System menu using GC pad

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by bebs, Dec 31, 2008.

Dec 31, 2008

System menu using GC pad by bebs at 5:49 PM (3,272 Views / 0 Likes) 36 replies

  1. bebs
    OP

    Member bebs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    Is there any homebrew that allows to navigate trough the System menu with a GC pad ?

    is there any coder on it?

    i'll really appreciate to use GC pad everytime i turn on wii
     


  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I think it's very stupid that you need a wiimote to play GC games too, nintendo should update this.
     
  3. Gullwing

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    Actually you can't play GC games with a Wii remote. I don't rally know if there is a mod or something [​IMG]
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I meant: Without a wiimote you can't use your wii to play a GC game, that's just too stupid.
     
  5. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, true. You need to navigate to the disk menu with a Wiimote everytime you want to play a gamecube game. REALLY annoying.
     
  6. bebs
    OP

    Member bebs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    not only for GC games, but when i wanna play MK, i'm fed up with using wiimote to launch game and then taking off batteries...
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Does the Starfall autoboot option work for GC games?
     
  8. bebs
    OP

    Member bebs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    don't know, i don't have starfall installed
     
  9. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,324
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    its not stupid, its more sence than anything, wii starts gamecube mode, gamecubes never had wiimote, it doesnt even know how to use a wiimote, even on the wii, GC games dont know how to use a wiimote
     
  10. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    You did not understand: If you start the wii, it's in wii mode, which means both wiimote and GC controller support. Then you need the wiimote to start the game in GC mode. There is absolutely no reason why you can't navigate in the system menu with a GC controller.
     
  11. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,324
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    o i thought you was on about playing GC games witha wiimote, as many think you can
     
  12. Ga1l0w

    Member Ga1l0w GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    251
    Location:
    Lolmart
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't see how navigating the menu is impossible with a GC pad, but I don't know a way to either. And most people don't care about doing this anyways, so there isn't a major push for a patch.
     
  13. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,324
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i think the MAJOR push for a patch like this would be for games like SSBB MK games like that. becauase having to turn the wiimote on is crap jut to play these games
     
  14. bebs
    OP

    Member bebs GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    that's it!
     
  15. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If the batteries of your wiimote are empty and you want to play a GC game, what do you do?
     
  16. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Get new batteries for the Wiimote [​IMG]
     
  17. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Get new batteries? [​IMG]

    EDIT
    Aw, beaten.







    Now, seriously. I would love if someone made a patch to use GC controller in Wii Menu.
     
  18. thawkins1

    Member thawkins1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    You can do these things with the classic controller.
     
  19. skawo96

    Member skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Geez. And for Classic Controller you need...

    And you can't play GC games with CC
     
  20. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I don't think you can play GC games with the Classic Controller....
     

Share This Page