RELEASE sys-clk under/overclocking sysmodule

Discussion in 'Switch - Emulation, Homebrew & Software Projects' started by m4xw, Feb 14, 2019.

  1. swutch

    swutch Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Apr 16, 2019
    Austria
    you can look into the log file, which is in the same folder as the config.ini
     
    MonMonz likes this.
  2. sorabora

    sorabora GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    5
    Dec 8, 2016
    United States
    I used my 2016 15" Macbook Pro's charger and it did not work, which really surprised me. There must be some kind of chip or signal in that Switch charger.
     
  3. Florens

    Florens Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 31, 2019
    Chad
    I guess I'll have to check if it's the same for my charger. I really don't want to carry around two chargers.

    Maybe with the official charger the power needed to run the system bypasses the battery. I guess in this case it would remove the battery strain big overclocks cause.
     
  4. Florens

    Florens Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 31, 2019
    Chad
    What's the difference between handheld_charging_* and handheld_charging_usb_*?
     
  5. p-sam

    p-sam Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    4
    Feb 3, 2019
    France
    Yea the console will not enable docking if plugged to a Mac Charger.

    handheld_charging_usb_* allows you to set specific clocks when you're not using an official charger (ex: usb on PC or plug, mac chargers, etc)
    handheld_charging_* is a catch-all that allows to set clocks for any charger type

    The priority order is in the README in case you wonder what happens if you set both.
     
    sorabora likes this.
  6. Florens

    Florens Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 31, 2019
    Chad
    Ok but I tried yesterday and it DID switch to the official profile. Charger is from a ThinkPad t480s btw.

    Also, any idea why my fan wants to take off when only hitting 56 degrees max. (According to context.csv) I sounds like it ramps up to 100% RPM.
     
  7. p-sam

    p-sam Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    4
    Feb 3, 2019
    France
    Yea, no docking -> no external screen projection
     
  8. stick267

    stick267 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    5
    Dec 17, 2018
    United States
    Anyone have solid settings for The Witcher?
     
  9. Florens

    Florens Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 31, 2019
    Chad
    You're bringing up points that are completely irrelevant to anything I've said.
     
  10. p-sam

    p-sam Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    4
    Feb 3, 2019
    France
    Yea i felt like saying the same thing twice, since you didnt get it the first time. Your mac charger was not recognized as an official charger, if it did it would permit docking, I have one with me at the moment, I can reproduce said results.
     
  11. Florens

    Florens Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 31, 2019
    Chad
    You gotta be fucking kidding me.

    1. I never stated I have a Mac charger, I even explicitly stated it's a Lenovo ThinkPad charger
    2. I pointed out it DID get recognized as the official charger when I got the chance to test it

    Yet here you are saying I have a Mac charger that doesn't get recognized. For the second time.

    Oh and by the way. The official charger working or not has NOTHING to do with display output.

    If you don't know what the fuck you're talking about, please just shut up. You'll only make people more confused.
     
    Last edited by Florens, Oct 17, 2019
  12. p-sam

    p-sam Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    4
    Feb 3, 2019
    France
    You dont seem to know what you're talking about, "The official charger working or not has NOTHING to do with display output.", i have to make sure again that I repeat these words. Having a recognized charger is a requirement for docked, idc that you're trying to mention other details to mess around. I did say "Your mac charger", that's on me, because of sorabora's message, which is where the discussion came from, you came in between those messages.

    Any other method such as a 3rd party dock is unsupported, and dangerous (it accepts more charger than the ones implementing the required profiles, such as the official charger and your lenovo one)

    Edit: To add even more context to this: I get mostly questions about mac chargers, rather than toshiba ones or lenovo (we tested a few of thoses), we even got reports of people having the battery discharge while plugged (docked or not) because of the "bypassed" restrictions, it's that bad, and it is more of a priority to me to speak about this than anything else. I also mixed both messages as i said above, when I answered you on mobile.
     
    Last edited by p-sam, Oct 17, 2019
  13. xxbrothawizxx

    xxbrothawizxx Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Aug 22, 2019
    United States
    Somewhat new to this and want to confirm. Will setting all modes to 921 MHz GPU just default the system to the highest GPU preset available in that mode?
     
  14. W9qI8k5QMf

    W9qI8k5QMf Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Feb 11, 2019
    United States
    is this normal? it seems to fluctuate a lot.
    doesnt seem normal.
    do other peoples logs look like this where the cpu and gpu clock are constantly changing?

