Homebrew RELEASE sys-clk under/overclocking sysmodule

  • Thread starter m4xw
  • Start date
  • Views 516,585
  • Replies 1,366
  • Likes 88

mdmachine

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
189
Trophies
0
XP
882
Country
United States
I made a test config of just QLaunch
Code:
#QLaunch cooling profile
[0100000000001000]
handheld_cpu=816
handheld_gpu=230
handheld_mem=800
handheld_charging_cpu=816
handheld_charging_gpu=230
handheld_charging_mem=800
handheld_charging_usb_cpu=816
handheld_charging_usb_gpu=230
handheld_charging_usb_mem=800
handheld_charging_official_cpu=816
handheld_charging_official_gpu=230
handheld_charging_official_mem=800
docked_cpu=918
docked_gpu=460
docked_mem=1065

Same error, and sys-clk stops. So then another test...
Code:
#QLaunch cooling profile
[0100000000001000]
docked_cpu=918
docked_gpu=460
docked_mem=1065
handheld_charging_cpu=816
handheld_charging_gpu=230
handheld_charging_mem=800
handheld_charging_usb_cpu=816
handheld_charging_usb_gpu=230
handheld_charging_usb_mem=800
handheld_charging_official_cpu=816
handheld_charging_official_gpu=230
handheld_charging_official_mem=800
handheld_cpu=816
handheld_gpu=230
handheld_mem=800

Worked fine, so I went in and redid the bigger list in the correct formatting...
No dice, so memory? File was 29KB or so.

Then went ahead and removed all
Code:
handheld_charging_cpu=
handheld_charging_gpu=
handheld_charging_mem=
handheld_charging_usb_cpu=
handheld_charging_usb_gpu=
handheld_charging_usb_mem=
handheld_charging_official_cpu=
handheld_charging_official_gpu=
handheld_charging_official_mem=

So back to just the docked and handheld configs, file is roughly 10KB, works fine...
 

p-sam

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
108
Trophies
0
XP
673
Country
France
I made a test config of just QLaunch
Code:
#QLaunch cooling profile
[0100000000001000]
handheld_cpu=816
handheld_gpu=230
handheld_mem=800
handheld_charging_cpu=816
handheld_charging_gpu=230
handheld_charging_mem=800
handheld_charging_usb_cpu=816
handheld_charging_usb_gpu=230
handheld_charging_usb_mem=800
handheld_charging_official_cpu=816
handheld_charging_official_gpu=230
handheld_charging_official_mem=800
docked_cpu=918
docked_gpu=460
docked_mem=1065

Same error, and sys-clk stops. So then another test...
Code:
#QLaunch cooling profile
[0100000000001000]
docked_cpu=918
docked_gpu=460
docked_mem=1065
handheld_charging_cpu=816
handheld_charging_gpu=230
handheld_charging_mem=800
handheld_charging_usb_cpu=816
handheld_charging_usb_gpu=230
handheld_charging_usb_mem=800
handheld_charging_official_cpu=816
handheld_charging_official_gpu=230
handheld_charging_official_mem=800
handheld_cpu=816
handheld_gpu=230
handheld_mem=800

Worked fine, so I went in and redid the bigger list in the correct formatting...
No dice, so memory? File was 29KB or so.

Then went ahead and removed all
Code:
handheld_charging_cpu=
handheld_charging_gpu=
handheld_charging_mem=
handheld_charging_usb_cpu=
handheld_charging_usb_gpu=
handheld_charging_usb_mem=
handheld_charging_official_cpu=
handheld_charging_official_gpu=
handheld_charging_official_mem=

So back to just the docked and handheld configs, file is roughly 10KB, works fine...

You're not forced to duplicate all the handheld configs anyway, because yours dont change, check the readme for more info.
 

Krude

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 18, 2013
Messages
344
Trophies
0
XP
1,208
Country
Gambia, The
Code:
If charging, sys-clk will look for the frequencies in that order, picking the first found:

   *Charger specific config (USB or Official): handheld_charging_usb_X or handheld_charging_official_X
Shouldn't it be the other way around and check for official charger first, since it has the highest limit?

Now that i think about it, what IS usb charging? How is USB charging different from "normal" charging, and how is it determined whether the charger is an official one or not?

