Hacking Question SX Core installation - pink light

dupz0r

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
30
Country
Belgium
Hi everyone,

I installed my sx core and after a few blue blinks I get a pinkish led on.
I double check the nand connectors but it's still the same. NAND is plugged in the sx core and the sxcore connector is in the nand its previous spot.
Is the chip faulty?
I touched my solder points again to make sure, but always the same thing. I try it around 6 times now already...
Any ideas?
Or any installers in Belgium?
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20201002_203655.jpg
    IMG_20201002_203655.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 310
  • IMG_20201002_203141.jpg
    IMG_20201002_203141.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 249
  • IMG_20201002_203132.jpg
    IMG_20201002_203132.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 287

izy

Advanced Tech Pleb
Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2010
Messages
2,195
Trophies
1
XP
3,093
Country
United Kingdom
first try updating the chip with sxupdater
 

Attachments

  • sxupdater_win32.7z
    7.8 MB · Views: 214

dupz0r

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
30
Country
Belgium
Thanks squee666
I got blue blinking lights followed by solid red.
Resoldered the connections a few times and look good.
Could this mean something else?
 

dupz0r

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
30
Country
Belgium
No it does not turn on even when removed.
I noticed that on the bottom of the cpu, there are burn/hot marks on those components.
I assume they are for power delivery, so there was probably a short somewhere leaving the motherboard without power.
Im gonna sell this one for parts, I dont have a hot rework station to swap out those smd components.
 

dario1414

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2020
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
54
Country
United States
No it does not turn on even when removed.
I noticed that on the bottom of the cpu, there are burn/hot marks on those components.
I assume they are for power delivery, so there was probably a short somewhere leaving the motherboard without power.
Im gonna sell this one for parts, I dont have a hot rework station to swap out those smd components.
did you riped the little chip?
 

dupz0r

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
30
Country
Belgium
No, it looks overheated, so I probably create a short somewhere else.
Bummed that I dont even know where.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20201003_170809.jpg
    IMG_20201003_170809.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 291

Diamedic

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 27, 2018
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
34
Country
United States
I am sorry you lost your switch. My guess would be the solder on the sp1-sp2 transistors. They are super duper sensitive. Where you using flux at all. You can use a multi meter on the soldered points to see where the problem was.
 

dupz0r

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
30
Country
Belgium
Yes I used flux, dont really see where it went wrong. photos look ok.

'that burn is not bad.clean it up and install the modchip again.because without it wont turn on'
It should turn on again if I remove the modchip, then its back to the default at the start.
And it doesnt turn on so I guess there is something broken with or without the modchip.
I think the solid red light just means bad communication as its dead.
 

Diamedic

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 27, 2018
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
34
Country
United States
Yes I used flux, dont really see where it went wrong. photos look ok.

'that burn is not bad.clean it up and install the modchip again.because without it wont turn on'
It should turn on again if I remove the modchip, then its back to the default at the start.
And it doesnt turn on so I guess there is something broken with or without the modchip.
I think the solid red light just means bad communication as its dead.

It looks installed ok enough. That burn shouldn't matter since its on the Gpu bracket. It should still turn on without the chip. The only thing I can think of is you shorted a resistor for the Gpu chip. Or you tried to install it with the battery plugged in but I doubt you did that haha
 

dupz0r

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
30
Country
Belgium
I ment that burn.
I removed it a ton of times, so yeah maybe I forgot to disconnect it once :(
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20201003_170809.jpg
    IMG_20201003_170809.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 279

Diamedic

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 27, 2018
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
34
Country
United States
I ment that burn.
I removed it a ton of times, so yeah maybe I forgot to disconnect it once :(

Oh that burn is kind of bad but honestly it could have been anything though. At least the soldering isn't too bad. Ive seen some gnarly solder jobs on this chip that I am amazed that worked.
 

dupz0r

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 2, 2020
Messages
10
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
30
Country
Belgium
Just bought it.
But cmon they will probably see the different cooling paste, metal lid distortion and that it has been openend.
I highly doubt I can send it back :P
 

Diamedic

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jun 27, 2018
Messages
12
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
34
Country
United States
Just bought it.
But cmon they will probably see the different cooling paste, metal lid distortion and that it has been openend.
I highly doubt I can send it back :P

One last thing. Maybe check all your ribbon cable connections its not uncommon for one to come loose.I have had it happen to me before.
 

dario1414

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 12, 2020
Messages
19
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
54
Country
United States
Just bought it.
But cmon they will probably see the different cooling paste, metal lid distortion and that it has been openend.
I highly doubt I can send it back :P
return it. because my friends fuck up is switch and he when to the store and they gave him another one
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://imgur.com/gallery/hkpyXTZ +1