    [2019-10-17 10:31:03.366] [mgr] Profile change: Docked
    [2019-10-17 10:31:03.388] [mgr] CPU clock change: 1020.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:31:03.409] [mgr] GPU clock change: 768.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:31:03.432] [mgr] CPU clock set : 1785.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:31:03.451] [mgr] GPU clock set : 921.6 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:31:32.338] [mgr] TitleID change: 0100000000001000
    [2019-10-17 10:31:33.878] [mgr] CPU clock change: 1020.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:31:33.909] [mgr] GPU clock change: 768.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:33.311] [mgr] TitleID change: 01007EF00011E000
    [2019-10-17 10:33:33.367] [mgr] CPU clock set : 1785.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:33.410] [mgr] GPU clock set : 921.6 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:34.086] [mgr] GPU clock change: 76.8 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:34.123] [mgr] GPU clock set : 921.6 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:40.541] [mgr] CPU clock change: 1020.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:40.570] [mgr] GPU clock change: 768.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:40.594] [mgr] CPU clock set : 1785.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:40.617] [mgr] GPU clock set : 921.6 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:40.939] [mgr] CPU clock change: 1020.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:40.960] [mgr] GPU clock change: 76.8 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:40.989] [mgr] CPU clock set : 1785.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:41.011] [mgr] GPU clock set : 921.6 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:42.250] [mgr] GPU clock change: 76.8 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:42.273] [mgr] GPU clock set : 921.6 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:42.594] [mgr] CPU clock change: 1020.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:42.617] [mgr] GPU clock change: 768.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:42.641] [mgr] CPU clock set : 1785.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:42.663] [mgr] GPU clock set : 921.6 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:52.742] [mgr] GPU clock change: 76.8 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:52.770] [mgr] GPU clock set : 921.6 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:59.309] [mgr] CPU clock change: 1020.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:59.337] [mgr] GPU clock change: 768.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:59.361] [mgr] CPU clock set : 1785.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:33:59.384] [mgr] GPU clock set : 921.6 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:34:00.940] [mgr] CPU clock change: 1020.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:34:00.966] [mgr] GPU clock change: 768.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:34:00.992] [mgr] CPU clock set : 1785.0 Mhz
    [2019-10-17 10:34:01.017] [mgr] GPU clock set : 921.6 Mhz
     
    Last edited by W9qI8k5QMf, Oct 18, 2019
  15. p-sam

    p-sam Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    4
    Feb 3, 2019
    France
    Yup (eg: 460Mhz on handheld, 768Mhz via USB)

    Logs looked like this mostly between HOS 7.x and 8.x, but right there's it's just game using boost mode that's doing its thing
     
    Last edited by p-sam, Oct 18, 2019
  16. stewacide

    stewacide GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    5
    Jun 22, 2018
    Canada
    Any sense on whether CPU or GPU overclock is more helpful with The Witcher 3, and whether it's worthwhile to run in docked mode while portable with ReverseNX? (in portable mode will it scale up to 720p if given the necessary clocks? Are any other features cut in portable mode?)
     
  17. Deathscreton

    Deathscreton GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    7
    Oct 1, 2009
    United States
    Does anyone know if there's a sysmodule for live temp readings? i see that Sys-clk will log it, but is there anyway to display it live on screen? Same for an FPS value or some such?

    EDIT: Scratch that. I see that there's a new for a custom switch overlay first before things like this can be done. Apparently, the closet thing to that is https://github.com/crc-32/layoff
    Hasn't been modified in three months though.
     
    Last edited by Deathscreton, Oct 19, 2019
  18. swutch

    swutch Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Apr 16, 2019
    Austria
    does sys-clk work for anyone with the emuMMc & firmware 9.0.1?
    maybe I should downgrad back to 9.0

    edit:
    ----------------------
    I was able to narrow the error down further.
    if i deactivate sys-ftpd, sys-clk works.
     
    Last edited by swutch, Oct 19, 2019
  19. snake218

    snake218 Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Jan 11, 2010
    United States
    Hi, one question, does this mod must be manually disabled when putting the console to sleep? Is there a risk if the OC game is running and it go to sleep?
     
  20. p-sam

    p-sam Advanced Member

    Newcomer
    4
    Feb 3, 2019
    France
    nop
     
    snake218 likes this.
Quick Reply
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...