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Wait, i think i might get it now? Charging is the catch-all for charged gameplay for both normal USB and official charger, so if you specifically set USB and official, normal charging never applies. It's a fall-back for "no specific charging profile is defined, but we're on some kind of charger".

So,let me get this straight: if i defined an overclock only for USB charging, and hooked the console up to an official charger, the console will NOT overclock because:
* specific official clock doesn't exist ->
* fall-back charging clock doesn't exist ->
* hand-held clock doesn't exist ->
* use stock clock

Or is there still some kind of priority where official charging will at least use the lower-tier "usb" one if no other are defined?
 

mdmachine

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
189
Trophies
0
XP
882
Country
United States
You're not forced to duplicate all the handheld configs anyway, because yours dont change, check the readme for more info.

Maybe that was bad example, the only reason the QLaunch is all the same, is that's the clock rates I want when going back home. So what if I am on a charger and I have a active profile that changes all the clocks while charging? When I go back home, I need that specific setting in QLaunch to "reset".

I can leave alone any game settings that are equal to my QLaunch settings, but when your adding allot it just seemed easier.

I am going to try adding just the
Code:
handheld_charging_cpu=
handheld_charging_gpu=
handheld_charging_mem=

To all my profiles so its like so:
Code:
docked_cpu=
docked_gpu=
docked_mem=
handheld_charging_cpu=
handheld_charging_gpu=
handheld_charging_mem=
handheld_cpu=
handheld_gpu=
handheld_mem=
Then remove any = stuff, and see if it'll parse it.
 

Krude

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 18, 2013
Messages
344
Trophies
0
XP
1,208
Country
Gambia, The
Still not sur eon the priority of the charging profiles. Also is it possible to underclock a title in handheld, but go back to stock clocks when charging? Stock can differ between games apparently (only gpu?), so making a profile =0 to mean stock frequency would be great. Something like this:

handheld_charging_gpu=0
handheld_gpu=230

I'm assuming this doesn't work right now since =0 just means "ignore this" and it would use the handheld underclock when charging.
 

p-sam

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
108
Trophies
0
XP
673
Country
France
Still not sur eon the priority of the charging profiles. Also is it possible to underclock a title in handheld, but go back to stock clocks when charging? Stock can differ between games apparently (only gpu?), so making a profile =0 to mean stock frequency would be great. Something like this:

handheld_charging_gpu=0
handheld_gpu=230

I'm assuming this doesn't work right now since =0 just means "ignore this" and it would use the handheld underclock when charging.
Indeed, but the readme contains the stock clock for GPU (either 307 or 384) so you can just put that
 

Krude

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 18, 2013
Messages
344
Trophies
0
XP
1,208
Country
Gambia, The
Indeed, but the readme contains the stock clock for GPU (either 307 or 384) so you can just put that
The idea is NOT having to manually find out the stock clock for every single game (BOTW seems to use 460 btw not 307 or 384) and to allow differentiation between a general "charging/not charging" in handheld.
 

p-sam

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
108
Trophies
0
XP
673
Country
France
The idea is NOT having to manually find out the stock clock for every single game (BOTW seems to use 460 btw not 307 or 384) and to allow differentiation between a general "charging/not charging" in handheld.

Your message got thru the first time
 

dreambottle

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 2, 2016
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
241
Country
Does main launcher have a title id, for which I can change clock speeds? It would be awesome to downclock everything to minimum when browsing games and settings.

[edit] Oh wait, it's called QLaunch and it is posted just on top of this page, right?
 
Last edited by dreambottle,

mdmachine

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2009
Messages
189
Trophies
0
XP
882
Country
United States
Does main launcher have a title id, for which I can change clock speeds? It would be awesome to downclock everything to minimum when browsing games and settings.

[edit] Oh wait, it's called QLaunch and it is posted just on top of this page, right?

that's what I attempted to do. And noticed checking logs later that periodically the clocks were being set back to default. Sometimes all 3, sometimes just one random one here and there. They always get set back to what I defined by the module though.

Im not sure how long it is between these changes, when I sit around and try and watch, I didn't see the log change. But when I noticed it, the log was quite large. I noticed the most action in docked and charging. It happens much less, when in handheld mode.

I dont have any idea how long until/if the clocks "reset"? Or, if it changing the clocks sometimes is counter-productive?
 

