a wad manager from priiloader.

    If priiloader is working & he got no nand backup then he should just use priiloader .
     
  6. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,529
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Priiloader wont work because it only works with a intact system menu and system menu IOS and since it's somehow already overwritten it can't boot anymore.
     
  7. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Well according to his post priiloader is working .
     
  8. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,529
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah it errors out, then let's hope he can load other things.
     
  9. sfulla31
    OP

    Newcomer sfulla31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    BIRMINGHAM
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I can access priiloader but I dont know what to do to boot the system menu as it keeps giving me errors
     
  10. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,529
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Can you boot homebrew channel?
     
  11. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
    Yeah, great fucking friend you are.
     
    1 person likes this.
  12. sfulla31
    OP

    Newcomer sfulla31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    BIRMINGHAM
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    @DeadlyFoez

    Thanks mate, really helpful.......bellend..
    @[member='FIX94']
    Yes mate I can access Homebrew chanel
     
  13. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    Well, have you learned your lesson?

    Now is the time to go into bootmii and make a nand backup before you do anything else. After you are done that you will need to reinstall the System Menu and it's IOS, and if everything goes well you will have the System Menu back up and working. You will have to reinstall priiloader afterwards.
     
  14. FIX94

    Global Moderator FIX94 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    6,529
    Location:
    ???
    Country:
    Germany
    Perfect, that makes it easy to fix. Get modmii, download the system menu 4.3E wad and the IOS80(IOS60P) wad. Install it with wiimod. This should fix the problem. You'll need to reinstall priiloader after this.
     
    1 person likes this.
  15. sfulla31
    OP

    Newcomer sfulla31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    BIRMINGHAM
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lesson learned,
    Can I just take this oppurtunity to retract my "bellend" statement & thankyou for your help, I'll give it a go now, cheers mate.
     
  16. sfulla31
    OP

    Newcomer sfulla31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    BIRMINGHAM
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thankyou FIX94, sorted it out straight away that did mate, nice one, also thanks to everyone else who chipped in, god bless ya's!
     
  17. sfulla31
    OP

    Newcomer sfulla31 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    BIRMINGHAM
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This fixed it straight away, your a star mate, one last thing, if i were to install system menu 4.2 e via modmii what ios should i install alongside it?
     
  18. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,223
    Country:
    United States
    IOS 70. Use the patched one.
     
  19. loco365

    Member loco365 GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,459
    And when you're done that, DON'T FORGET TO BACKUP THE NAND.

    js
     
  20. Luigi2012SM64DS

    Banned Luigi2012SM64DS G-old member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2,060
    Location:
    Minecrapt
    Country:
    Canada
    Warning: Spoilers inside!
    someone clarify this
     

Share This Page