Krude

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 18, 2013
Messages
344
Trophies
0
XP
1,208
Country
Gambia, The
there aren’t any retail titles that use 460mhz
What???


This is my log, with no over/underclocking done (no config.ini), launching Breath of the Wild (01007EF00011E000).

Code:
=== sys-clk boot ===
Ready
* ApplicationTid changed to: 0100000000001000
* cpu clock is now 1020000000
* gpu clock is now 307200000
* mem clock is now 1331200000
[cfg] reading /config/sys-clk/config.ini
[cfg] Warning: File loading error while reading /config/sys-clk/config.ini
* ApplicationTid changed to: 01007EF00011E000
* gpu clock is now 460800000
* ApplicationTid changed to: 0100000000001000
* gpu clock is now 307200000
* Console profile changed to: handheld_charging_official
* ApplicationTid changed to: 01007EF00011E000
* gpu clock is now 460800000
* ApplicationTid changed to: 0100000000001000
* gpu clock is now 307200000

Booted, launched Zelda, quit out, put on charger, launched Zelda again, quit out.


I mean, technically it uses 460.8 MHz instead of 460 MHz, but i mean, come the fuck on.


I don't look forward to testing every single title's stock frequencies to hard set them, just to be able to underclock effectively.
 
Last edited by Krude,

ZachyCatGames

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2018
Messages
3,398
Trophies
1
Location
Hell
XP
4,209
Country
United States
What???


This is my log, with no over/underclocking done (no config.ini), launching Breath of the Wild (01007EF00011E000).

Code:
=== sys-clk boot ===
Ready
* ApplicationTid changed to: 0100000000001000
* cpu clock is now 1020000000
* gpu clock is now 307200000
* mem clock is now 1331200000
[cfg] reading /config/sys-clk/config.ini
[cfg] Warning: File loading error while reading /config/sys-clk/config.ini
* ApplicationTid changed to: 01007EF00011E000
* gpu clock is now 460800000
* ApplicationTid changed to: 0100000000001000
* gpu clock is now 307200000
* Console profile changed to: handheld_charging_official
* ApplicationTid changed to: 01007EF00011E000
* gpu clock is now 460800000
* ApplicationTid changed to: 0100000000001000
* gpu clock is now 307200000

Booted, launched Zelda, quit out, put on charger, launched Zelda again, quit out.


I mean, technically it uses 460.8 MHz instead of 460 MHz, but i mean, come the fuck on.


I don't look forward to testing every single title's stock frequencies to hard set them, just to be able to underclock effectively.
hmm? Maybe they changed it in a update or something then ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    @SylverReZ that guy seriously spent over 2 grand on that hot wheels pc?
    +1
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    LTT is a noob
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Guy doesnt know wtf hes talking about half the time
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    @SylverReZ that reminds me that my friend sells CRTs he gets cheap or free for hundreds of dollars. people are dumb
    +1
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    And is incredibly annoying.
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    man I just washed my shoes and they look exactly the same as before I washed them :|
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    luckily they didn't fall apart
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Some CRTs are very much worth the price
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    i used to go out to the recycling center every couple weeks and look at the crts and other electronics people would drop off. Usually screens were broken or severely scratched from being tossed around. Did find a good one here and there, but never anything like a 1080i widescreen crt.
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Or a good contition 40" Sony Trini that weighs 300 lbs. lol
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Literally 300 lbs. lolol
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    I have a few of those boat anchors in my basement I tried giving away but no one wanted them, So anyone close to Columbus, Ohio area that wants them, (26", 2x 19") please come get, for free.
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Dont know anyone wants those smaller ones. Most are after larger sizes and the kinda top of the line models
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Motion handling and input lag on those things destroy plasmas, led, oled
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    I had some really nice CRTs I should've kept
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    now I have all lcd
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    one in particular I regret getting rid of oh well :|
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    the Sonys and stuff I don't care about
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    and used LCD are hard to sell I can imagine.. not worth much
  • realtimesave @ realtimesave:
    @SylverReZ where do u lurk
  • a_username_that_isnt_cool @ a_username_that_isnt_cool:
    Is it piracy if it was released for free? Not in my opinion, but I also think it's not piracy if buying it isn't owning it, and it's not piracy if you can't buy it from the original creators anymore.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Free release can have loopholes where they still make money through ads
    +1
    Xdqwerty @ Xdqwerty: :sad: